We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food. Sorta Hard to get to.”

Rhett's River Grill & Raw Bar
Ranked #93 of 553 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 29 North
Transit: Public bus stops up the road.
Description: Rhett's River Grill offers the freshest in seafood and Certified Angus Beef. We feature items like 12oz bone-in Ribeye, NY Strip, Ribs, Duck, Pasta dishes, Asian glazed Salmon, Crab cakes, steamed Shrimp, Mussels, Crab legs, Bay Oysters and succulent Scallops. Rhett's also offers a full line of sandwiches at lunch and an unbeatable Sunday brunch. We are open 7 days a week and offer a limited menu between lunch and dinner daily from 2:30pm to 5pm. Rhett's has dining for groups and special events. We offer casual dining in warm family friendly atmosphere. So come into Rhett's today with a group of friends or with someone special for a cozy dining experience. Rhett's also has a full bar and offers carry out and catering services. Tuesday nights are all you can eat Crab legs, Wednesday nights two entrees and half price bottle of wine, Thursday nights 50 cent raw or steamed Oysters and on Sunday nights kids eat free with adult purchases.
Ceres, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Food. Sorta Hard to get to.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

a charming place. Good atmosphere and the staff were friendly and efficient. A little higher price than some other restaurants but you generally pay more for hi quality and we was satisfied with our food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pastorvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    74
    24
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Frankly, my dears, Rhett's does give a damn!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

An unexpected gem, despite the rather odd setting of a small mall of the main interstate leading into Charlottesville. We had wonderful snow crab legs and the place is friendly and informal. The décor isn't the greatest, but with the wonderful seafood, who cares? I just wish the tables in the 'booth' seating weren't quite so high and there were a little more room to sit. We ate there twice and both times, the food was consistently good. Portions are rather too big, as usual for the States, but other than that, no complaints. I'd go back there again - there was enough variety on the menu to revisit several times.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley, In
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A port in the storm.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Seven inches of snow was shutting the area down. They were short handed & you could only order from page 1 & 3 of the menu. Great sea food and friendly crowd. Regulars pitched in to help and added to the fun.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Garden, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A strip mall gem”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Charlottesville is not exactly a waterfront town but it does have a fair number of seafood restaurants and Rhett's is one of the old standards in that field. Family run, clean, decent food, decent service and plenty of parking make Rhett's a consistent winner. As another reviewer stated, "don't let the strip mall setting fool you". The décor is nothing special and the atmosphere is just what you would expect for a skinny strip mall layout but the food is reasonably priced and always good. Despite the dreaded 29 North location, Rhett's is very accessible and parking is never a problem. It's a good family restaurant or meeting spot for drinks with a few friends. A solid non-chain seafood restaurant in a non-coastal town. I've never had a bad meal there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptMancuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and good choice of both domestic beers and craft beers. We also had the local drunk to keep us amused

Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rhett's River Grill & Raw Bar also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Rhett's River Grill & Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing