We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Tepeyac - CLOSED

El Tepeyac
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Central American, Salvadoran, South American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
387 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is my brother's favourite restaurant and I've eaten there at least five times in the past few years. The food is at least as good if not better than Mexican restaurants I have been to in California where you expect the food to be authentic. In addition to a wide variety of food choices they offer 22-oz beers (limit yourself to one if driving) and large margueritas among other cocktails and drinks. Not good if you're on a diet but otherwise very highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmeem42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond VT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped here in the afternoon for a late lunch. I had chilies rellenos and my spouse had shrimp fajitas. We also had some pupusas. The food was flavorful and plentiful, not greasy. The refried beans were very good. They served authentic Mexican food, great service, nice atmosphere, reasonable prices.

Helpful?
Thank AmieVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Must try!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have dined here a few times and we love it!!! Great value and great food!!! Every time we are in Charlottesville we find it so hard not to eat here!! Great authentic Mexican

Helpful?
Thank JYounes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value and options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I will definitely return to El Tepeyac in the future. The food we had on our visit (various pupusas, gorditas and sopes) were full of flavor and very reasonably priced. Service was attentive, but not overbearing and we came in at the end of a busy dinner hour.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank great_state224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great for a casual lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a great place for fresh and well made food.

The price to quality ratio is unbeatable, can easily become a regular to this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinJ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tepeyac also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing