We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Food in Historic Tavern”

The Ordinary at Michie Tavern
Ranked #14 of 540 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
SanFrancisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
283 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Historic Food in Historic Tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Only open for lunch. Buffet only. Menu includes fried and baked chicken, stewed tomatoes ( their speciality), green beans, black eyed peas, slaw, mashed potatoes, beets, biscuits and corn bread. Peach cobbler for dessert.

My picky child said the chicken and biscuits were great...and enough for lunch.

Fun place for lunch- we were seated quickly in spite of it being very busy.

Helpful?
Thank ReneeC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    217
    114
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Lunch, Friendly Server”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We enjoyed a typical southern meal. The barbecue and cold (it's supposed to be:) vegetable soup were especially good. Price is a bit high, but remember you are paying for a tavern experience. Dessert is extra and we found that we weren't hungry for it anyway as the meal is buffet style. Our server was kind and helpful. He shared some history of the place and brought us seconds as needed. Check four coupons on their website. We saved $8 dollars because we are from Virginia!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WriterFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap - Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This placed was average for the price. I guess they are gearing you up for your visit to Monticello. The food was bland, then I guess back then they didn't have all the wonderful spices they have now. The fried chicken was greasy and the beans, were bland. The biscuit was good and so was the coleslaw. TThe service was slow and the place wasn't even packed. Rick was too slow for us. There are other places to go have a nice wonderful meal. It was an experience, one that I would not return to, not for the price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meccpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced Tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Bland, greasy fried chicken, slaw, baked beans, etc on a buffet in a dark room. Outdoor seating is pleasant. Very attractive tavern building and shops. Lots of parking. Too many good restaurants to settle for this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank plant-nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Must for Lunch When Visiting Monticello”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Not a bad meal for a buffet. Authentic atmosphere is a nice way to get into the mood for a Monticello visit.
Also, the Hostess claimed the fried chicken to be the best in the County! And it was pretty good.

Too bad they aren't open for dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hotel-Designer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ordinary at Michie Tavern also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to The Ordinary at Michie Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing