We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a special stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Foxfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foxfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“What a special stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the Foxfield Inn and all I can say that it was amazing. The room was beautiful, the breakfasts that Kathryn made were divine. We got to know the other guests at breakfast and the wonderful cocktail hour which was left for us from 4pm-7pm. You cannot compare any regular chain hotel to this kind of a place. My fiancé couldn't get enough of the homemade cookies either! We will be back and looking forward to it. Dan and Kathryn are wonderful!
L&D

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxfieldinn, Owner at Foxfield Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for the kind words about your stay with us. It was great helping you celebrate your engagement. The laughter and talk around the table and in the Gathering Room was quite infectious while you were here.

All the best!
Dan & Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
395
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We checked our troubles at the door and let the soothing setting and wonderful hosts lift our cares for a couple of nights. Every detail was perfect - the bed was comfy, the house was impeccably clean, the breakfast was stellar. We especially loved the ice cream dessert for breakfast on Friday morning. The outdoor hot tub was also a special treat on Saturday morning after breakfast. Dan and Kathryn were very attentive, and the other guests contributed to an interesting conversation over breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxfieldinn, Owner at Foxfield Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for the review of your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here - including when you fed our goldfish in the small pond outside the breakfast room. Hope you had a safe trip home and that we see you again. - Dan & Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I (and another couple) recently spent three nights at Foxfield Inn. We stayed in the Hunt Room which was very private and roomy with a great bathroom (loved the 2 person jacuzzi). This is a beautiful B & B, and Dan and Kathryn are the ultimate host and hostess. The grounds are very pretty, and we enjoyed the outdoor hot tub. Kathryn's 3 course breakfasts are delicious and beautifully presented. Homemade muffins accompanied each first course, the second course was always unusual and delicious, and the sweet third course (Lemon Chiffon Mousse was my favorite) was the perfect way to complete the meal. There were homemade cookies every afternoon along with complimentary fruit, water and soft drinks. This B & B could not be more delightful. If you are looking for a beautiful place to relax that is close to Charlottesville, Foxfield Inn is the place for you.

Room Tip: Hunt Room was very nice and very private with a short private hallway that leads to the bedroom. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhe738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at this lovely B&B over the weekend in the Audobon Room. The little things that we noticed, impressed us the most.....Black "make-up" towel for us women...bath salts for the Jacuzzi...fresh tulips everywhere...awesome peanut butter cookies available 24hrs...etc. Breakfasts were scrumptious and Kathryn even shared the recipes with us. Lots of places to sit outside, if you want sun or shade. Cannot say enough of good things about this fabulous stay or the accommodations. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddiebob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed in the Garden Room. I loved the view of the garden from our room. In California we don't have many trees, so we really enjoyed the garden. The first night we rocked in the rockers on the porch, enjoying our books and wine. The breakfast was great, but those chocolate cookies were the best!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinoHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Everything is awesome at this B&B. Great private rooms and baths.....you'll want to steal the sheets they are so soft. Equally great and comfortable common areas. Tasty and generous snacks and drinks. Exquisite breakfasts featuring home made sausage, sauces, and ice cream. (YES! Ice cream at breakfast.) Wonderful grounds.

Whenever you go to Charlottesville, this is the place to stay. And if you don't have business in Charlottesville then staying here is a good enough reason to go.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 678michaelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxfieldinn, Owner at Foxfield Inn, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the kind words you wrote. Hopefully next time you are here it won't be raining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I cannot understand how this place is rated #1 in Charlottesville B&Bs! First of all, it's a 15-20 minute drive to anything that you might want to see. Nowhere close to downtown C-ville. It is a nice enough B&B with basic services you expect, but really strange, starting with the fact that it's in a 1960's rancher house. Literally. You feel like you're in anywhere-USA suburb, in a run of the mill house that has had a few rooms added on to it. No architectural interest or interesting decor. Other oddities: a strict 8:30 breakfast time that, 3 out of 3 mornings, was not ready until 8:40 or 8:45. Not a huge deal, but why state a specific time when you can't adhere to it? Next: wine hour. Standard in B&Bs, right? Not at this place. You only get wine and a snack if it's a weekend. How cheap! There were other little things like scratchy bathrobes, paper-thin walls between rooms, no chance to serve yourself coffee or juice in the mornings, and ice cream at breakfast (ugh), but the weirdest thing was the rancher house itself. And it is quite expensive. Will not be going back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CMFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxfieldinn, Owner at Foxfield Inn, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry these guests did not enjoy their time with us. Most of our guests are looking for a getaway in the rolling countryside outside of Charlottesville which is how we state our location on our website. So we were kind of surprised to read that this guest thought we were downtown instead of a 10-15 minute drive away. We are very proud of our 1950 ranch style house (which fits in nicely with the countryside around us) - single story, no stairs to carry luggage up, everything conveniently located on one floor.

Our breakfast service does start at 8:30 Monday-Saturday, 9:00 on Sundays &holidays. Every once in a while something happens in the kitchen and, wouldn't you know it, it did one day while they were here. Unfortunately we were 5 minutes late getting breakfast served that day. The other days the service started on time.

On Friday & Saturday night we do a generous offering of light hors d'ouvres & wine before people head out for dinner. On Sunday-Thursday we offer wine and a small appetizer plate for them to enjoy without having to come to one of the common rooms. In this case we did greet the gentleman in the guest pantry when they returned and asked if they would like wine and appetizers. He told us only one glass of wine for her and no food as there were cookies, popcorn and fruit available to them in the guest pantry if they got hungry. He had one of the sodas from the guest fridge. The next day he told us no to either the wine or the appetizers.

Every morning Dan makes sure there is coffee and hot water for tea available in the guest area from 6:30am until breakfast service time. There is also a Kuerig and a hot water teakettle so people can help themselves to a beverage 24/7.

Again, we are sorry that these guests did not have the experience they were expecting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
6.7 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
11.4 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
6.8 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxfield Inn

Property: Foxfield Inn
Address: 2280 Garth Rd, Charlottesville, VA 22901-5414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Foxfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Foxfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxfield Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing