We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate dinner”

The Ivy Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ivy Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ivy Road
Transit: No public transit
Description: Locally-Inspired Seasonal American Cuisine in an historic house originally built in 1789. Family owned business for 20+ years.
delaware
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Intimate dinner”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed an intimate dinner with great service. The food was well prepared and fresh. The shrimp and grits were very different and tasted wonderful. We took others advise and ordered the trout which was excellent. The cream puffs for desert topped off the meal. The restaurant is located in a house and therefore, the small rooms are relatively quiet and provide a comfortable-elegant atmosphere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nbjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    113
    31
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent facility for wedding dinner”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

They handled our large group very well, service was good, food superior, lovely setting, close to town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Riverdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite Charlottesville Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We travel to Charlottesville often. Whenever there the Ivy Inn is out favorite place to dine. The service is top rate, attentive but never obtrusive. The menu offers a wide variety of choices. We recommend the salmon and the trout both of which we have enjoyed on our visits. The country inn ambiance is very pleasant with low noise levels .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THE restaurant for a special occasion!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband made reservations here for our 37th wedding anniversary. The restaurant had special printed anniversary menus for us plus complimentary champagne. The entire meal was extraordinary. Our dessert plate had in chocolate: Happy Anniversary! The dining experience was wonderful, and I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Heights, NY
Level Contributor
127 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Subtle, Seasonal and Superb!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I had a rewarding dining experience at this restaurant! I was difficult to select my choices from a subtle and seasonal menu. I chose the She Crab Soup to start followed by Bibb Lettuce Salad with blue cheese, bacon, buttermilk herb dressing and beer battered onion rings. For my main,
I chose the Sauteed Chesapeake Prime Soft Shell Crabs with a side of a Warm Medley of amFog Wild Mushrooms. The tart made with lemon curd was the perfect ending. The entire meal was perfectly prepared, beautifully presented, and expertly served. The ambiance at the Inn was warm and comfortable without loud music or conversation to disturb your dining experience. This was an superb dining experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraBarrett66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ivy Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to The Ivy Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing