We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service at lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern,PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent service at lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2008

Based on others' positive reviews we selected this hotel and were NOT disappointed. We reserved a handicapped accessible room. At check-in I questioned if it was a tub or walk-in shower and was told it was a tub with grab bars. I asked if a walk-in shower was available in any room. We were upgraded to a suite that had the shower we needed. Maybe being one of their Honors Club members helped but we REALLY appreciated the upgrade. The suite was luxurious and made the last 2 nights of our weeklong vacation wonderful. Every staff member we encountered treated us as a special guest. The manager who upgraded us saw us the next day and asked if the room met our needs. What outstanding personal service!! She was so sincere and caring. It is often difficult to find places that are sensitive to the needs of someone with a handicap and also have character - like an inn or B&B. This place excelled. We also had dinner and breakfast at their restaurant and both were great. We were soooo glad we stayed here.

  • Liked — overall accomodations for disabled guest; wonderful service from everyone; most comfortable bed that could be adjusted to meet your personal need.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovebeingretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    249
    71
    24
    14
See reviews for
305
289
34
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn while on a recent business trip and found the hotel stay a pleasant experience. The staff was friendly and courteous and the room was always clean. Each room has a wide screen TV for your enjoyment. The hotel has an indoor pool as well as a gym and restaurant. I did not notice and sign of repairs being needed. Everything looked very modern.

My only complaint was that getting a cell phone connection while inside the building was extremely difficult. I had to go outside in order to use my phone. Not too much of a big deal.

For tourists, the hotel is conveniently located near "Monticello", the home of Thomas Jefferson (3rd US president) as well as "Ash Lawn-Highland", the home of James Monroe (5th US president). It is also only several miles from the University of Virginia and the Charlottesville Historic District.

I would definitely recommend the Hilton Garden Inn to friends.

  • Liked — modern and clean
  • Disliked — weak cell phone reception inside building
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolly_Mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamford CT
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2008

Stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for 2 nights last week on a visit to Charlottesville and U.Va. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless and the entire hotel looked to be fairly new. One of our rooms overlooked the front of the property, which has some construction for a steakhouse to open. Although there was no noise from there, our other room was preferable, looking out the back over the small lake, very pretty and peaceful. There is a full service restaurant in the lobby, which we did not try; the business center came in handy, 24 hour access to computers and free printing. The hotel's location was convenient to town and the university, and to Monticello, all within 10 minutes or so. The cost was fairly low, probably lower than hotels closer to the town itself. I would definitely recommend this to anyone in the area.

  • Liked — new and clean, comfortable beds
  • Disliked — other hotels are a bit closer to town
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tymelyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
432 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

We just returned from a 2 night stay and had a very nice time. This was our first time at a Hilton Garden Inn and we were pleasantly surprised. We had a one bedroom, king suite with 1-1/2 baths on the 3rd floor (#325), overlooking a small pond. High Speed Internet access was provided at no charge. Furnishings were comfortable and in good condition. The staff were very nice and helpful. Had Breakfast both mornings. Cost was $8.95 pp but everthing was made to order and well worth the cost. They also served dinner but we ate downtown both nights. Hotel had an indoor pool, hot tub and exercise room but we did not use them. We were just a 10 minute drive to the downtown walking mall. Highly recommend this motel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wctrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2008

The service was very nice. I had an issue with the washer / dryer and it was taken care of promptly. The property is pretty fresh and new, rooms very clean and easy access to the bypass around Charlottesville. It is convenient, without being in the heavy traffic areas of the town.
One thing to note, the rates have gone up significantly since I stayed, so I have switched to the Doubletree north of town. Not as nice but 40/night cheaper.

  • Liked — Clean and convenient
  • Disliked — Latest cost increase
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JJB4150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

Stayed here for one night in July while visiting Charlottesville attractions (Monticello, Michie Tavern, etc.). with husband and two teens. Have stayed in one other HGI (in Ithaca, NY), and this one is even nicer. It seems new, so everything is very clean and fresh. The halls and rooms were quiet. Nicely appointed rooms with comfortable beds, great TVs. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet (not included in our rate, but very reasonable) was of high quality with lots of options. We also ate dinner at the restaurant, because after all that touring on a hot day, we were beat! We had the place to ourselves, a very pleasant and attentive waitress, and really yummy food. A very comfortable, pleasant place to stay!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, well-appointed bathroom, excellent bed
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cawfeetawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, MA
Level Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

The Hilton Garden Inn is a bit outside Charlottesville and the hotel restaurant, while fine for breakfast, probably isn't where you would like to have dinner in a town with as many good choices as Charlottesville. Getting into town does require a drive and a place to park the car. The rooms are fairly standard hotel rooms, but the housekeeping here is outstanding. The room was spotless and everything worked. People at the front desk were always friendly and helpful. The quality of this hotel at the price was a very pleasant surprise.

  • Liked — helpful staff, clean rooms
  • Disliked — generic decor
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank D_PN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.5 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
Hampton Inn Charlottesville
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
3.8 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Address: 1793 Richmond Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3637
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#5 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing