We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT DINNER - INTERESTING VENUE”
Review of Tastings

Tastings
Reserve with OpenTable
Tastings is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #91 of 542 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: When Tastings started in 1990 it was the only fully integrated Wine Shop/ Wine Bar/ Restaurant on the East Coast. About twenty years later, there is still only a handful of establishments in the U.S. such as Tastings. Besides being an outstanding wine shop in its own right as well as a fine restaurant, Tastings offers a large selection of wines by the glass. Wines are offered in flights for experimentation with a meal for a modest fee over the retail price of wines in the shop. Tastings' restaurant serves simple, direct cuisine that allows each customer a gustatory and educational experience in a friendly but professional fine restaurant.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT DINNER - INTERESTING VENUE”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had an excellent dinner at Tastings of Charlottesville tonight. The brussel sprout salad and fried oyster appetizers were great. The vegetarian wild mushroom entree was delicious. The duck and lamb were perfectly prepared. The wine pairing that was recommended to us was excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. Also, it is located inside a wine store which was really interesting. The dining room is next to the crates full of different wines. It has a nice, cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ADKFIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    19
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Just off the downtown mall. Favorite place for locals. EVERYTHING on the menu is great. Get on newsletter to enjoy Owner Bill's humor and expertise and food/wine parings.
Stamped parking ticket for Market St Garage.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Talk0fthet0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Truly a wonderful evening”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We went here on a recommendation from friends - who frequently go there for dinner. We were told the food was excellent in a very casual environment, with the owner being extremely wine-friendly. Our expectations were exceeded on all accounts. Appetizers were wonderful - some of the best fried oyster - moist and tender. Entrees were bison short ribs and a pork cassolet - also excellent. Bill was extremely knowledgeable about the wines - which spanned the globe. He spoke at length to us after we chose our courses to ensure that he choose the best wine to complement not only the foods, but our paletes. The service was also excellent - not intrusive, but very attentive. There are not very many tables, which lends itself to wonderful attention. Bill spoke with us throughout our dinner (and wonderful NewOrleans pecan cake for dessert)...we also spent time with him afterwards looking through the exceptional array of wines for sale. It will be difficult not to choose Tastings for our next dinner in Charlottesville. Thanks to Bill and his staff for making an ordinary Friday - a special evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wine lover”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Simply the best wine selection in c-ville.

There is a bottle for everyone from a simple Muscadet to a top Bordeaux.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevinJ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“My favorite wine place!!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This restaurant is located next to the down town mall with the largest selection of wines I've ever seen !! . Food and service is excellent , gourmet type food not burger king!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sporster80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tastings also viewed

Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Tastings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing