We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“trip advisor has wrong restaurant in photo! duh!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durty Nelly's Pub - Wayside Deli

Durty Nelly's Pub - Wayside Deli
Ranked #181 of 539 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
charlottesville
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“trip advisor has wrong restaurant in photo! duh!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

the photo is of wayside fried chicken, NOT Durty Nelly's wayside deli/pub. How stupid is that? no wonder people think the staff is lazy and the place is dirty, they're in the WRONG RESTAURANT!
Durty Nelly's is NEXT DOOR to wayside chicken, and has the best and thickest and most amazing subs, salads, and homemade deserts in town. Stop in the REAL Durty Nelly's Pub, and be transported back in time with the brick floors and large cozy fireplace. THe sandwiches are fresh and they don't go chintzy on the fillings. Try it, you'll LOVE it and come back for more!

I visit every week but below it will only let me pick a mongh, LOL

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wayside Deli - RIP. Go To Bellair Market -- or Subway”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Something terrible has happened to Wayside Deli and it's very sad. It used to be a truly great place. Moved by nostalgia, and in a hurry, I chose Wayside. Owner was having a party for a club he belongs to, and the only sandwich maker was swamped. After 15 minutes, I asked if my "to go" could slide in between others staying for party. "Sorry, first come first serve." Gave me too much time to see the dirt, lack of actual shaved meats, bad food handling. I'm a pretty adventurous traveler - but this would flunk a basic health inspection. Just as I was going to cancel my order (25 minutes), my sandwich emerged. I was so grossed out, though, I chucked it. Rest In Peace Wayside. Do yourself a favor - go to Bellair Market.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank etp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Durty by name, dirty indeed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

It lives up to its weird name. The place is dirty, the food below average and the staff probably took the day off when we were there. They were slow, uninterested and frankly bored. To be avoided in future.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pageonedaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good place to see a band”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

I haven't been to Durty Nelly's in years, but we went last night to see Stroke Volume play their first gig. The place looks the same: tables along one wall opposite the bar, fireplace blazing with a toasty wood fire, TVs in the corners to watch the game, band playing in the far corner, pinball machines in the back room, UVA students crammed into the place to see their classmates play cover songs. Kitchen was closed so we couldn't get a sandwich, but the beer tasted good. I was afraid that we would get blown away by the band, but they kept the volume down to a comfortable level. Best part of the night was sitting by the fire and drinking bear with friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedWingJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“It's an okay kind of place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This use to be the bomb back in the day. Now it needs to be thouroughly cleaned and santized. The food is okay---good bar food. The music is pretty good too. The bridge construciton has hurt business and you can tell by the stale chips and no one in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reescares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Durty Nelly's Pub - Wayside Deli also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Durty Nelly's Pub - Wayside Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing