We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“One of the most bizarre and delicious restaurants in the USA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jinx Pit Stop Restaurant

Jinx Pit Stop Restaurant
Ranked #290 of 529 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
833 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 917 helpful votes
“One of the most bizarre and delicious restaurants in the USA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Words can not really prepare you for a visit to Jinx. To say it is located in a shack is an insult to shacks. I'd call it more like a "hovel." A filthy-looking hovel. I honestly didn't think it was still in business when I pulled open the ripped screen door and pushed gently on door. But the door opened, and my daughter and I mustered the courage to order a meal (barbeque sandwiches, served with cold beet soup, potato salad and cucumber salad -- the only things Jinx, the somewhat eccentric owner, had to offer).

The food was fantastic -- particularly the barbeque served warm on white bread. I've eaten a lot of barbeque, but I think it was the best I've ever had. Slow-roasted, pit-cooked, with a little vinegar perhaps and a melt-in-your-mouth consistency.

BTW, one of the biggest laughs we had at Jinx was seeing him prepare the sandwiches with little plastic gloves on, like he was doing testing in a spotless laboratory. This, of course, took place in an open kitchen that looked like something out of a condemned 1960s mobile home.

Even more improbable, Jinx participates in various restaurant coupon deals, like LivingSocial and restaurant.com. So look for a coupon before you go. Mind you, he probably won't have the ingredients for the deal you bought (like no ribs when we visited), but he'll likely agree to feed you at a price that you will find more than reasonable.

Overall, one of the most delicious lunches -- and undoubtedly strangest -- that I've ever eaten in America.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
FREDERICKSBURG, VA.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best barbeque in the world, end of story.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The reports of unreliable hours are understated if anything. I called this guy and said I was coming on Friday .. he would not nail down projected closing time, very reluctant..finally said 3.

Arrived Friday .. 2:30 .. closed tighter than a tic.

That said...I have been.all over Memphis and NC ..etc.

Never in my life have I tasted more delicious BBQ. Ever.

Seared on outside, tender in middle ..touch (only) of vinegar.

Tender pork sweeter than sugar candy dripping off the plate.

This man.will talk to you about music. He's actually very nice.

Ask him his name?...he says, "Jinx"!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CB5328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best barbecue I've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Finding good barbecue on my travels is one of life's pleasures. Jinx makes the best hands down. Served on a lightly grilled white bread with bit of his sauce added is hard to beat. Yes, it is a hole in the wall and not the cleanest place I've ever seen, but for cryin' out loud, its a barbecue joint. Jinx is an erudite person possessed of a wonderful demeanor and great pork cooking skill. I highly recommend both the pulled pork and the ribs. You never know who you will meet in here, its a great cross roads of folks from all walks of life; musical types to construction workers, UVA profs to travelers. But come for the barbecue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thebiglion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Go for the Barbecue, but plan to take it to-go.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

From the perspective of someone who has only known Memphis/Delta-style barbecue growing up, Jinx's is one of the few, if not only, places around Charlottesville to get legitimate pulled pork and ribs. In my experience, some of the best barbecue is found in "hole-in-the wall" joints, but Jinx's really takes that idea to new level. The restaurant is based in a shack with some of the most unconventional service I've ever seen. I would say this a great place to grab lunch to take and eat elsewhere, but you may need to bring your own bag and possibly some containers for your to-go food because there is a good chance there isn't a plastic cup or paper sack in the building.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ddavis118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overlook the disturbing bits and savor the best bbq in town.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

If you can put up with Jinx's unreliability to be open during posted hours, his forgetfulness at delivering on called-ahead orders, and the chronic state of filthiness of the place, you will not miss out on the best tasting pulled pork bbq north of greensboro. If you are a serious bbq lover, these are easy flaws to overlook. If you can't overlook them, go to bbq exchange in gordonsville which is just as good and cleaner but doesn't have that dive feel and the proprietor isn't quite as charmingly weird.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thrifto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jinx Pit Stop Restaurant also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Jinx Pit Stop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing