We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its Relais & Chateaux Status”
Review of Clifton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Inn
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lives up to its Relais & Chateaux Status”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We spent three days at the Clifton Inn while enjoying the beauty of the Virginia countryside in May. We stayed in the Blue Ridge Suite, a charming, springy suite...right down to the chartreuse walls. If you're a gardener or just enjoy admiring someone else's, the Clifton's grounds are paradise. The staff is very professional and helpful without being intrusive.They are knowledgeable about the area and can make helpful recommendations about things to do, which wineries are worth your while, restaurants in town etc.The cuisine is of the highest quality and sourced locally and therefore changes seasonally.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    57
    31
    21
    16
See reviews for
55
206
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

If your budget can handle it TheClifton Inn has elegant grounds & pool and nearby vineyards Food elegantly prepared & presented. Our family stayed in a farmhouse on the grounds when we attended graduation at UVA Check it out

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strategic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Clifton Inn for the first time this past weekend, when our daughter graduated from UVA. What a great place! We were one of 4 families who hosted a dinner there. The food was excellent. The accommodations were absolutely great. A real "country retreat." The staff was very attentive to our needs.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Keswick room. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevin19881991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My husband and I spent our anniversary here and were absolutely thrilled with our experience. The service was impeccable, the food was clever and delicious, the grounds were beautifully landscaped and the quite country location was just what we were looking for. All the extra touches like complimentary champagne and a special printed menu just for us saying "Happy Anniversary" really made us feel like special, welcomed guests. This was just the romantic escape we were looking for and I highly recommend The Clifton Inn to anyone who is looking for an indulgent, unique experience. Oh, and the robes the provide in the rooms are awesome! I almost asked if I could buy one!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHubbell57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, OR
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This is a gorgeous, peaceful property with historic charm and modern amenities in a stunning rural setting. The decor, the service, the gardens, all the little things that make a great hotel are here. Yes, the floors are a bit uneven. But the furnishings are top quality and the renovations done there include a quiet HVAC system, free wi-fi, a great shower and large bathroom, comfy linens and bed. The continental breakfast and tea are beautifully presented and top-quality. The front desk personnel are helpful and professional. Bring your swimsuit - the pool is beautiful and private. The location is well-positioned to visit Monticello, Charlottesville, wineries etc. A wonderful value and definitely lives up to the expectations of a Relais & Chateaux.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are not large but are very well appointed. For $30 more per night you get a suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cawater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband and I are from Charlottesville and were married at the Clifton Inn at the end of March, 2013. The Clifton Inn was the first and only venue we looked at in person because we instantly knew we were in excellent hands. Immediately upon arriving at Clifton, we were treated with much care. The staff members are very professional and warm and have the knack of showing up exactly when you want or need something.

I would use the word “graceful” to describe the entire Clifton wedding experience.
We had our ceremony, reception, and next morning brunch with guests all at the Clifton Inn. We had what is called “exclusive use” of the entire Clifton property, which felt private and also very special.

EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE and PARTNERSHIP WITH OUR WEDDING PLANNER

Our number one goal was to ensure our guests were treated with the level of customer service that my husband and I value: that “gracious” approach, which we found in nearly every interaction we had with a Clifton staff member. Also, the Clifton Inn has a dedicated sales director, Kaitlyn, who was our wedding planner. Kaitlyn has a natural gift for envisioning both the overall event and its every last detail and contingency. From our first meeting, we really felt like Kaitlyn was a friend who had our best intentions in mind. She responded promptly every time we had a question, and she gave expert input when we asked her for advice or ideas. As a bride, my anxiety about planning was almost nil, because I knew we would be taken care of at every step. Kaitlyn is a true professional, and our guests found her very personable as well.

Getting married at the end of March in Virginia can be unpredictable in terms of planning to be inside or outside. My dream was to have an outdoor ceremony. Kaitlyn and the Clifton’s preferred vendors worked with us—up until the wedding day itself—to try to achieve that dream. The morning was overcast, but by noon or so, the clouds opened up and the sun shone. We had to do a last-minute location change to the back lawn. From there, we could see the mountains as well as a river down below that was literally sparkling. It was so beautiful.

CHARMING and LUXURIOUS ACCOMODATIONS

Another wonderful aspect that clinched Clifton as our venue is that we had exclusive use and our guests could stay in the luxurious and unique Clifton suites. We were happy to find everyone at brunch Sunday morning raving about how comfortable and elegant their stay was. Everyone was reluctant to leave on Sunday.

As the bride, I loved getting ready in the private Carriage House, where the decor and lighting complimented some gorgeous pre-wedding bridal party photos.

Clifton has a charming mix of historical beauty and the modern touches in places you’d want them (bathrooms/bedrooms/kitchens/bar and dining areas); classic, elegant, old-world charm for guests that appreciate luxurious conveniences.

We didn’t decorate at all for the wedding because the natural beauty of the grounds was enough for us.

DELICIOUS FOOD AND CAKE

Kaitlyn worked with us to plan our tasting and our meal. We opted for the family style option – we had a wedding of about 60 people, and our theme was “one big family.” People loved passing around the heaping plates of delicious food. Our 6 tables appeared to be 1 large table on the patio. Each hors d’oeuvre, entrée, beverage and the wedding cake, all prepared by Clifton, were outstanding. Everyone in Charlottesville knows the Clifton Inn by reputation as being one of the best dining options in Charlottesville. I especially recommend the scallops and lemon chicken. Our cake was almond flavored.

THE LITTLE THINGS

My husband and I snuck away for a few minutes to admire the sunset and catch our breath. Nobody noticed we had slipped out for a few minutes, but Kaitlyn caught my favorite photo of the day – just a silhouette of my husband and I holding each other and looking off into the sunset.

After our amazing, perfect wedding, my husband and I retreated to our honeymoon lodging (called the Carriage House) and found two little slices of cake waiting for us. It was perfect.

We had done a lot of the planning ourselves, and then Kaitlyn and the rest of her staff perfected those plans to make a beautiful wedding. Our family and friends are still raving about the day. As do we – we’d recommend this venue to any bride and groom. We plan to go back every year for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Carriage House for bride/groom, Collina Farm House for family or a small after party, any other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 449EmilyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My husband and I were just married at Clifton, and have nothing but positive things to say about the entire staff and grounds. Kaitlyn, the wedding coordinator, is superb. She was responsive to our multiple requests to customize the experience while keeping things within our budget. We rented the entire grounds for the weekend and the staff was extremely flexible and accommodating with our use of the property and each of our occasionally unusual requests. They even welcomed our large dog at the last minute. Each of the guests staying on-site felt that surely they must have had the best room because they were all so lovely and unique.

All of our guests raved about the food! We ate multiple meals over the course of the weekend and never felt that anything was repeated. We left several selections to the chef, and were never disappointed! When we did select specific items, they were just as delicious as when we did the tasting. The cake (chocolate with raspberry preserves) was divine and decorated *exactly* like the photo we provided the chef.

Every little need was attended to immediately--from the routine to a request for gardening shears to trim some thick-stemmed flowers we'd bought. Multiple guests commented to us that the staff was attentive but not intrusive, and that they remembered little details like what kinds of coffee each person preferred at breakfast. Last but not least, the Carriage House where I stayed with my husband was a lovely romantic retreat, perfect for staying connected to the festivities but also providing privacy.

In sum, Clifton provided everything we could have hoped for our wedding and made the day truly special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, but in particular Collina farm is great for a small after-party or a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workingforthemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
___027, Director of Sales at Clifton Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for the kind words about the exceptional service you received from the staff at Clifton during your wedding weekend. We take great pride in working with couples to plan their dream wedding and creating memories that will last a lifetime. We really enjoy being able to help couples utilize the entire property for their special occasion – with 100 acres available and multiple venue locations; there are so many creative options for Clifton weddings. We loved being able to host everything from your rehearsal dinner and wedding reception to your Sunday breakfast for your family and friends – Clifton was truly your “home-away-from-home” for the weekend! Thank you for allowing Clifton to be part of your special day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
5.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,695 reviews
4.9 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
694 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
521 reviews
1.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
454 reviews
6.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Property: Clifton Inn
Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The internationally renowned Clifton Inn, named the "Best Hotel in Charlottesville," and one of USA Today''s "10 best Southern fine dining restaurants" boasts 17 stunning guest suites and five unique dining venues. Relax by the fireplace with a speciality cocktail, escape to the wine cellar for a private dining experience, or enjoy casual a la carte dining on the veranda. Situated on 100 acres of rolling hills just 7 miles east of downtown, the dramatic infinity edge pool, miles of walking trails, and lake front views make Clifton the most desired hotel, dining, and special event choice in Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing