We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What I expected”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great room, beer selection, and location. Real friendly staff. Breakfast could have been better for the price. I can not believe TripAdvisor requires 200 characters before I can finish this review. I makes me not want to post a review due to the hassle of minimum requirements before I can move on from this survey!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to fill out your review and for your kind remarks. We're lucky to have a variety of local beer craftsmen that we believe produce some great products and are happy to be able to offer them to our guests. On your next visit feel free to challenge our chef for your favorite breakfast item and he will do his best to prepare it for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    251
    75
    24
    14
See reviews for
312
296
36
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here in November and again in December--four nights total. It is a little distant from downtown, but convenient to Westminster-Canterbury Blue Ridge and the nearby hospital. The hotel is just off I-64. The location is quiet and there is a lovely lake, with a pair of swans, behind. The staff is both professional and very friendly. The breakfast ($9.95 pp) is excellent. We requested blankets to replace the duvets that hotels use now. A better night's sleep. The hotel exemplifies the Hilton standard we expect. We'll stay here again when we visit Charlottesville.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loonisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We're glad that you've enjoyed your stays with us; we love being in the Peter Jefferson Park where you can walk securely in the countryside while watching the swans playing in their pond beyond our patio as the sun sets behind the Blue Ridge. And if you wish to visit the downtown area during your stay, our shuttle drivers will be more than happy to drop you at the door of your favorite shop or restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This property offers a very pleasant lodging experience. The staff is accomodating, the food (particularly breakfast) is great and if you get a pond-view room It's especially nice. Just avoid weekends when UVa is playing a home football game!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Happy New Year! We really appreciate your kind words and are very happy that you've enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Charlottesville is a beautiful city with wonderful opportunities to experience history and pristine country side. The Hilton Garden Inn is wonderfully located and views from the hotel include a pretty pond with swans and a walking path. The staff takes their mission seriously and attend to your comfort as though you are royalty.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
We're very lucky to be in such a beautiful location where there is something for every vistitor to enjoy and we are especially proud of role of Charlottesville in the founding of our nation. Our hotel is very near to the University of Virginia, Monticello and Ash Lawn and even the land upon which our hotel is built was originally land owned by the father of Thomas Jefferson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

While the hotel was equal to other brands in this location, the price was over that of other brands in different locations while the overall service/product was comparable, not superior. The hotel has a good bkfst, lunch & dinner facility. The location is just off interstate in medical/office park property, away from main downtown.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank WmEHSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, we continually discuss our pricing strategies and concentrate very much of providing great service and value for our guests. We feel that we are very competitive among our peers in the Charlottesville area and we will dicuss in earnest your comments regarding costs as we move forward into the new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I arrived in the evening to this hotel. I was very pleased to see how well lighted the parking area was. Entering the lobby, decorated for the holidays and a fire in the fireplace was very comforting. The environment was clean. The staff so professional and helpful! I was on the main floor with a lake view. Quiet and delightful! I did not eat a the hotel, use the spa or gym services which were available. The only area for improvement would be a new ironing board cover!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are away from the main road and will allow for a restful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adragonflyhsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank-you! We're replacing our ironing board covers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The rooms, the beds, the lobby, the restaurant -- all immaculate, shining. The housekeeping staff is superb and the front desk and restaurant employees are gracious, helpful, and friendly. In brief: All excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
3.8 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Address: 1793 Richmond Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3637
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing