We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Inn at Monticello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We visited Charlottesville in October and found the Inn at Monticello to be a warm, inviting place to stay. Our beautiful room was upstairs in the front of the house and was filled with antique furniture but with a modern, tiled bathroom. True to its name, the Inn is very close to Monticello, Ash-Lawn Highland (President Monroe's home), and several wineries. Breakfasts were delicious, with fresh fruit, a savory or sweet main course, home made muffins and jam. In the evenings we were offered wine with snacks, and home made cookies. This is definitely a place for us to return to someday.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the house face east and have good black out curtains.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Monticello
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We visited the Charlottesville area late in September and we were fortunate enough to stay at the Inn of Monticello. Bob and Carolyn were the perfect hosts. The inn is located near to the town, wineries and historical sites. The breakfasts were wonderful and the bonus was the wine served with cheese, crackers and apples on the front porch late in the afternoon. The inn was everything you would want from a B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppoprt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here in September 2013 the night before we visited Monticello which is close by. This is an excellent B&B Inn with charming hosts Bob and Carolyn. We were welcomed by Jenny with a glass of wine and had a wonderful dinner at The Old Ivy which Bob told us is one of Charlottesville's finest restaurants. Our ground floor room was spacious and comfortable with lovely outdoor views of the spacious grounds. The cooked breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed chatting with our fellow guests. This is a an excellent Inn and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Inn at Monticello is simply the best. Hands down! This is my second visit. The location is excellent. The food superb. The hosts delightful. The Inn attracts very interesting guests from all walks of life. As a result, the conversation at breakfast is fascinating. I shall return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Inn at Monticello made for a wonderful weekend. We were in town for an event at Monticello and were pleased to have shared our time and a lovely breakfast with other guests at The Inn. Immediately outside of the city, we were able to have dinner, go downtown, and hop on and off the highway, all while staying on what felt like a classic Old Dominion farm property. Hospitality and amenities were great, and breakfast was MUCH more than I expected - orange croissant french toast, fruit medley, sausage, and pumpkin crumble muffins. Yum! Thanks for a great stay and great memories.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Inn was lovely and clean. Our room took us back in time to a quiet and relaxed place. The breakfast was excellent and our host and hostess were very accommodating. The location also was a giant plus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheldon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Inn at Monticello has very friendly staff, it's conveniently located a short distance from Monticello, and the setting was absolutely beautiful. We came home one evening to find four deer feeding in the front yard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,778 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
943 reviews
2.0 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
531 reviews
3.8 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Monticello

Address: 1188 Scottsville Rd., Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902-7102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £212 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Monticello in Charlottesville VA is an upscale historic bed and breakfast inn located 2 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, and just a few minutes from other historic sites, wineries, the University of Virginia, and the Historic Downtown Mall's shops, theaters and fine and casual restaurants. The Inn sits on 5 landscaped acres with mature trees and a creek running through the property. Inside, guests are treated to fine antiques, lovely linens, gourmet breakfasts, and Virginia wine in the afternoon. Recently the Inn was noted in AAA Magazine's article on Monticello and was also the subject of a feature article in Charlottesville Woman Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Monticello Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing