We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for parents budget visiting to UVA students”
Review of Excel Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Excel Inn & Suites
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Good option for budget visiting to UVA students as was our case. Over 4 years this was one of our favorites. The hotel is conveniently located and has very fast internet. In the scheme of budget hotels in Charlottesville, it’s probably one of the better ones.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank 4whatitsworth2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Near the corner of Emmett and University, this motel's location is its greatest attraction. Travelers who stay here are within walking distance of the UVA campus, the Corner, the downtown pedestrian mall, and the Barracks Road shopping center. The cleanliness of the rooms and friendliness of the staff seem very valuable, too. It is clearly a budget motel, probably best for those who like its location and want a simple, comfortable, inexpensive place to sleep. This was a return visit for us, and the layout of this room and bathroom (room 45), in comparison with where we stayed before, seemed unattractive and inconvenient. The room's only window faces the parking lot, so we left the curtains closed and had no natural light in the mornings. The bathroom is extremely narrow. A large person would be uncomfortable using the sink or walking to the shower. Still, overall, we like this motel, most of all for the location, staff, and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows facing away from the street and toward Carr's Hill Field are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank A_Saunterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

So, this was a last minute, just go for whatever's cheap, reservation. Got in very late, but the staff was friendly, patient, and courteous. The room was small, but very clean, neat, and the bed was comfortable. I looked out and saw a train going by and I thought, oh no, I won't get any sleep. But it was a low rumble and I didn't notice any more the rest of the night. The one downside for me was that I couldn't get the internet to work in my room, but it did work in the little business center they have. Overall, a delightful find, a real bargain for the price!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Summer10TravellingMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I checked in to this hotel, found immediately that the bathroom sink did not drain and the drain cover in the center of the floor was loose. When I returned an hour later after asking that the problems be fixed, I discovered that the drain now worked--the floor drain cover was still disconnected--but that the entire wing of the hotel reeked of wretched sewage gas. The desk clerk came to the wing and confirmed that the smell was most evident.

I asked to have my fee cancelled since I was checking out immediately. They refused to cancel my credit card transaction, offering only to find a room in another section of the hotel.

I chose not to stay any longer and would strongly urge people to avoid this stink hole.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Virginiaalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Ugh....this room was the size of a walk in closet. It was dark and dingy and had a tv with about a 20 inch screen. I just about got to sleep after the soccer game on the lighted field ended behind the room when a freight train with about 100 cars came by (seemed like it was about 50 yards away), then I was awakened by a housekeeper who was singing outside my room early the next morning. Never again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jratigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Nothing fancy. The rooms are small, but they are clean and comfortable and the employees were friendly and helpful. The heat worked fine. The train is noticeable, but not too bad. We walked to the Afghan restaurant nearby and had a great dinner.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The 3 of us stayed March 5, 2014. The room was ice cold when we arrived. Immediately turned heat/ac unit on high heat. Left to give room time to warm. Came back 3 hrs later, room still not warm. No heat at all in bathroom. Heat unit finally got room warm. Did get a portable heater to go in bathroom. Noise from trains off and on all night plus noise from neighboring rooms sounded like bodies being slammed against the walls. Mattresses were worn out. We were there because 1 of our party had to be at hospital the next morning. I did inform reception desk at check in that we were there for that reason. We got a whole $4.00 discount. Really???? This room was $64 for 1 night and it was, by far, the most miserable night any of us have ever had in a motel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbugsgrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Inn at the University of Virginia
Cavalier Inn at the University o...
#27 of 35 in Charlottesville
533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Charlottesville-UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
302 reviews
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,030 reviews
1.2 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
1.4 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Inn & Suites

Address: 140 Emmet St N, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1729 (Formerly Budget Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £36 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Excel Inn & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the University of Virginia, we at Excel Inn & Suites (formerly Budget Inn Charlottesville) welcome you to Charlottesville and Central Virginia! Our central location is ideal walking distance to University of Virginia (Rotunda, Grounds and The Corner), JPJ (John Paul Jones) Arena, Scott Stadium, Klockner Stadium and Barracks Road Shops and Dining. A short drive will place you at Monticello, Ash Lawn, Michie Tavern, Vineyards and Historic Downtown Mall. The University of Virginia Hospital and medical facilities are a short dive distance. Our Excel Inn & Suites is a SMOKE-FREE facility offering Standard and Suite room types. Complimentary to our guests...Hot Continental Breakfast w/ Waflles, Coffee and Computer Lounge. In room amenties include LDC TV w/ cable, USB charge station, free Local & Long Distance Calls (USA & Canada), Microwave / Fridge, Iron & Iron board, Safe and Hair Dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Excel Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing