We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff and great location”
Review of Clifton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Inn
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Attentive staff and great location”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the Clifton Inn while visiting the Charlottesville area. The location is great as the inn is close to Monticello and a few minutes from Charlottesville. The grounds are lovely. We enjoyed the afternoon tea and ate at the restaurant for dinner one evening. The meal was excellent and the service outstanding. Since we were celebrating our anniversary, we were offered free glasses of champagne. A continental breakfast is included with the room but the inn also has extra items which can be ordered for more hearty appetites. Every staff member seemed truly interested in providing excellent service.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 613Traveler613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    57
    31
    21
    16
See reviews for
55
206
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to the Clifton Inn for a getaway weekend before the birth of our first child and I couldn't have imaged a more perfect place to spend a couple of days in complete relaxation. First of all the service was outstanding and extremely pleasant without being intrusive. They made us feel like their sole purpose was to make sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay...and that we did! We have stayed at many nice Inns and B&B's, but the incredibly attenentive staff really made this experience stand out.
Having dinner at the Clifton is an absolute must! We had heard great things about the head chef and our meals certainly did not disappoint. In fact, we both agree that this was one of the most brilliant meals we have ever had. My husband and I are quite adventurous eaters so we each ordered the 5 course tastings, each with different items so we could taste everything. Wow...words fail me in describing the perfect balance balance of tastes, textures, presentation, and service of every dish we had. Every taste was so complex and full of flavor, yet every single item had a purpose on the plate. Oh, and do not skip the dessert. We typically find that restaurants like this are so focused on the meal, that dessert is almost an afterthought. Not here. Everything from start to finish was outstanding.
As for the inn itself, we stayed in the main house and it is exceptionally charming. The house is extremely well taken care of and modernized without compromising it's original concept and construction. The grounds are just as beautiful. We spent hours relaxing on the porch and also by the pool. It is a serene and beautifully landscaped location.
The extra bonus is that it is only a 2.5 hour drive from DC. I guarantee we will be back year after year for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celadonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

First off, if you are looking for 5 star accommodations, with gym, spa, golf course, etc. you will be sorely disappointed. This is a country inn built in the 1700s, given by Thomas Jefferson to his daughter as a wedding gift. It was originally on 100 acres - now much smaller -- but the grounds are gorgeous - lush, green, expansive. It has been remodeled and retrofitted for our modern needs -- but still -- no safe in the room, no full length mirror, no elevator, etc.

All that said, we had a wonderful stay for 3 days - the last leg of our trip before flying home to the west coast -- we had been wanting to see Monticello for a long time, and Clifton Inn is about 10 minutes away. The public rooms are beautiful -- "architectural digest" perfect and the food is excellent -- small plates -- you can have dinner in the beautiful and intimate restaurant, or on the veranda or patio, both of which overlook the gorgeous grounds. A tea time is offered every day with coffee/tea/ sweets - as is complimentary breakfast - both included in the price of the room. The staff is great -- will go out of their way to help with anything you need.

Our room was lovely - we stayed in room 4, the Martha Jefferson room. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean, bright and sunny, fantastic shower -- the best I've experienced anywhere - and again, it overlooked the beautiful grounds.

This is a wonderful getaway for a romantic weekend -- and I understand that it is a great wedding place as well. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWLYRETIRED100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We visited the Clifton Inn in May 2013.

From the moment we drove into the peaceful grounds on a broiling Virginia day, we knew we would be able to relax at the Clifton Inn.

The attentive staff, who had already been very helpful in booking restaurant reservations for us, were a joy throughout the stay, Anne and Matthew in particular.

We had a lovely room, the Martha Washington room, which was decorated in a soothing mix of cream and pink with a huge bed, comfortable linens and a small seating area with a comfy sofa. The bathroom was huge, although it didn’t have a bathtub, which was a slight disappointment as I enjoy a deep bath, but the shower was more powerful than Niagara falls!

We enjoyed afternoon tea every afternoon and lazing around by the swimming pool.

One of the things I was most impressed with was that when the detergent used to wash the towels brought on a skin allergy (I have skin sensitive to certain detergents), the staff went to great lengths to ensure that for the rest of the stay our room towels washed in cold water only, which must have been a difficulty to the housekeeping staff and I appreciated it very much.

We ate at the Clifton Inn restaurant on one of our nights. On the plus side, the menu was creative and everything on it was beautifully cooked. On the minus side, I prefer my meals simple and the plethora of courses and the very avant garde nature of the flavours was not quite to my taste. Any kind of foodie however would be in heaven. They also have an excellent wine list and waitresses who are very knowledgeable about its contents.

My only niggle was that I found breakfasts a little hit and miss – whilst I enjoyed having amuse bouche at breakfast, I would have preferred if they had concentrated on smaller things, like poached eggs where the yolks were still soft.

Breakfast and afternoon tea is covered as part of a 15% service charge paid at the end of your stay and they also have a no-tipping policy because of this, which is useful for Brits fumbling to get the US tipping culture right!

The Inn is close to Monticello, Ash Lawn Highland and Montpelier and several excellent vineyards. I would reccommend the Barboursville vineyard - have a tasting lunch there and then do a tasting. Yummy!

All in all it’s a beautiful building in beautiful grounds, a real haven of elegance and bliss. Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: If you want privacy away from the main house, they have pretty guest cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We spent three days at the Clifton Inn while enjoying the beauty of the Virginia countryside in May. We stayed in the Blue Ridge Suite, a charming, springy suite...right down to the chartreuse walls. If you're a gardener or just enjoy admiring someone else's, the Clifton's grounds are paradise. The staff is very professional and helpful without being intrusive.They are knowledgeable about the area and can make helpful recommendations about things to do, which wineries are worth your while, restaurants in town etc.The cuisine is of the highest quality and sourced locally and therefore changes seasonally.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

If your budget can handle it TheClifton Inn has elegant grounds & pool and nearby vineyards Food elegantly prepared & presented. Our family stayed in a farmhouse on the grounds when we attended graduation at UVA Check it out

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strategic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Clifton Inn for the first time this past weekend, when our daughter graduated from UVA. What a great place! We were one of 4 families who hosted a dinner there. The food was excellent. The accommodations were absolutely great. A real "country retreat." The staff was very attentive to our needs.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Keswick room. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevin19881991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
5.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,690 reviews
4.9 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
693 reviews
6.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
453 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#15 of 35 in Charlottesville
520 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Property: Clifton Inn
Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The internationally renowned Clifton Inn, named the "Best Hotel in Charlottesville," and one of USA Today''s "10 best Southern fine dining restaurants" boasts 17 stunning guest suites and five unique dining venues. Relax by the fireplace with a speciality cocktail, escape to the wine cellar for a private dining experience, or enjoy casual a la carte dining on the veranda. Situated on 100 acres of rolling hills just 7 miles east of downtown, the dramatic infinity edge pool, miles of walking trails, and lake front views make Clifton the most desired hotel, dining, and special event choice in Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing