We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity”
Review of Clifton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Inn
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I came here with one of my best girlfriends to indulge in a much needed getaway. As soon as I arrived on the property my mind was cleared of any stress I had back in the real world. The beauty and serenity at the Clifton Inn quickly washed all of it away. We stayed in the cottages by the lake that historically were considered the pig stalls. They were charming, sweetly decortated yet still modern. The Clifton Inn staff were incredibly friendly and accomodating. The owner, desk manager, waiters, all make sure to take part in your experience and get to know you. The food was wonderful and special as well. The dinner menu was unique and reflected the culture of the Charlottesville area. I would recommend this hotel to any and all. Expect to slow down, breathe and appreciate all that is around you.

Room Tip: All food is served in the main house, but they will bring you coffee directly to your room. The tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    57
    31
    22
    16
See reviews for
55
206
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were recently married at the Clifton Inn, and we couldn't imagine having our celebration anywhere else. Having lived in Charlottesville for six years before moving away recently, we knew we wanted to tour Clifton to see what we could figure out. I attended a wedding there nearly five years ago and have never forgotten how delicious the food was, how gorgeous the grounds are, and how comfortable the scale is.

The warmth showed to us by the staff, in particular the unflappable and ever smiling wedding planner Kaitlyn Hoy, echoed that of family which greatly enhanced the weekend. She was a pleasure to work with, guiding us through the planning process but also always listening to what we wanted our day to be. Kaitlyn was incredibly responsive and made planning a wedding from afar a total breeze. She even had our favorite gelato waiting for us in our room at the night's end. I will certainly recommend her and the Clifton to any bride considering Charlottesville for their wedding.

All of our guests were well taken care of and provided great service for arranging their activities in Charlottesville. The rooms were immaculate and I think all of our family and friends staying on site will certainly remember and return to Clifton.

A special note about the chef and the kitchen. The food was the big draw for us. It's farm to table perfection. Everything was fresh, healthy, and completely enjoyed. We had family style dinner and it really did serve its purpose--getting people to talk and share throughout. And, to boot, they made an out-of-this-world gluten free cake that tricked everyone. Having celiacs makes weddings hard for me but they translated the challenge into an unforgettable meal where no one left unsatisfied.

All to say, the Clifton was our perfect venue from start to finish.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in room 3 so we can only speak to that room. We have killed more than 2 dozen bugs in two days! The manager told us not to kill them but flush them live. Really! The mattress was very uncomfortable and squeaky. When you shifted sides, the bed squeezed so loud that we both woke up. Furnishings are shabby. They added a $36 service fee that was never disclosed prior to check out. Breakfast was a contential breakfast with anything more quite expensive. We have stayed at other Relais Chateaux properties and they were wonderful. How this property got in their group is a mystery to us. The location is very good. The staff was very nice. The restaurant was very gourmet and unusual. If you like pork bellies, veal sweetbreads, or tofu, this is your place.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room number 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
___027, General Manager at Clifton Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We appreciate the positive comments on great staff, a very good location and a very gourmet restaurant.

In regards to bugs, if you live in Virginia, the chances are that you are all too familiar with the onslaught of the aptly named “Stink Bug.” It is well known fact that they have nothing to do with cleanliness.

Apparently, these were introduced to reduce the population of Lady Bugs. Again a completely harmless creature but much prettier that drove us nuts in the past as they swarmed on sunny days, especially in the Fall. We would rather that they returned.

We use no poisons or pesticides to deter these dinosaur looking Stink Bugs. When their cycle is complete, thankfully they will disappear. Being an historic mansion dating from the 1700’s located in hundreds of acres of woodlands we are very vulnerable to these harmless bugs.

In regards to the furniture, which are antiques, we happily admit that they have nicks and chips to them – antiques tend to have that, we refer to that as gracefully aging, like wrinkles. We call it “shabby chic” here and much prefer them to the repro furniture that one can purchase

Kind regards,

Niall Reid
General Manager
Clifton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauppauge, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Clifton is a wonderful property with a lot of charm. They upgraded our room to the Carriage House (best suite on the property) because it was my wife's 50th birthday - that was a very nice surprise.The Inn has a lot of nice touches and amenities including complimentary local Madeira in the room. The staff was great and provided excellent service during our stay. It was a wonderful stay with one exception - Stink Bugs. The whole area has these bugs everywhere, and the worst part is that they were in the room. We must have killed 50-100 of these over 2 days throughout the suite. Because the building is quite old there are lots of places where the bugs can get inside. There does not seem like a lot can be done about it -and not sure if it is a seasonal thing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House which is a private building adjacent to the main house. Wonderful su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomBHauppauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had one night here on a day trip from DC. We would loved to have stayed longer as we didn't get much chance to explore the grounds (including a lake) or the pool/spa. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and shown to our room which was in a three cabin building near the main house (originally owned by James Madisen). The rooms were a little rustic in a shaker style. There was plenty of room, the bed was very comfortable and the linens were lovely. The living area had an open fire (not that we needed that but it would be lovely in winter). There was complimentary fruit, water and Madeira wine. We ate in the restaurant from a taster style menu with about 6 different courses in varying sizes from small appetisers to cheese. It was a little pricey but I really enjoyed every course that I had. I think my husband was a little disappointed with his main course but everything else was lovely. Extensive wine list. The staff were all excellent. Friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Our wifi didn't seem to connect but we were offered a reduction in our bill which if thought was very good customer service. Excellent customer facing. Only the continental breakfast if complimentary in the morning but they do have cooked fare for additional cost. We didn't need that so stuck to the continental

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sazzer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We booked a King room online thru Expedia for our anniversary. Upon arriving we were told there were no king rooms at the inn. We were shown to our room which was above the restaurants kitchen. We declined the room and were given the option of staying at a room in the farmhouse. The room had not been cleaned. We asked for a full refund and went to the Boar's Head

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hokiedad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
___027, General Manager at Clifton Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Hokiedad,

Thank you for submitting a review on the Clifton regarding your reservation via Expedia. Unfortunately Expedia did not inform us that you wished to have a King bed, and when you arrived we simply did not have any.

Its a genuine shame that we were not able to accommodate you and that you had to go to another hotel. I honestly would not wish that on anyone on a memorable occassion like their anniversary.

All the best,

Niall Reid
General manager
The Clifton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was not interested in staying here because I’m a Marriott platinum member for life. We were invited for a wedding in Charlottesville and my wife insisted we stay at the Clifton Inn. The price was bit daunting at $600 for two nights but overall, I’m glad we stayed here.

Highlights… the staff, tea service and pool area. Anything we asked for was responded to quickly and pleasantly. Very courteous staff indeed. Tea was very nice and brought directly to our room. Included yummy cakes and fruit. All arranged beautifully. The pool area is spectacular with a great pool (not heated, but refreshing) and hot tub. Far superior to a Marriott offering in a secluded cove not far from the main building. The rooms are not my taste (I like hotel modern) but they are very large and well furnished in an antique style. The king bed was very comfy. Also loved the spray heads in the shower as well.

So I was impressed even though I hate paying that much to stay anywhere… a suggestion.. the breakfast was on the meager side with coffee/muffins and juice. I think at these prices, they could add some oatmeal or eggs to the service. Additional breakfast items like pancakes and eggs are available but at $15 a pop. Thought that was a bit of a reach. Seems to me that they could provide all that and add a few bucks to the price.. who would notice? If you are looking for a wonderful stay and don’t mind paying for it, this is a very good choice. (also note to add the service charge to the quoted rates).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alfnot1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
5.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,716 reviews
4.9 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
704 reviews
1.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
912 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#16 of 35 in Charlottesville
525 reviews
6.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Property: Clifton Inn
Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The internationally renowned Clifton Inn, named the "Best Hotel in Charlottesville," and one of USA Today''s "10 best Southern fine dining restaurants" boasts 17 stunning guest suites and five unique dining venues. Relax by the fireplace with a speciality cocktail, escape to the wine cellar for a private dining experience, or enjoy casual a la carte dining on the veranda. Situated on 100 acres of rolling hills just 7 miles east of downtown, the dramatic infinity edge pool, miles of walking trails, and lake front views make Clifton the most desired hotel, dining, and special event choice in Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing