We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great stay and good location”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We received a lovely welcome from the lady on reception at this hotel (wish I’d caught her name). She gave us loads of information about the area and we got a quiet room as requested. Room was nice and clean and comfy. The hotel had a shuttle bus to downtown Charlottesville, but we drove there instead as it wasn't far.
We did have dinner at the hotel which was very nice and the service was good too, but we didn't really have time to use any of the other facilities in the hotel but they looked nice as we went passed.
I would recommend this hotel and would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boydsmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    249
    71
    24
    14
See reviews for
304
289
34
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, PA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This was our first stay at a Hilton Garden Inn. The staff was very courteous and willing to help. The hotel is very well maintained and is located in a convenient location to visit the University of Virginia and Monticello. The room was spacious and very nicely decorated. I would definitely stay at this hotel and other Hilton Garden Inns again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

I loved this hotel. It had great rooms and its inns great location. There is even a steak restaurant within walking distance.

College campus, JAG College are all very conveniently located best this hotel. Whole Foods and other great stores and pretty much any great restaurant us also close.

My only displeasure was breakfast is expensive and not included.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinmcids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This was our first time at a Hilton Garden Inn. We booked for the UVA Parents' weekend. It was very nice---- clean, comfortable, and well-maintained. We are definitely going to put Hilton Garde Inn on our list!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtbouchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCassell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
We appreciate your kind words about our Hotel, we recognize the importance of events such as parents' weekend in Charlottesville and we are proud to have a small part in your enjoyment of them. Go 'Hoos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabaster, Alabama
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This is a typical Hilton Garden Inn. We have come to trust these hotels as always clean, comfortable and reliable. My only complaint would be the price of $179.00 for a one night stay. I think that seems to be the going rate for Charlottesville though. Next time we will drive of of town some, but stick with Hilton. : )

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AutieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCassell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn in Charlottesville, our staff takes a great deal of pride in creating a welcoming and comfortable environment. Charlottesville has become a very popular and busy destination and we believe that our emphasis on providing great service to our guests enables us to stay ahead in this market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Very average for $200+. Cleaning staff would wake up all guests at 9am by tapping knocking and asking when leaving. She made round over and over until you leave. I've been to many places but never experienced this. All guests could her her go from room to room over and over from 9am till they leave. We heard other guests ask to please stop this practice but she wouldn't . We asked her not to do this to us in the morning as we know we were planning to leave at 1030. She still did it anyway. We will not stay here again when we go back to charlottesville

Room Tip: Choose different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lulabel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCassell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
I'm sorry that your morning was disrupted by our housekeeping staff, I've discussed this with our executive housekeeper and her staff to ensure that this does not happen moving forward. Our guest's comfort and safety are paramount in our desire to provide a welcome retreat when you're away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern viginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Very well maintained, only six years old, but could pass for one, Very clean.
Good size rooms/bathrooms. All the room perks. 2-3 miles from downtown, one more to campus
but with a rural atmoshere. The back patio overlooking the lake is a quiet, tranquil place to relax
and was outstanding.
Very good service. Thanks Ellen.

Room Tip: Front rooms face the parking space and road. Back rooms face a beautiful large lake complete with 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuriNorthernViginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCassell, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thanks for staying with us, we cherish our tranquil "back Yard" and often slip out ourselves to escape for a minute or two during our hectic work days. Ellen and her staff at the front desk are always happy to get noticed, they work very hard to provide a hospitable environment- and thay are stars at it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,625 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
818 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
511 reviews
3.8 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Address: 1793 Richmond Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3637
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing