We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Charlottesville Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellair Market

Bellair Market
Ranked #42 of 539 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Charlottesville Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

A casual, very busy place. A favorite local hang out with a very diverse fan base. You will see celebs, students, and many locals who are regulars (businessmen, doctors, artists, electricians, landscapers, moms or dads with kids, groups of ladies planning the next fundraiser for non-profits...) Gets very crowded at lunch time, so going a little early (11:30) or a little late (1:15 or later) makes a big difference. Not many tables, but they usually turn over quickly and it always seems to work out. Sandwiches are great & most of the soups (change daily) are good. It's self service and the line usually goes quickly except when they are working on an extra big catering order. If you want your sandwiches to go, you can call ahead. They do nice sandwich platters (which I suggest having them cut into thirds) which are great for tailgates and parties. I don't drink coffee but my friends say the coffee bar drinks are good. Many regulars pick up prepared food, in the late afternoon, to take home for dinner- roto chicken...Most UVA grads HAVE to visit Bellair Market when they return to Charlottesville. Great food at a gas station....its a Charlottesville thing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeDe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“My Go-To For Sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I'm not ashamed to say that my favorite sandwiches in town come from the market at the Exxon down the road. Their menu is amazing, the ingredients are always fresh and delicious. Grabbing an Ednam, chips, and a drink to-go is a quintessential Charlottesville afternoon experience.

Helpful?
Thank abcvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wait...this amazing place is in a gas station?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We were on the road heading from Richmond back to Roanoke and decided to hop off for a quick lunch in Charlottesville. Not knowing where to go we pulled up the TripAdivsor app on the phone and located restaurants near us. Thankfully this little gem popped up with high ratings and a yummy-sounding menu.

I really couldn't believe this was inside an Exxon station. Their high quality Boar's Head meats, gourmet breads, and unique sandwich blends were absolutely fantastic. All the sandwiches seemed to run around $7 which is more than reasonable for the quality of fare they serve.

Despite the location (convenience store) they had several tables and chairs inside so what we expected would be a to-go order turned into a leisurely sit-down lunch.

I would definitely recommend this place and with it being conveniently located right off the highway makes this a go-to pitstop from now on!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank HonestReviewer_in_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Market, Virginia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good place to eat and casual setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I ate at Bellair Market on the recommendation of a friend and we were very pleased. I think it is more of a deli then restaurant but the food is very good. I recommend it for a nice sandwich or soup.There is also a variety of salads and fruits. Relax and enjoy! It is in an Exxon station.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gmgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Above average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Sandwiches are good and staff is friendly, but the atmosphere is not the best cafe experience. It's tight and not very conducive for conversations. Again, the food is tasty but don't plan on hanging out long or studying there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bellair Market also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Bellair Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing