We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hyatt- Charlottesville” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Charlottesville

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hyatt- Charlottesville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I am a hospitality management student at Concord University in West Virginia, and I have lived in Charlottesville for all of my life. I went to this hotel to "mystery shop" them for a school project. I was to go into the hotel and rate based on décor, front desk staff, and what all the hotel had to offer. When I first walked into the hotel, I immediately noticed how nice the hotel smelled. It felt like home. The inside of the hotel is absolutely beautiful. One of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen. I could tell that the hotel was very clean and well taken care of by the staff. After reading comments about the horrible customer service, first of all I would like to apologize because that's the whole point of a hotel. If the service is terrible it doesn't matter how beautiful the hotel is. When I did talk to the hotel staff everyone seemed very friendly and greeted me with a smile every time I passed by an employee. They also serve Starbucks coffee 24/7 in their café and have a very nice pool area. I feel that this hotel is decently priced for Charlottesville and will be the new favorite for people who travel frequently to this area. Its been wonderful to see the dramatic change Charlottesville has made within the last 10 years.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Everyone at the Hyatt Place Charlottesville wishes you the best of luck with your career.
Kico Hedrick
Director of Sales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    138
    23
    6
    9
See reviews for
233
151
27
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great overnight on the way to Cape Hatteras. Brand new modern hotel for a very good price. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast buffet included nicely considered dishes with fresh ingredients. Our room had a cozy sitting area and lots of thoughtful amenities. Quite spacious and very comfortable. Call the hotel for directions as it is so new that it does not yet register on GPS or Google Earth. Easy to access and well worth the extra bit of effort to find this fine property.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for letting other guests know about the directions. Bond Street is brand new and is still not recognized on some sites. We are happy you stayed with us.

Kico Hedrick
Director of Sales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Absolutely BEAUTIFUL hotel with modern Asian-style decor, but the building is so poorly insulated that we could hear conversations from the room next door and from the hallway, so it was difficult to sleep. Windows were also drafty. I can't imagine that this insulation problem can be fixed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank manfrommaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
I am pleased to hear you speak of how beautiful our new hotel is, we are very proud of it. I regret that you had a negative experience regarding the noise. I am curious to know if you happened to be in a connecting room, in which case the noise does tend to bleed through a bit more than in a traditional guest room. I will investigate the window draft in some of our rooms. Because the windows are fixed, and do not open, to have a draft is likely a flaw in that particular room. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

Kico Hedrick
Director of Sales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The rooms are very nicely appointed. There is a very nice sectional in each room with an ottoman and throw. For our needs, this was very comfortable as we had others in our party to visit with. The beds were very comfortable. Overall a very nice room. The location is fantastic with shops and restaurants within walking distance. Our favorite was Burton's. Beware some are on the website but hadn't yet opened yet. Would definitely stay here again. Hotel address was not on our GPS, best to call hotel and get Regal Cinema address next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familylady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We are still having issues with certain GPS sites, the theatre address is 1954 Swanson Dr. Charlottesville Va 22901.

Kico Hedrick
Director of Sales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Brand new hotel in an upscale shopping complex. Family of four; stayed last weekend in October. Excellent, modern (nice large screen TV) room; we had two queens which came with a nice sofa/sitting area; great breakfast, reasonable rates. Five minutes to UVA. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphyaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello Murphy,
Thank you for taking the time to post. I love the TVs here, they are all 42 inches and it is the first hotel I have ever had with all of the plug-ins easily accessible.

Kico Hedrick
Director of Sales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

First, the staff was great and the room was beautiful. Everything was nice until my fiancé and I got to the room to notice they had given me a handicap accessible room. We walked back and asked if I can have the room I reserved. The guy told me since I had got there later than everyone else, I had got what ever was left. So someone else got my room I reserved. Not cool. Now, this is a Hyatt. I work at a La Quinta, and we don't do that to OUR guests! I am shocked Hyatt does this. The guy tried his best to get me something but the end result is my Fiancé and I stuck with 2 double beds handicap accessible room. I will note the front desk agent did apologize and offered to get us anything we needed. If we hadn't eaten, we could of had a free dinner. Oh well. We made the best of it. We took the 2 double beds and pushed them together!

So another problem happened in the room. The hot water lasted like 5 minutes. I called the front desk, lady answered politely, and I told her the problem. Ten minutes later the maintenance guy checked it out and the shower needed a new handle. He said he will check with front desk and they will get back to us. Wellllll.... we waited almost an hour and nothing. So I called front desk and they said they will have to talk to the maintenance guy. A few minutes later the front desk person said the problem will be fixed by either moving our room (which I would have loved, obviously) or them getting a new handle. We left without a shower( hate that, but had no choice) We got back to the hotel and it was fine. So everything was done by the book coming from someone who has 10 plus years experience in the hotel industry. I just don't like it when a room is reserved and it's not there when you check in! Just because we came in at midnight -- you're suppose to get that room!

The breakfast was good. My fiancé seemed to enjoy it, so I was happy.

Just beware of this. Call the hotel and tell them to not change your room type if it really matters to you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for providing such detailed feedback. Since you are in the hospitality industry, you understand how valuable this is to us. I will certainly put additional focus on arrivals to see that future guests are placed in the room type that was originally booked. This is a minimal expectation when you arrive at a hotel. I appreciate you noting that things were handled by the book, however I am feeling that the water issue could have been handled more efficiently. We hope to see you back.

Kico Hedrick
Director of Sales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

had a very comfortable stay here and would definitely stay here again. great staff from the very personal manager to the front desk check in clerks everyone was very helpful and professional. Room was clean and had a great layout,overall one of the best place i've stayed at, really enjoyed staying here. They also had a real good breakfast layout in the mornings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mac3538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kico Hedrick
Director of Sales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
2.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
0.7 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
The English Inn of Charlottesvil...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charlottesville

Property: Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Address: 2100 Bond St, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 137 guest rooms, the HyattPlace Charlottesville is centrally located at US 29 and Hydraulic Road. The hotel is in close proximity to the Historic Downtown Mall, the University of Virginia and John Paul Jones Arena. Our guests will enjoy daily complimentary breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi with remote printing capability, our Fitness Center featuring Life Fitness equipment, Heated Indoor Pool, The Gallery 24/7 menu, Grab & Go Bakery, Starbucks and full bar featuring local beer and wine. Our hotel is LEEDS certified and we offer 2 car charging stations on property. Nestled at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Albemarle County, Charlottesville has become a popular culinary destination complimented by our award winning local vineyards and breweries. Shopping enthusiasts will want to visit the Shops at Stonefield or nearby Barracks Road Shopping Center. Entertainment is abundant with multiple venues located on our Historic Downtown Pedestrian Mall including the Ntelos Wireless Pavilion, The Jefferson Theater, The Paramount Theater and The Southern as well as the nearby John Paul Jones Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing