We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be back: again and again”
Review of Excel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Excel Inn & Suites
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I found this hotel on a list the University of Virginia Hospital has for family members of the patients that they give out. I was exhausted after staying over 24 hours at the Hospital both in the ER and ICU with my mother. At the hotel, they were so nice to me and the rooms were clean, comfortable, and they didn't have any "odors." Great place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koliveto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Clean, with small microwave and fridge. Free wi-fi. Good door locks. Continental breakfast was coffee machine coffee, 2% milk for 2 kinds of cereal and packaged baked goods plus juice machine juice.
I have stayed at comparably priced motels in the area and they are not as clean or seemed more dated and/or were located further away from the University and downtown area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This hotel is a good option if you are looking to stay near to the University of Virginia. The room itself seemed freshly painted, and the carpet looked thick and also quite new. Everything was clean, although the bathroom was a little old. Breakfast was nothing special, and I ate at a diner round the corner. It was about a 15 minute walk to the Rotunda of the UofVa. The hotel is very close to a railway line, although I didn't hear any train noise during the night.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitten_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

i really liked this place. the guy that greeted me at reception was very friendly and nice. the room was big and very clean. the window faced the UVA sports ground. there was a decent sized flat screen tv (you dont see that in "cheap" hotel rooms!). the location is about a 45 minute walk to downtown, but it is a very pleasant walk, and you get to walk through the uni, which is very beautiful. the breakfast though was filling - but if you're looking for a healthy breakfast, then you will be disapointed. they have little cinneman rolls and muffins full of sugar! there is a restaurant opposite the hotel. also, the number 7 bus is a 2 minute walk from the hotel, which goes downtown (cost is 70 cents). or there is a free trolley that goes downtown, which is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. all in all, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arq16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We have stayed here a few times, decided to write a review after our 3rd stay. Our daughter is a first year at UVA. We stayed here one week-end checking out the school and since on subsequent trips after she was accepted.
First off it's competitively priced for the area. It is not a fancy hotel, we don't generally need for all the whistles and bells since we aren't in the room but to sleep. What it does have is clean, comfortable rooms with a great staff. We have stayed in various rooms and have never been disappointed. During our first stay they were going through some extensive renovations and it did not interfere with our stay. Since the renovations things have only gotten better.
The location for UVA is great. A short walk to the grounds and the lawn. The "Corner" also is a short walk . We usually walk to everything we need after we have arrived unless we wish to go sightseeing. Very convenient. In fact we will be staying there yet again the week-end of 16 April. If it ain't broke, don't fix it. For us when we go to UVA it's a no brainer. We stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YnTHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

My cousin and I were in Charlottesville as visiting Duke Blue Devil fans from Cincinnati, Ohio. After checking in, (the only unpleasant point of our abbreviated stay at the Budget Inn) we spent several hours touring the campus of UVA. Later in the evening, after the basketball game at John Paul Jones Arena, (located very near-only positive of this establishment) we returned to a room that was truly over run by bugs. On the back of the front door, on the dressers, on the mirror, on the toilet, on the shower curtain. We killed most of the bugs and called the owner/manager to let him know the issue. Over the phone he was very unpleasant. In person, it got even worse, when asked to show him all of the bugs, we explained to him that we had killed them and flushed them down the toilet. This was not satisfactory to him. He raised his voice and said the problem was not in fact a problem. Even when a couple bugs crawled out to the vent in the bath room, he insisted he be given a chance to rectify the problem. Normally, I would give anyone a second chance, but when the individual in question treats me with such blatant disregard, that chance is not given. I kindly asked to check out and enquired what the process would be to receive a refund. At this point the owner/manager began yelling. He blamed us for not reporting the problem at initial check in. Truth be known, we checked in and spent only about 15 minutes in the room over the next 6 plus hours. After about 5 minutes of very disrespectul treatment, my cousin and I told him we were leaving and that I expected a refund. At that, he continued his tirade as he went to the office to get the reservation agreement. I signed a refund agreement and received the refund approximately two weeks later. As someone in the customer service business, I was appalled by this hotel as a whole and especially by the man who was supposed to be responsible for making sure that the customer's experience is enjoyable. Do not make the same mistake I did.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank marchant031877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed here for an event at the UVA Basketball arena. It was a five minute, safe walk to the arena. We could not have asked for more for the price. We don't need fancy. . .only clean, good bed and great water pressure. This had all and more. Yes, the tile in the bathroom was broken off in parts on the walls and definitely from years gone by, but for our purposes, it was perfect. The first hint was when we checked in at the office, the carpet was immaculate and you could see behind the counter that the office was incredibly organized. Yes, there is a train that runs, but if you run the A/C or heater, it drowns out the sound of the train. We cannot remember when we spent so little for so much. There is a diner across the street which met our needs for dinner and breakfast. Anyother restaurants in town probably would be a little too far for most to walk to. The parking lot was very well lighted. The breakfast room had pre packaged pastries, but the coffee was very good. Since we paid so little for the room at the hotel, we splurged and had a full breakfast at the dinner across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funhogs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#27 of 37 in Charlottesville
535 reviews
0.8 mi away
UVA Inn at Darden
UVA Inn at Darden
#15 of 37 in Charlottesville
340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#10 of 37 in Charlottesville
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 37 in Charlottesville
997 reviews
2 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#9 of 37 in Charlottesville
1,055 reviews
1.2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Inn & Suites

Address: 140 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1729 (Formerly Budget Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £36 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Excel Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the University of Virginia, we at Excel Inn & Suites (formerly Budget Inn Charlottesville) welcome you to Charlottesville and Central Virginia! Our central location is ideal walking distance to University of Virginia (Rotunda, Grounds and The Corner), JPJ (John Paul Jones) Arena, Scott Stadium, Klockner Stadium and Barracks Road Shops and Dining. A short drive will place you at Monticello, Ash Lawn, Michie Tavern, Vineyards and Historic Downtown Mall. The University of Virginia Hospital and medical facilities are a short dive distance. Our Excel Inn & Suites is a SMOKE-FREE facility offering Standard and Suite room types. Complimentary to our guests...Hot Continental Breakfast w/ Waflles, Coffee and Computer Lounge. In room amenties include LDC TV w/ cable, USB charge station, free Local & Long Distance Calls (USA & Canada), Microwave / Fridge, Iron & Iron board, Safe and Hair Dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Excel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing