We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Expectations”
Review of Clifton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clifton Inn
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond Expectations”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had an excellent time at the Clifton Inn. We went for two nights and were unexpectedly upgraded into the luxurious Monticello suite. The first night we enjoyed a delicious 4-course meal, including a great scallops, and a very good duck confit. We were constantly overwhelmed by the friendly and professional service. At dinner, my wife ordered a drink, which she thought was too sweet, and without her even saying anything, the waitress noticed and asked the bartender to make her another one. The manager and staff were very knowledgeable about nearby wineries and restaurants to visit. This was one of the best places we have stayed in, not only in the Charlottesville area, but in greater DC. We have recommended it to our friends and will hope to go back soon!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    55
    29
    21
    16
See reviews for
54
204
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Honeymoon Sweet at the Clifton for our honeymoon. We really enjoyed our stay: the room and grounds were beautiful and the food at the inn was excellent.

The standout here was definitely the service, which was top notch. We felt so welcome as guests of the inn and the restaurant.

Everything we've come to expect from Relais and Chateaux.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I did a lot of research before choosing this inn for a weekend getaway with my son. This Inn is part of a boutique resort group, and you could definitely feel that "boutique" ambience upon walking in the door. The inn itself is truly beautiful, with lovely furniture, interior design, historical elements and pleasurable additions including hand-written welcome notes, a croquet yard and a tea room. I can definitely see hosting a wedding here. I was surprised however, when I arrived, that the room I had booked was not available any more. I had had a specific conversation with the front desk when I made the reservation and he agreed that the room I chose was a special one. I think the people who had been staying there might have extended their visit. I wouldn't have minded the unexpected switch if an incentive or at least apologetic explanation was given. Instead, we got a different room without much discussion, and that room was not quite as desirable. The room had a quaint sitting room and antique furniture (including a piano), which was neat, but that abrupt change in the beginning set a different tone for our stay.

The inn was very quiet, and since my son is also quiet, it wasn't a problem, but the inn isn't exactly child-friendly, with small stairways and thin walls (obviously since it's a historic home!) The pool area was still closed for the season but looked like it would be gorgeous in the summer. The breakfast was very light (pastry and coffee) unless we wanted to pay for the very expensive a la carte menu, and there was an interesting modern bar in the home as well. The inn is not exactly easy to find, and I missed the turn the first time. It is relatively near area attractions. I liked the inn overall with its historic charm and small, thoughtful gestures, but with all the competition in the area accommodations, I think I would choose a different place to stay upon returning to the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolTCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Beautiful old house and incredible service. This historic inn was once part of Thomas Jefferson's estate and it is very close to Monticello and University of Virginia. Great restaurant and the overall service was the best.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A beautiful property with terrific vistas that a friend of ours discovered, with good accessability to Charlottesville & local sites. We decided to stay a couple of nights in early March while visiting Charlottesville for a show. The weather took a terrible turn for the worse with lots of ice & snow, and as they had a couple of rooms still available in the main house, they chose to upgrade us to larger suites inside the main building for proximity and convenience. I was very impressed with the staff, service & food, and my friends and I are already planning a trip back this summer so we can play some croquet & bocce, & splash around in the lake & outdoor pool & jacuzzi!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night while visiting U Virginia. Very comfortable and elegant. So many lovely small touches. Boxed cookies on bed in evening and when leaving, complimentary homegrown wine in room and a personal welcome note. Clifton is large enough to make it feel like a boutique hotel, yet has all the lovely style of a gracious southern home.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sherman220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellysford, VA
Level Contributor
424 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Beautiful B & B makes you feel like you are stepping back in times. Within easy drive of vineyards, historic sites, and Charlottesville, it boasts an extremely friendly and attentive staff. There were some small bones in my husband's trout, but otherwise it was a lovely place to relax and enjoy the ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefGeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlottesville
5.0 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
6.3 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Keswick Hall
Keswick Hall
#1 of 1 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
5.8 mi away
Graduate Charlottesville
Graduate Charlottesville
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
6.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Inn

Property: Clifton Inn
Address: 1296 Clifton Inn Dr, Charlottesville, VA 22911-3627
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#9 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clifton Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The internationally renowned Clifton Inn, named the "Best Hotel in Charlottesville," and one of USA Today''s "10 best Southern fine dining restaurants" boasts 17 stunning guest suites and five unique dining venues. Relax by the fireplace with a speciality cocktail, escape to the wine cellar for a private dining experience, or enjoy casual a la carte dining on the veranda. Situated on 100 acres of rolling hills just 7 miles east of downtown, the dramatic infinity edge pool, miles of walking trails, and lake front views make Clifton the most desired hotel, dining, and special event choice in Charlottesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Clifton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Charlottesville
Country Inn Charlottesville
Charlottesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing