We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Bliss”
Review of Clifton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Inn
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolute Bliss”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Clifton Inn is a remarkable place. They do it all for their guests. We arrived, were given a short tour of the property, offered freshly baked cookies, and then were assisted with getting our luggage to our room. The room was just lovely with white furnishings, a stone shower, and a claw tub. We enjoyed afternoon tea on the balcony of the restaurant and then walked around the grounds. We also had two wooden deck chairs just outside that we thoroughly enjoyed. The dinner was incredible and then we arrived back to a small treat on our bed...two small delicious cookies and the weather for the following day. A paper was delivered to our door in the morning and then we enjoyed another delicious meal. We were sent off with more yummy cookies as we checked out. A delightful, charming place! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaluah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    57
    31
    21
    16
See reviews for
55
206
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I spent a single night here in January 2012. It is the perfect country inn. I adored my stay and wish it could have been longer.

Upon arrival, I was upgraded to a room in the main house (#4). The room was lovely, with perfect accents, an orchid by the bed, personalized note welcoming me with fruit plate and mediera on the desk, and Ray Charles music playing on the radio.

The shower is the best shower I believe I've ever had at any inn! The bathroom was huge and really well-equipped, including dual sinks for a couple. The bed was comfortable, and the shades kept out the morning light completely.

Since you are in the main house, there is some noise that filters upstairs from the restaurant and kitchen, but this was over by the time I wanted to go to bed. However, early-to-bed types might want to consider this since dinner and clean up lasted until around 11pm or so.

The continental breakfast the next morning is just coffee, juice, and baked goods. They were good, but it is not a full breakfast.

Everyone at Clifton was gracious and polite. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I booked a one night stay through after viewing a twitter special back in December. We were celebrating a belated birthday for my husband and were just at the property for one night.

Check in was pleasant and quick, our bags were promptly brought to our room (the carriage house) and we were free to explore. We walked around the property, it is well maintained and lovely. While perusing the main house, Niall, the GM introduced himself. He suggested we grab a drink and then he would give us a tour of some of the highlights. This was a great touch and we loved the attention and information provided to us.

We met some fun couples in the parlor before dinner and everyone was incredibly pleasant. Dinner at 830 was fabulous, delicious and unique. We each chose 5 different courses and loved trying all of the special creations.

Our room was divine (loved the shower!), the staff was superior, and the overall experience was unmatched.

We will return again and again, definitely this summer so we can enjoy the pool!

Room Tip: Chosen ton stay in the main house or the carriage house, we loved the carriage house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stellatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix, maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this lovely country Inn. Our room in the Main House was large and beautifully decorated. We loved the added touch of the decanted Madeira wine. The staff at Clifton are the best! They are attentive without suffocating. With the help of the staff, we planned a lovely day touring the countryside and visiting James Monroe's home (highly recommended). Our stay included afternoon tea and a lovely continental breakfast. Plan to have dinner at the Inn. You will not be disappointed. We're already trying to fit another Clifton Inn visit into our travel plans.

Room Tip: During the winter, we love a room in the Main House
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandrajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My friend and I spent two great days and nights here in December. The staff was very accommodating and always courteous. We arrived late after lunch but were served a great lunch when we asked if we could get something to eat -- even had fresh greens just picked from the garden. The room was very clean, nice and cozy with a big comfortable bed with nice linens and pillows. Dinner at the inn was exquisite and the service was superb. Next time we come, we are going to have to stay longer and make it in warmer weather when we can really enjoy the grounds and the pool.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms in the main house looked great -- we toured them right after we arrived as most wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

For New Years weekend, my whole family (8 or us) stayed in the house that is rented out by Clifton Inn of Charlottesville. It is called Collina Farm. The house itself is down the road from the inn, but you get all of the amenities of Clifton, but have the privacy for your family. There are 4 beautiful bedrooms with each having their own nice full bath, a full country kitchen and living room with also a huge dining room. What was so much fun was that we all cooked our appetizers for New Years Eve at the house. Clifton Inn staff was very accommodating in turning on the gas fireplace for us and helped explain the wi-fi connection as well as the kitchen supplies of dishes, etc. Each morning we could go to the inn for a continental breakfast or add eggs for a charge. Also there was afternoon high tea included in the price of the house which was very delicious. The staff could not have been any nicer and we all said that this was the best place that we have all stayed together!! Just an extra note: I had left my electric toothbrush plugged in on the sink in our bathroom and when I called to report it, they immediately sent it back to me. I really appreciated their help!! What is so cool about the place is that Thomas Jefferson's son-in-law and daughter owned the property for a while and I bet Thomas visited there a few times, being so close at Monticello,which is just a few miles up the mountain!! Don't hesitate to stay at Clifton Inn or Collina Farmhouse.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thombtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The Clifton Inn is all you could hope for in the central Virginia rolling hills. The staff was extremely attentive, the room was spacious and clean and the breakfast pastries, were without a doubt, wonderful. We had dinner in the Dining room, the food was wonderful , the service was spot on and the dessert (Toffee pudding) worth the drive alone.

My one compliant, allowing children in the dining room after 700pm, the crying and screaming ruined an otherwise perfect and pristine evening.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DRCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
5.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,690 reviews
4.9 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
693 reviews
6.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
453 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
520 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Property: Clifton Inn
Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The internationally renowned Clifton Inn, named the "Best Hotel in Charlottesville," and one of USA Today''s "10 best Southern fine dining restaurants" boasts 17 stunning guest suites and five unique dining venues. Relax by the fireplace with a speciality cocktail, escape to the wine cellar for a private dining experience, or enjoy casual a la carte dining on the veranda. Situated on 100 acres of rolling hills just 7 miles east of downtown, the dramatic infinity edge pool, miles of walking trails, and lake front views make Clifton the most desired hotel, dining, and special event choice in Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing