We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not impressive”

Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #308 of 553 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Scottsville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not bad, not impressive”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Honestly, we have been here several times and every time, we are disappointed. The food is not bad. The service is not bad. They were slow in getting the check and failed to check on the water necessary to wash down the high sodium cuisine. Unfortunately, there is nothing that we couldn't create at home with our limited culinary ability and some good, local products and a little less salt.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Special Agent M... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty TexMex”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Great, colorful/festive decor and friendly service. Good, solid TexMex food (certainly not spicy; and probably not authentic), but if you like "Mexican" food as it has evolved in the US, you will be happy here. Very good value, and charming spot. Fun for families and friends -- one of our favorites for an uplifting evening out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“nice, nothing surprising”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Since there are so many Guadalajara restaurants to review in Cville, I wanted to clarify that I was in the one on Fontaine Extended. The food was good. The server kindly turned down the too-loud Spanish music/news station that was being piped in. Yet it was hard to get his attention when needed, even though we were one of very few tables taken in the restaurant at the time. I was disappointed that there wasn't a lunch-size/lunch-priced portion on Sunday for the dish I really wanted (although it's available on other days). Still, I like Guadalajara for its value, chips, friendly staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank buymeaticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First night in C'ville”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Overall the restaurant is good. The price of the food is a little high, but it was right across the street where I was stayin and did not have to drive anywhere.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We visit one of their four Charlottesville locations monthly.”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Always what you expect, a good experience. I have lived in Charlottesville for 20 years. Every visitor who has dined out with us over the past two decades has enjoyed a good time. Nothing fancy = just all you could want.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing