We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clifton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clifton Inn
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“A Lovely Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Instead of going out and fighting crowds for Valentine's dinner, we opted for a peaceful breakfast at the Clifton. We did not stay overnight, nevertheless were kindly welcomed by the staff the moment we entered. All around it was a delightful experience. The fire was lit (and we got to sit right next to it), the server (Luda) was very pleasant and efficient, and the food was perfect. I did not expect the basket of mini croissants and cinnamon rolls, nor the small dish of yogurt with fresh fruit that preceded our entrees -- both were excellent. Our entrees were beautifully presented and very tasty as well. Even the honey and lemon accompanying my tea came in a perfect little dish. Another surprise was the concierge graciously coming to our table with a local map to see if he could assist with our plans for the day. Without hesitation we would return. What a nice way to start the day!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MonaC2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    54
    28
    21
    16
See reviews for
53
201
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I travel often and am always looking for charming, unique properties. Clifton Inn definitely ranks as one of my all-time favorites. The property feels so historic and southern. The pool, tennis courts and grounds are just lovely. Customer service was impeccable. We had a large room with enough space for a pack-n-play and a pull-out couch for my other daughter. The leisurely breakfast served on the veranda was a perfect send-off. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank erin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

In the past we stayed at keswick hall, when we called for reservations they said they had know rooms. We booked the clifton hall, so glad we did. Had a great time. Service was excellent, room was good and the food was excellent. Dinner was one the finest we had in a long time. We will be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WashingtonDC
Level Contributor
792 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Clifton Inn for one night while we were in Charlottesville, and we had a very lovely stay in a historic little inn.

I will say that my experience at The Clifton Inn is somewhat colored by the fact that we were upgraded to one of the nicest rooms. We stayed in the Martha Jefferson room in the main house, and being so close to the restaurant and bar was a much better experience than staying in one of the outline cottages. Or else, I can imagine so.

The room itself was very nice. There was a large sitting area and a large closet. We had a lot of hanging clothes, so that was very convenient. The bathroom definitely was nice: there was a strong rainfall shower as well as his and hers sinks, which is relatively rare in these historic properties.

One issue I didn't like about the room where that the television was very small and awkwardly placed in the room. If you're watching television from the bed, because the furniture in the sitting area is in its line of sight, so we ultimately had to change around the furniture of the room. Also, there are some housekeeping issues, because there were long women's hairs literally everywhere in this room, from the bed to the bathroom. I realize that happens sometimes, but we found a few. The bedside table next to me but also rather dirty, so it leads me to believe it is a housekeeping issue as supposed to just one isolated issue.

My partner and I enjoy the Relais & Chateaux association of hotels, and that is the main reason we stayed at The Clifton Inn. The teatime was very quaint, the little bit cramped in the study. I can imagine going here during the summer and having the tea out by the porch would make for a much more enjoyable experience when it wasn't so cold.

I didn't really enjoy the breakfast. They offer you a very measly "continental breakfast," but it's basically just bread and orange juice. They have five or six choices for breakfast you pay for, but none of them are inspired or something I could get out Waffle House, to be frank. And even when we did order breakfast options, they were very spartan and unadorned. I think breakfast was the weakest point of staying at The Clifton Inn.

Regardless of the issues, we had a very nice time at The Clifton Inn, and would not be opposed to staying there again. The price point is very low considering the service and property, so that is definitely a strong reason to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

What a wonderful find among many great wineries, excellent sightseeing and beautiful countryside. Niall and the other staff were so attentive and made our stay outstanding.
Afternoon tea delightful and can see why residents in the area come for dinner at the Clifton. The chef offers many great choices of delicious food.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cozy farmhouse. Would be an excellent gathering place for families wanting to enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I never write reviews. This makes me feel guilty, because I rely on them often. But the Clifton is special and I will try to right my many wrongs by doing it some justice here (I will likely fall short; the place is just outstanding). My wife and I fell in love there, got engaged there, and count it as our most favorite place in the commonwealth. It's a beautiful place. The property is just right: the roaring Rivanna River, a placid private lake, rolling hills, tremendous Birch trees (lit just right at night), a truly special pool (the view), and genuine history in every direction. But it has something more than all this, too. The staff is awesome -- smart, funny, patient (we have been going for five + years and brought our one year old along last time). The house and the secondary buildings - our favorites - exude character and comfort. The food is tremendous. It's 10 pm right now and I just started thinking about the Clifton breakfast and became incredibly hungry. And eating said breakfast on the back veranda, with the best of views, makes one feel like time just needs to stop fast and let you hold on a little bit longer... before going off on an all day Charlottesville adventure and then returning for a drink at the bar, meal set next to the Chef's station and a final stroll through the grounds. We always meet interesting people at the Clifton. The conversation tends to be as clever as the grounds. The only hesitation I had in writing this review is that it may limit availability on our next escape to one of the very finest countryside properties.

Room Tip: Try a few; they're all unique and wonderful. We love the livery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a beautiful place, but what really makes the experience is the staff. From helping plan hikes, to advising you on about a working cheese farm, to where to find the best Chardonnay, the staff went above and beyond. Thank you especially to Ann and Nile for making this a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ask questions about the rooms- some are off the parking lot or kitchen. Front of the house was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnlabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
5.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
6.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
5.8 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
6.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Property: Clifton Inn
Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The internationally renowned Clifton Inn, named the "Best Hotel in Charlottesville," and one of USA Today''s "10 best Southern fine dining restaurants" boasts 17 stunning guest suites and five unique dining venues. Relax by the fireplace with a speciality cocktail, escape to the wine cellar for a private dining experience, or enjoy casual a la carte dining on the veranda. Situated on 100 acres of rolling hills just 7 miles east of downtown, the dramatic infinity edge pool, miles of walking trails, and lake front views make Clifton the most desired hotel, dining, and special event choice in Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing