We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshly made comfort food, fast and affordable!”
Review of Eppie's - CLOSED

Eppie's
Restaurant details
Charlottesville
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Freshly made comfort food, fast and affordable!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Eppie's is a true gem in the crown of Charlottesville's eateries. Located on Charlottesville's pedestrian "Downtown Mall", Eppie's has outdoor seating as well as indoor. Place your order at the front counter and pick it up minutes later at the back counter. Carry your tray to your desired seat and enjoy yummy, freshly prepared food! This restaurant is also very veg-friendly with many entrees and side dishes for vegetarians, as well as those with other dietary restrictions. The fact that you're serving yourself means that you needn't add a hefty tip to your bill (though people often make a contribution to the tip jar at the front counter). They also serve a nice variety of beers and wines.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LBSBSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Eppie's is epic”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We are from the UK, and chanced upon this restaurant for lunch on a day trip to Charlottesville.
Had the daily special which was the Carolina pulled pork salad. Had the mac and cheese and pumpkin bread with it. The pumpkin bread was sweet, like a muffin. The mac and cheese was great. The salad was epic, I could not believe how tasty this was - when combined with the mac and pumpkin bread even better. The food here reminded me of the stuff Founding Farmers in DC are turning out. I have to say as a visitor from the UK this Southern style cuisine is very different and very delicious. This was frankly one of the pure tastiest meals I have ever had and was the best restaurant we visited on our 2 week trip, everything considered. You order at the counter and everything is prepared in front of you. It is very busy at lunchtime. Yu can sit outside on the tables on the 'mall' (precinct to those from the UK) which is a very pleasant spot. Meal for 2 adults and 2 kids cost just over 30 bucks. All in all, fabulous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wakeywarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty food, friendly service”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Went to Eppie's from TA reviews. Food was good, I had the ham biscuits as recommended, the pumpkin bread was a surprisingly good combo with the ham. Daily salad yummy and my son had tortellini, it was all good. Only complaint- restaurant was not the cleanest looking and could use sprucing up. Nice area outside for eating, shaded by lots of trees so it was cool even at 90 degrees.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank neonargy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Local, quaint, good food & service”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We ate at Eppies last year while visiting Charlottesville. We were so impressed that we went again on our next visit a couple of weeks ago. So while we have had only a couple of things on their wonderful menu (and the menu is a good one...check out their web site) they have been excellent. I had their daily special, chicken and dumplings. A simple dish but ohhhh so good. Plenty of large chunks of chicken and dumplings in a wonderful homemade gravy. My wife had a brie and apple sandwich, which she thoroughly enjoyed. The atmosphere is very casual, kind of an upscale fast food place with quality food and good prices. The service is friendly. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“So good!”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I only get one thing from this restaurant, so I can't speak for everything, but the cheese tortillini with pink sauce is awesome! The workers here are always friendly, and the food is delicious. Sometimes I get it with italian sausage, sometimes just plain. Both the cornbread and the garlic bread are delicious also. They have a nice outdoor patio area, and the inside is cool with nice art. If you download the Cardigan app for your phone you can get 15% off your order.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HS2918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eppie's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing