We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Clifton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clifton Inn
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked a King room online thru Expedia for our anniversary. Upon arriving we were told there were no king rooms at the inn. We were shown to our room which was above the restaurants kitchen. We declined the room and were given the option of staying at a room in the farmhouse. The room had not been cleaned. We asked for a full refund and went to the Boar's Head

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hokiedad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
___027, General Manager at Clifton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Hokiedad,

Thank you for submitting a review on the Clifton regarding your reservation via Expedia. Unfortunately Expedia did not inform us that you wished to have a King bed, and when you arrived we simply did not have any.

Its a genuine shame that we were not able to accommodate you and that you had to go to another hotel. I honestly would not wish that on anyone on a memorable occassion like their anniversary.

All the best,

Niall Reid
General manager
The Clifton Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Clifton Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was not interested in staying here because I’m a Marriott platinum member for life. We were invited for a wedding in Charlottesville and my wife insisted we stay at the Clifton Inn. The price was bit daunting at $600 for two nights but overall, I’m glad we stayed here.

Highlights… the staff, tea service and pool area. Anything we asked for was responded to quickly and pleasantly. Very courteous staff indeed. Tea was very nice and brought directly to our room. Included yummy cakes and fruit. All arranged beautifully. The pool area is spectacular with a great pool (not heated, but refreshing) and hot tub. Far superior to a Marriott offering in a secluded cove not far from the main building. The rooms are not my taste (I like hotel modern) but they are very large and well furnished in an antique style. The king bed was very comfy. Also loved the spray heads in the shower as well.

So I was impressed even though I hate paying that much to stay anywhere… a suggestion.. the breakfast was on the meager side with coffee/muffins and juice. I think at these prices, they could add some oatmeal or eggs to the service. Additional breakfast items like pancakes and eggs are available but at $15 a pop. Thought that was a bit of a reach. Seems to me that they could provide all that and add a few bucks to the price.. who would notice? If you are looking for a wonderful stay and don’t mind paying for it, this is a very good choice. (also note to add the service charge to the quoted rates).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alfnot1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We just returned from a short visit, this is the place to stay at if you are just in the neighborhood or visiting Monticello as we did, a short drive away. Our room was updated to the Honeymoon Cottage and we couldn't believe how elegant and lovely it was, housed in a separate building, just a short walk to the dining room. The amenities, after dinner drinks, chocolates, late afternoon teas all are part of the lovely, warm staff who couldn't be more inviting or friendly. The outdoor pool and spa is gorgeous. Don't miss staying here and ask for this room if traveling as a couple. The dinner was absolutely delicious--thoughtfully and beautifully prepared and served.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Cottage is great, quiet, secluded, but very close to the dining room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had our daughter's wedding at Clifton this past weekend. Spectacular doesn't do Clifton justice. The staff is the highest caliber, the grounds are absolutely gorgeous and the rooms are charming and then some. We stayed in the suite on the right side of the inn with its own patio overlooking the infinity pool. Very quiet, peaceful and beautifully furnished. I can't thank the staff enough for their talents, grace and charm under pressure as they rearranged an outside wedding to under cover in a matter of 2 hours when storms threatened to wash out the ceremony. I have been coming to Clifton for 20 years and the recent remodel and affiliation with relaix e chateau has improved what was already one of Virginia's best country inns. Stay there, you won't be disappointed in any way. PS the food is extraordinary.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank capitollobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We recently stayed at Clifton Inn in the Collina Farm house and had a wonderful time. We were welcomed by numerous staff members and could feel the hospitality throughout our stay. We were given some very useful information about activities in the area and integrated those into our plans. For example, if you go to Montpelier during your stay, you must plan a picnic and stop at Stonefire Kitchen in Barboursville on the way where you can get amazing gourmet sandwiches.

The farmhouse is more casual than the main inn, but served our needs perfectly. We had full use of the kitchen where they had coffee and tea available and a lovely living room and dining room.

One note, it is best to drive over to the main inn for breakfast. The farm house is close, but it's a bit of a rustic "hike" through the woods to get there. If you are prepared, however, it only takes about 10-15 minutes.

Although we didn't have dinner there, we enjoyed some very creative cocktails concocted by the bartender and sampled some unique bar snacks prepared by the chef on their lovely covered porch.

We would highly recommend the Clifton Inn. We felt the value for our accommodations was very high and appreciated all of the amenities offered.

Room Tip: We were in the Hydrangea Room on the first floor of the Farm House which was nice and convenient. H...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John and Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Often chefs struggle to put together something for vegetarians. Not at Clifton where our party feasted on the Vegetarian Tasting Menu. Every course was bursting with the freshness of seasonal produce prepared in a mouthwatering array of selections. The snack tidbits included shiso wrapped celery root and nectarine, fresh zucchini lightly seasoned with brown butter and a spectacular sprouted lentil dish topped with tiny pickled radish pods.... and that was just the snacks! The courses kept on coming: chilled corn soup, smoked carrots and shitakes, cheese consommé with flageolet beans, slow cooked farm eggs over caramelized okra, tomatoes and corn and my personal favorite, cantaloupe bruleed with smoked paprika, fresh fennel and puffed sorghum that mirrored popcorn! The desserts included grilled peaches with fresh corn ice cream, summer berries in sabayon and brown butter caramel and their usual local Virginia cheeses with homemade crackers. Courses were just the right size to tantalize and not overfill. The service was impeccable and the pace and the atmosphere on a lovely summer evening was perfect. to top it all off along with the bill came a lovely box of sweets to take home....of course they barely made it to the car.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband and I just returned from the lovely and accommodating Clifton Inn. We spent three nights in the Cismont Suite the suite was beautifully decorated and comfortable, with many amenities. The Inn and the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The staff was extremely gracious and accommodating and the food was superb. If you go, you must eat dinner there at least one night.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mag4015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
4.9 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
713 reviews
1.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
466 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
530 reviews
5.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,772 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £168 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The internationally renowned Clifton Inn, named the "Best Hotel in Charlottesville," and one of USA Today''s "10 best Southern fine dining restaurants" boasts 17 stunning guest suites and five unique dining venues. Relax by the fireplace with a speciality cocktail, escape to the wine cellar for a private dining experience, or enjoy casual a la carte dining on the veranda. Situated on 100 acres of rolling hills just 7 miles east of downtown, the dramatic infinity edge pool, miles of walking trails, and lake front views make Clifton the most desired hotel, dining, and special event choice in Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing