We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible sewer Odor”
Review of Excel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Excel Inn & Suites
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I checked in to this hotel, found immediately that the bathroom sink did not drain and the drain cover in the center of the floor was loose. When I returned an hour later after asking that the problems be fixed, I discovered that the drain now worked--the floor drain cover was still disconnected--but that the entire wing of the hotel reeked of wretched sewage gas. The desk clerk came to the wing and confirmed that the smell was most evident.

I asked to have my fee cancelled since I was checking out immediately. They refused to cancel my credit card transaction, offering only to find a room in another section of the hotel.

I chose not to stay any longer and would strongly urge people to avoid this stink hole.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Virginiaalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

Ugh....this room was the size of a walk in closet. It was dark and dingy and had a tv with about a 20 inch screen. I just about got to sleep after the soccer game on the lighted field ended behind the room when a freight train with about 100 cars came by (seemed like it was about 50 yards away), then I was awakened by a housekeeper who was singing outside my room early the next morning. Never again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jratigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Nothing fancy. The rooms are small, but they are clean and comfortable and the employees were friendly and helpful. The heat worked fine. The train is noticeable, but not too bad. We walked to the Afghan restaurant nearby and had a great dinner.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The 3 of us stayed March 5, 2014. The room was ice cold when we arrived. Immediately turned heat/ac unit on high heat. Left to give room time to warm. Came back 3 hrs later, room still not warm. No heat at all in bathroom. Heat unit finally got room warm. Did get a portable heater to go in bathroom. Noise from trains off and on all night plus noise from neighboring rooms sounded like bodies being slammed against the walls. Mattresses were worn out. We were there because 1 of our party had to be at hospital the next morning. I did inform reception desk at check in that we were there for that reason. We got a whole $4.00 discount. Really???? This room was $64 for 1 night and it was, by far, the most miserable night any of us have ever had in a motel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbugsgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is an older motel that has been well kept over the years and has a wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. I recently stayed with them while my wife had major surgery at the UVA Medical Center and received a special discount. Be sure and mention if you're a "hospital family". The room was always clean and it was nice to have the min-fridge and microwave. Now, if you're expecting something that will compare with the other hotels that cost 3-4 times as much, you're going to be a little disappointed (as most do that are that close to campus but for the price, this little place is hard to beat. The manager said they are planning to remodel the bathrooms this year (they did lack places to set or hang things).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mettatater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The staff there are very friendly and helpful. Considering the price, the rooms are simple and clean. The one drawback is that the property is backed up against an active freight line. The trains move slowly by at night, and you can count the number of cars by the number of clanks as the cross the joint in the tracks. Take some Z-quill with you and you'll sleep through it.

Room Tip: ask if you can have a room that doesn't back up to the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you are interested in a cheap rate compared to other Charlottesville hotels that are close to the JPJ Arena and within walking distance from UVa campus, then this is for you. But you get what you pay for. Trade price and convenience with quality. The rooms are clean, but very small and spartan. The bathroom is especially small with no shelving or vanity space for anything. The shower did not generate more than a few minutes of hot water enough for just one shower. And you will hear the train rolling by your window about twice during the night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LimitedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
1.2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
529 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
544 reviews
2 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,000 reviews
1.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Inn & Suites

Address: 140 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1729 (Formerly Budget Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £37 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Excel Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the University of Virginia, we at Excel Inn & Suites (formerly Budget Inn Charlottesville) welcome you to Charlottesville and Central Virginia! Our central location is ideal walking distance to University of Virginia (Rotunda, Grounds and The Corner), JPJ (John Paul Jones) Arena, Scott Stadium, Klockner Stadium and Barracks Road Shops and Dining. A short drive will place you at Monticello, Ash Lawn, Michie Tavern, Vineyards and Historic Downtown Mall. The University of Virginia Hospital and medical facilities are a short dive distance. Our Excel Inn & Suites is a SMOKE-FREE facility offering Standard and Suite room types. Complimentary to our guests...Hot Continental Breakfast w/ Waflles, Coffee and Computer Lounge. In room amenties include LDC TV w/ cable, USB charge station, free Local & Long Distance Calls (USA & Canada), Microwave / Fridge, Iron & Iron board, Safe and Hair Dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Excel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing