We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of C & O Restaurant

C & O Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 553 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This restaurant has a roadside bar appearance on the exterior, but a very rustic, subdued elegance, white table cloth ambience inside. Apparently this was an old C&O railroad employee room and boarding house. We ate in the cozy lower bar dining area. The music was an interesting eclectic mix, but was a little loud for my taste and became tiring as the night proceeded. The food was very good and the presentation attractive. We enjoyed a bibb lettuce salad with shaved gruyere and pommery mustard dressing. My wife had a delicious appetizer for her entree, the roasted scallops with vegetable provencal and parmigiano sauce. The scallops were done perfectly and were adequate for a smaller appetite. I had the yellowfin tuna with local‌ mushrooms, port-sherry sauce and potato agnolotti, together with an order of brussels sprouts, capers and shallots. The tuna was fresh, done as ordered and flavorful. The brussel sprouts were tender. The C&O has a good wine list and the service was acceptable, if not impressive. An enjoyable evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkM386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    86
    31
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Salty”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

the meals were all a little bit too salty to my taste. the waiter offer us to taste a newly opened bottle of the same with we were drinking and also didn't change or offer to change our wine glasses with each new bottle

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Golden16118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staunton, va
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Good food, good staff, not cheap.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A Saturday night visit on a busy night still produced good food and service. The staff was attentive but not cloying, the food was very good....well prepared and nice-sized servings. We were seated in the Mezzanine, which was okay but very busy as the staff walked by constantly on their way to and from the patio area. The wine list was good but very over priced. Toatl bill for two of us, including drinks and one for-the-table appetizer, (no wine) was $100 plus tip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imboden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I enjoyed the taste of the food. This is a five star restaurant. Don't let the store front fool you. Great food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pricey but WELL worth it”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I sure wish we had this restaurant close to home. From start to finish, the meal was excellent. We started with a warm tomato tart, which was a savory treat, though it was a bit too garlicky for my taste. My entree, the lamb shoulder, which consisted of a boneless portion of braised lamb in a rosemary-infused sauce with carrots and potato gnocchi, was delicious. Hubby had the pork chop - a huge cut, with a mustard cream sauce - and he said it was awesome. Desserts were great too - I had the sticky toffee pudding, and it was better than I've had at St. Andrews in NYC. It was one of the best meals I've had anywhere. On our second night in Charlottesville, we went somewhere else and were not nearly as pleased. I wish we had dined here both nights.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed C & O Restaurant also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to C & O Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing