We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Inn close to Monticello”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Monticello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent Inn close to Monticello”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 the night before we visited Monticello which is close by. This is an excellent B&B Inn with charming hosts Bob and Carolyn. We were welcomed by Jenny with a glass of wine and had a wonderful dinner at The Old Ivy which Bob told us is one of Charlottesville's finest restaurants. Our ground floor room was spacious and comfortable with lovely outdoor views of the spacious grounds. The cooked breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed chatting with our fellow guests. This is a an excellent Inn and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    66
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
286
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Inn at Monticello is simply the best. Hands down! This is my second visit. The location is excellent. The food superb. The hosts delightful. The Inn attracts very interesting guests from all walks of life. As a result, the conversation at breakfast is fascinating. I shall return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Inn at Monticello made for a wonderful weekend. We were in town for an event at Monticello and were pleased to have shared our time and a lovely breakfast with other guests at The Inn. Immediately outside of the city, we were able to have dinner, go downtown, and hop on and off the highway, all while staying on what felt like a classic Old Dominion farm property. Hospitality and amenities were great, and breakfast was MUCH more than I expected - orange croissant french toast, fruit medley, sausage, and pumpkin crumble muffins. Yum! Thanks for a great stay and great memories.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Inn was lovely and clean. Our room took us back in time to a quiet and relaxed place. The breakfast was excellent and our host and hostess were very accommodating. The location also was a giant plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheldon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Inn at Monticello has very friendly staff, it's conveniently located a short distance from Monticello, and the setting was absolutely beautiful. We came home one evening to find four deer feeding in the front yard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

A very convenient location for our trip to visit the president's homes and Charlottesville. The innkeepers try very hard to please. An excellent breakfast with something different all four mornings we stayed. A nice quiet country setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Monticello for five nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Our accommodations were exceptional - comfortable and very attractive. The bathroom was awesome with a steam shower and a separate place to put on makeup! The breakfasts were excellent every day. The inn is very well located, near the center of Charlottesville, but not too close. Very convenient to major attractions. An added attraction is the area directly across from the inn with walking and biking trails. The hosts, Carolyn and Bob, were very knowledgeable about the area attractions and were most helpful in planning our daily excursions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpatt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#21 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.0 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#10 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#14 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Monticello

Property: Inn at Monticello
Address: 1188 Scottsville Rd., Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902-7102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Monticello in Charlottesville VA is an upscale historic bed and breakfast inn located 2 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, and just a few minutes from other historic sites, wineries, the University of Virginia, and the Historic Downtown Mall's shops, theaters and fine and casual restaurants. The Inn sits on 5 landscaped acres with mature trees and a creek running through the property. Inside, guests are treated to fine antiques, lovely linens, gourmet breakfasts, and Virginia wine in the afternoon. Recently the Inn was noted in AAA Magazine's article on Monticello and was also the subject of a feature article in Charlottesville Woman Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Monticello Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing