We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B for a Romantic Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Foxfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foxfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B for a Romantic Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at Foxfield Inn during the Christmas/New Year holiday season. We chose this B&B after looking at way too many pictures of B&Bs that were much too floral/kitschy for our taste. Foxfield is tastefully decorated and as mid-30-somethings we didn't feel out of place as we have at other B&Bs. Dan and Kathryn are the perfect hosts - easy to talk to and happy to offer recommendations but not intrusive. The inn is about a 10-minute drive to downtown Charlottesville, which we found was close enough that it was easy to get downtown for shopping, restaurants, etc.

The breakfast was absolutely amazing - three courses each morning using primarily local food. Finally, the room was immaculately clean and they even left us a card for our anniversary. I recommend it without reservation to anyone looking for a wonderful romantic getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulip2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
395
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Foxfield Inn for the weekend (before the Holiday season hits us!). This is the first time we ever stayed at a B&B. I wasn't sure what to expect. I must say, from now on, we will consider B&Bs first. The place is immaculate. The lounge area, guest pantry and breakfast area were very nicely decorated for the holidays. Evening wine and hors d'oeuvre were delicious. Breakfast for both days was super nice as well. Guest pantry was always well stocked - coffee, water, cookies! The room was super clean and every small thing was taken care of. Jacuzzi in Hunt room is great.

Best part of the stay - how nice and gracious Dan and Kathryn are. On Saturday night I wasn't feeling like going out (rainy and cold) and so asked Dan if there was any delivery option. He said no one delivers in the area and as I went back to our room, few minutes later there was a knock. Dan said Kathryn offered to bake us a Digiorno pizza. This level of service is unheard of! We were surprisingly shocked!

The place is super quiet and romantic. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Hunt Room - very nice, roomy and Jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmarDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxfieldinn, Owner at Foxfield Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
We are very happy that this couple enjoyed their stay with us. First time B&B stayers are always a bit uncertain on what to expect and we are glad that we exceeded their expectations. We hope to see them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Foxfield Inn was a great spot for a getaway with my wife. Dan and Kathryn greeted us upon arrival. There was a fire going in the main room, with wine and hors d'oeuvres set out. Waiting in our room was the beautiful seasonal bouquet of flowers I'd ordered, along with a plate of chocolate covered strawberries (delicious). The bedsheets were without a doubt the most comfortable we've ever slept in. The next morning, enjoyed conversation with other guests around the breakfast table -- my favorite meal was the second day's menu. Potato frittata, hickory smoked bacon, tomatoes, and for desert, a scrumptious mini pecan pie. Albemarle County area provides plenty of enjoyable diversions. It's beautiful country, including the mountains visible over the treeline from the window of our room in the inn. We toured Monticello and UVA's "Academical Village" (UNESCO World Heritage site), and also strolled the pedestrian walkway in downtown Charlottesville. Foxfield Inn is a nice spot for a restful retreat, and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our first experience at Foxfield Inn, and it hit the nail on the head! Immaculate, well organized (guest's special kitchen area for after hours loaded with tons of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, water, soda and yummy homemade cookies!), special happy hour of delicious hors'doerves and local wines, tons of movies and ample info of places to visit and explore. Oh and did I forget, the breakfast spread was delicious. I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended this lovely place to friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0lfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Inn was great, and the hospitality even better. Kathryn has ruined breakfast for me - I'll never be able to compete with her creations! I would highly recommend the Foxfield to anyone looking to stay in the Charlottesville area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Foxfield Is a lovely inn with delightful hosts and a terrific breakfast. Chocolate chip cookies were good, too! After a long day of driving, the jacuzzi tub was a welcome luxury. You couldn't ask for a more satisfying place to rest your head.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The inn is beautiful. The customer service was exceptional and the attention to detail was unmatched by anywhere we have ever stayed. You will love this experience!!!

I can't tell you how impressed we were with the amount of detail that was put into the inn, the rooms, and of course the amazing breakfast. It was my girlfriends birthday and in our room was a birthday card. Little touches like that are abound at foxfield inn. I Will be back and you will too

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenpat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
6.7 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
11.4 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
6.8 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxfield Inn

Property: Foxfield Inn
Address: 2280 Garth Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-5414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Foxfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Foxfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxfield Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing