We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic fine dining”
Review of Old Mill Room

Old Mill Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Mill Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 545 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Berwick Road
Description: In 1965, Boar's Head set out to create a dining experience that celebrates innovation blended with Southern style blending culinary artistry and classic elegance. Today, culinary tradition and passion for inspired cuisine continues. Our extensive wine and brew lists pair perfectly with a range of fresh, bold flavors that change with the seasons. A 2013 Wine Spectator Award Winner. AAA Four Diamond award-winning restaurant for 27 years running. From classic bistro fare and grill favorites, to fine dining at the Old Mill Room Restaurant and our extravagant Sunday Brunch-a true culinary adventure awaits you at Charlottesville's Only Four-Diamond Resort. Boar's Head is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week.
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,311 reviews
470 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“Rustic fine dining”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Really imaginative menu that some might find off putting because it is very gourmet. However, the flavors and combinations of foods are wonderful. The martinis are really fun, but I didn't try any wine. Loved my veal, and my husband enjoyed the halibut and lobster bisque. Service was excellent, and the ambiance is very comforting and tasteful. Great place to take a date or celebrate a special occasion.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    79
    23
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GIG HARBOR
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Used Open Table to search for a place to eat in Charlottesville. What a wonderful place, nice dining room, excellent service and one of the best Tenderloins we have ever had. My veal was outstanding as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEFFREY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast at Old Mill Room”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The breakfast which came with the room was out iof this world. It was like a bruch rather than a breakfast. We had the breakfast after our hot air baloon ride around 10am. The food and the staff were excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vinod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Traditional Food That's Too "Tricked Up"”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

During a recent tour of vineyards in the mountains of Virginia, my wife a day I had the opportunity to dine at the Old Mill Room located at the Boars Head Inn. This location has a history (literally) of fine accommodations. So a trip to Charlottesville isn't complete without a trip to this property, located Northeast of downtown.
We're certain,you glad we went, but the reality turned out to be less than the reputation. The service and friendliness of the staff is certainly "white glove". THEN, we opened the menu. The wine list is overpriced, although they are very supportive of Virginia wines. The entrees were priced at a minimum of $35.

We ordered the potato soup special (served cold), the lamb manicotti and the veal shank, with a bottle of Barbarsville (Virginia) Cab Franc. With cost of this meal came to around $200. Unfortunately, not a single dish made sense (except the wine). The cold potato soup should have been served hot, the Lamb dish was fried (overcooked) and looked like a "chimichanga" and the veal shank, although tasty, was served in a bowl. Ever try to cut a long bone shank in a bowl? It's quite a balancing act. It's safe to say that the Old Mill Room is overpriced with the food too "tricked up".

The experience at the Boars Head is certainly different than the legend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Food was very good. We happened to be there during "restaraunt week" which limited the menu, but everything was delicious. Wine was a little pricey 14 $ for a basic Cabernet. The restaraunt is part of an old mill that they reconstructed there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Mill Room also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Old Mill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing