We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Finallly Fails Value Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Staff member did not fully listen to customer issues brought to front counter. Two of three issues never addressed properly, thus visit was not much fun. More training and less construction debris in area would have allowed a better experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

All of our staff is dedicated to bring their guests the best service possible and our staff is fully empowered to handle all of our guests' concerns but in the event of any miscommunication please do not hesitate to escalate your concerns until they are satisfactorily handled. To all of us, our Hilton Garden Inn Promise is the law that guides our daily routines..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn is a gorgeous hotel with friendly and obliging staff. 10 minutes to downtown, but still on the fringe of the city, its location provides first class access to Charlottesville. We booked here in search of quick proximity to Monticello, which it offers in spades!

My only complaint was ongoing construction at the hotel (which we were warned about when booking). I understand that properties require renovation. I did not care for the lack of supervision of construction teams that left me excusing myself in order to get past them in the hallway.

This hotel promises to be a 5 Star (on my scale) when renovations are complete.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BBQ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were checked in by the manager Eric who was very helpful and very professional. The room was clean but very ordinary, nothing special for a Hilton hotel. We always stay at the Hilton in Albany, NY and this Hilton does not hold a candle to that one. We ate dinner in the hotel and the service was terrible. We were the only guests at dinner when we first sat down and the female server was probably the worst we have ever had. She never came back to fill our water glasses, make sure our food was ok, etc., to busy chatting with the male server. My husband ordered a beer. She brought a bottle of beer, sat it in front of him and walked away. No glass. We had to wave her down and ask for a glass. A table of 3 ladies sat near us and also ordered beer. She brought them their bottles of beer and walked away. They called her back and one asked for a straw and the other 2 asked for a glass. Did she think she was serving maybe college guys who would prefer to drink out of the bottle. Most people would like a glass at dinner. My medium rare steak was overcooked and my husbands spare ribs made him feel sick all evening. Very disappointed, not at all what you expect for a Hilton. And by the way, with tax, $260 for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Garden Inn for 3 nights while we were in Charlottesville. It was absolutely beautiful. The only negative was the construction being done while we were there. Fortunately, it was not noisy at all and didn't really bother us. The staff was nice and the room was clean and comfortable. We loved the grounds. We took a walk every morning around the lake/pond and looked at the turtles and swans. We also ate breakfast one morning and it was very good. (You do have to pay 10 dollars for it though). The pool and hot tub are very small, but nice and clean. Overall, I would stay at this location again. If you are looking for a clean hotel with beautiful grounds that is in the middle of everything, yet tucked away, THIS IS IT!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First, they are renovating the lobby area so you really can't say anything about that. It looks like it is going to be great once it is done. They have found the key to success and that is customer service. Every single person we came into contact with bent over backwards to help us. We accidentally left a bag outside the front door( I have no idea how that happened) with two fairly new iPads in that bag. One of the fellows at the hotel called us and offered to mail the bag to us. It would have been so easy to just take those iPads and say nothing but no one did that. Honesty in this day and age, imagine that! Our room was clean and smelled clean. Our king bed was outstanding. Wonderful linens you could just melt in after a long day of driving. The food at the restaurant was top notch. I could go on and on but I won't except to say, the pond with the swans was beautiful. We will be back Ü

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eernuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

So disappointed as a long time Hilton person, this hotel was not guest friendly including making two reservations, not having internet running correctly and not being able to check us in but checking in all other guests at same time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Neal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you encountered and we will work with our team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

great property. excellent location. staff superb. beautiful grounds and really enjoyed view of mini-lake with fountain and lovely pair of swans we nicknamed TJ and Martha for the Jeffersons. Hotel was undergoing major renovation but almost complete with smashing new look. clean ,comfortable and close to all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank 419carolw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,806 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
937 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#20 of 35 in Charlottesville
537 reviews
5.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesv...
#12 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville

Address: 1793 Richmond Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3637
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £95 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing