We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best take out”
Review of Oriental Express

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oriental Express
Ranked #241 of 545 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Charlottesville, Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best take out”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This may not be the best Chinese food I have ever had, but it is the best take out I have had in many years and is better than most of the sit down restaurant. We get take out for work about once a week and for home once or twice a month.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    3
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reva, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I'm really picky with my chinese food and i haven't found a good one in years untill we went hear for a late day after valentines day dinner / snack.Orenital is by far the best place!!! It is great a yummy I had Chicken and Broc, my husband had General Tso's. The service was great and we will be back to try new things on the menu. Thanks

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Chinese take-out in Charlottesville”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is my go to place for Chinese take-out. I have had the General Tso's chicken, curry chicken, beef with string beans, mu shu beef, and sushi - all excellent!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeyadvises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A Very Good Find”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Nestled, as it were, among other small shops in a strip mall near the Hollymead Town Center, is a rare find. A small but busy, family-owned and operated, Oriental take out restaurant with excellent food, and gracious service. The basic menu is not any different, really, than any other Chinese carryout -- but the food definitely is. You can take it home, and pretend that you are in a nice restaurant, unlike many offerings elsewhere, where the product is unremarkable, if not indistinguishable, from one to the next. Call ahead, and it is ready by the time you get there, cooked freh for you, with excellence.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Nowhere better for Chinese food!”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We love Oriental Express! We've been picking up food from there for years, and the food is always excellent. They always get our order exactly right, and the quality is consistently excellent. If you are anywhere near Forest Lakes, try Oriental Express and prepare for a treat.

Helpful?
Thank IAsimov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriental Express also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing