We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Fancy but Good Room for the Money”
Review of Excel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Excel Inn & Suites
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here to attend a meeting at a larger, much more expensive hotel. We arrived late in the afternoon and informed the cleaning lady we would not need anything for that day since she had already cleaned the room and we were leaving soon. The next day, we returned from our session to find that clean towels had been left but no other housekeeping had been done. The third day not even any towels, as well as the fourth day. Upon checking out we spoke with the manager and he did give us a small refund saying that the maid told him we said we didn't want any service. Other than that, the place was clean and fairly quiet except there are outside entrances so a good bit of noise from the parking lot. It is quite convenient to the University. I would stay there again under the same circumstances, i.e., being away for most of the day and evening.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irsmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our way through Virginia to Maryland. It's what you would expect. It's very small. The parking is limited and spaces are small. The rooms are very dated but clean and decently comfortable. The hotel is literally right beside the railroad tracks but I knew that going in and I live near tracks so it didn't bother me. I was bothered by loud construction relatively early in the morning, but they are remodeling. Although, I wish they had warned us about that when we booked the room. We called ahead to advise of a late arrival and when we got there the young man running the desk was outside smoking and partying with what appeared to be others guests and/or possibly friends. It wasn't a bad place for a single night, but I wouldn't have stayed longer than that and I probably won't stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckalliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Bathroom was dingy, hotel is near train tracks. Breakfast was really poor--from the selection to the space where people could sit (could accomodate very few). Price was comprable to what you'd expect to pay for a Comfort Inn--but the rooms, breakfast, etc. were much shabbier than any Comfort Inn we've stayed in, and the breakfast offered at Budget Inn barely qualified as edible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and it is the best deal we found in Charlottesville. However, there was an extra charge for my daughter though no towel for her or any other extra costs for her so why? The pillows are funky. The stairs are narrow. Try for a first floor room. Breakfast is the worst i have encountered in my travels. Pastries in cellophane, two kinds of cereal, and coffee. Very basic.

Room Tip: Try for a first floor room. The stairway is narrow and hard to get up with suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a good place to stay. It is clean, affordable and convenient to the University of Virginia. I would certainly recommend staying here. We were there as my father in in ICU at the University Medical Center. So a good place to stay was a great find

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

All of Charlottesville was booked up long in advance for graduation weekend and we were lucky to find a room at this motel. Though we were aapprehensive in advance, room proved to be adequate. Small but enough room to put 2 suitcases. Good shower but almost no counter space in bathroom. Just two block walk to UVa, very convenient for graduation. Price much too high for size of room, ?? if price jacked up for this weekend. The room was good enough for our needs though I'm sure there are bigger and better in the town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I was scheduled to stay at this hotel on 4/29 but had a very last minute change of plans. I was literally calling at 3:58pm on the day of arrival, and their cancelation policy was no charge if you canceled by 4pm. I was a bit frantic and anticipated being given a hard time due to the down to the wire notice. I must say that I was incredibly impressed with the person who answered the phone. He was one of the nicest people I have encountered in a very long time, in terms of one whose job it is to deal with customers. I apologized for the situation but he didn't even question it. Took care of everything, put me at ease, and emailed me a copy of the confirmation number as I was driving and couldn't take it down. I'm not sure if I'll have reason to be in that area again, but if I do I will most certainly consider staying here. Good customer service is a dying art form.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
2  Thank TRC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
529 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
543 reviews
2 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,001 reviews
1.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Inn & Suites

Address: 140 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1729 (Formerly Budget Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £37 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Excel Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the University of Virginia, we at Excel Inn & Suites (formerly Budget Inn Charlottesville) welcome you to Charlottesville and Central Virginia! Our central location is ideal walking distance to University of Virginia (Rotunda, Grounds and The Corner), JPJ (John Paul Jones) Arena, Scott Stadium, Klockner Stadium and Barracks Road Shops and Dining. A short drive will place you at Monticello, Ash Lawn, Michie Tavern, Vineyards and Historic Downtown Mall. The University of Virginia Hospital and medical facilities are a short dive distance. Our Excel Inn & Suites is a SMOKE-FREE facility offering Standard and Suite room types. Complimentary to our guests...Hot Continental Breakfast w/ Waflles, Coffee and Computer Lounge. In room amenties include LDC TV w/ cable, USB charge station, free Local & Long Distance Calls (USA & Canada), Microwave / Fridge, Iron & Iron board, Safe and Hair Dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Excel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing