We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but characterless environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable but characterless environment”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I would imagine that American business travellers enjoy this type of hotel. It's new, it's comfortable, the rooms are spacious, the staff are very friendly, and the complementary breakfast is good. All good on that front. But it's in this newly built concrete jungle of a mall. Yes, there are restaurants and opportunities for entertainment, and the students make it a youthful sort of neighbourhood. But for a European this is the sort of characterless amusement park that you'd rather avoid. Like said, the hotel itself is well worth the money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Seminartraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello Seminartraveller57,
The comments regarding our hotel specifically are much appreciated, and we are glad you had a positive experience while staying with us. I understand the points you make regarding the Stonefield Shopping Center where we are located. For an area where most all buildings are designed in Jeffersonian fashion, our shopping center is certainly a step in the direction of contemporary, and somewhat more “streamlined” structures. As the trees mature, and the “green space” across from the hotel, actually turns green this spring, it will add much more color. After a long winter, we will all welcome flowering trees soon. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    159
    27
    8
    10
See reviews for
271
167
33
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Only stayed for one night in February but the stay was enjoyable and comfortable. Clean up-to-date property and room and friendly employees. This was my first time at any Hyatt Place property and as a result of staying at this one in Charlottesville, I will consider trying other Hyatt Place properties in other towns.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hello PhillyLover,
We are happy to hear that your stay with us may lead to other Hyatt Place room nights. Hyatt does have a focus on consistency between the hotels, so my hope would be that you receive the same level of service. Please allow us to host you in the future should you return to Charlottesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Excellent stay on 2/28/14! Staff and solutions are superior; especially Cynthia, Derrick, Cordell, and Ashley who made all responses to requests both pleasurable and productive - the best hotel staff I have ever encountered. I would love to see your recruiting process, it is spot on. The establishment is immaculate and pleasantly fragrant, keep up the great work!

The hotel is relatively new and may not show up on GPS...use 1954 Swanson Drive and it will take you into the upscale Stonefield Shops with the Movie I-Plex and Trader Joe's, the Hyatt Place will be on the right. Enjoy your stay!
S.M. ~ Leesburg, VA

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMitchell247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hello Susan,
We are all happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words regarding our team. We are also fortunate to have great guests. Our team spent our Monday morning meeting sharing how great the guests were over the weekend, so thanks to you as well.
I know we will see you back soon, and will do our best provide another perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Every touch point of my experience was excellent. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The lobby; breakfast area; menu; rooms; quietness, etc... were perfect. It's a modern hotel which is cheery and bright. You are walking distance to a brand new shopping district with high end shopping and restaurants.

I was pleased with the free Wifi since I needed to get work done. Starbucks coffee; a beautiful living room area in your room; plenty of outlets to plug in your computer, multiple phones, etc...

Comfy beds,... need I go on. This is a perfect hotel with perfect pricing.

Room Tip: All rooms are new, clean and quiet. You're in good hands with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks Jackgriff,
Let us know when you find that excuse, we will be happy to host you again. Thanks for touching on the outlets and phones which are two things I like about this particular hotel. The outlets are off the ground so you do not have to get on your hands and knees to plug in. The phones are cordless and also have a speaker function, both great for doing business in the room.
Thanks again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My first stay at the new Hyatt in Charlottesville and I now have a new favorite hotel to stay at each time I'm back in town for business. Nice large King Room with a great modern look. Very impressed with the bedding, pillows, and furniture. The bathroom was clean and modern with a walk in shower. Coffee maker, fridge, and nice sitting area with a comfortable couch. The large fitness center had the new high end LifeFitness cardio equipment with a heavy duty weight bench and free weights up to 50lbs. This is one of the better fitness centers I've used at all of the hotels I've stayed at. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. Was able to book a room midweek for less than $100 with my AAA discount. You will not be disappointed with this hotel.

Room Tip: My 3rd floor room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Hello David A,
Thank you for sharing information on some of our hotel features. One thing I like about our fitness room is that there is actually enough floor space to stretch. I know when I travel, often I have to stretch in the room prior to working out. Please e-mail me directly with your business information. I would like to make sure we are able to host you on each business trip.
kico.hedrick@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Pros:

1. New, clean and in a very nice location
2. Convenient shopping, eateries and entertainment
3. Nice staff and all the amenities you are accustomed to at a Hyatt Place

Cons:
None to mention. It was only an overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twillis600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello Twills600,
1) Thanks for the review.
2) We enjoyed the quick and to the point format of your comments.
3) Hopefully the next time you are through Charlottesville we will see you again.

Travel Safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We live in Charlottesville and wanted a night out so we used our Hyatt points for a night at the brand new Hyatt Place.
The first cool thing was we drove my electric Nisson Leaf and were able to charge it over night at the hotel charing station. This is the first place I have been that had a car charger.
The next thing it is right next to the Stonefield shopping center. So it is next door to the new Regal Cinema and several great restaurants.
The hotel is brand new and nice. The staff was very friendly at check in and during our stay. We had an end room on the 5th floor. These rooms are a bit larger and square. Also very quiet.
I always like the Hyatt place cafe as it is great place to get a glass of wine before dinner or some dessert afterwards. This was no exception.
We had dinner and some drinks at Travinia, (all while the car was at the charger), came back to the room, had a snack and watched a movie from my iPad hooked up to the TV. Overall a great night.

Room Tip: The end rooms are larger and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackfromcville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kico H, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Charlottesville, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi JackfromCville,
It is always an honor to have local C'Villians stay at our property. We are actually proud to be the only hotel in Charlottesville boasting car charging stations, thank you for sharing this with everyone. Travania's (just across the street) is becoming a favorite of the Hyatt Place guests. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
892 reviews
2.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,716 reviews
0.7 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
971 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Charlottesville

Property: Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Address: 2100 Bond St, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1310
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 137 guest rooms, the HyattPlace Charlottesville is centrally located at US 29 and Hydraulic Road. The hotel is in close proximity to the Historic Downtown Mall, the University of Virginia and John Paul Jones Arena. Our guests will enjoy daily complimentary breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi with remote printing capability, our Fitness Center featuring Life Fitness equipment, Heated Indoor Pool, The Gallery 24/7 menu, Grab & Go Bakery, Starbucks and full bar featuring local beer and wine. Our hotel is LEEDS certified and we offer 2 car charging stations on property. Nestled at the foot of the Blue Ridge Mountains in Albemarle County, Charlottesville has become a popular culinary destination complimented by our award winning local vineyards and breweries. Shopping enthusiasts will want to visit the Shops at Stonefield or nearby Barracks Road Shopping Center. Entertainment is abundant with multiple venues located on our Historic Downtown Pedestrian Mall including the Ntelos Wireless Pavilion, The Jefferson Theater, The Paramount Theater and The Southern as well as the nearby John Paul Jones Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing