We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great few days over Spring Break”
Review of Inn at Monticello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My son (UVA student) and daughter both had Spring Break at the same time, so we planned a get together and the Inn at Monticello was an excellent choice. The location is close to Charlottesville (10 mins to downtown), Monticello (3 mile walk through the woods) and Ash Lawn Highland (James Monroe's estate, about 3 miles from Monticello). It also provided a base for a day trip through the Virginia countryside to Appomattox (site of Lee's surrender to Grant) and Poplar Forest (Jefferson's country retreat near Lynchburg - well worth visiting). Bob and Carolyn were excellent hosts providing good conversation, excellent breakfasts and late night cookies and tea. When we got 5 inches of snow dumped on us the night before departure, Bob even cleaned the snow from our car and made sure the driveway could be negotiated.

All in all, a wonderful stay and we will be back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Monticello
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Inn at Monticello is centrally located to downtown Charlottesville and to Monticello itself. The Inn was immaculate and the owners very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious and served on time and hot. The innkeepers were very helpful regarding places to see and directions in which to locate those places. A top notch B & B!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWhiteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Passing through Charlottesville late afternoon and decided to stop instead of using a chain hotel. Bob greeted us kindly and spent 30 minutes with us showing us the cottage which was the only available accommodation. His late mother-in-law had hand embroidered the fabric that surrounded the top of the beautiful four poster bed. The pride that Bob and his wife take in their B & B shows in all of the details. A wonderful surprise was the steam shower in the cottage.

The cottage is gorgeous and that bed must be 4 feet off the floor. Very cool.

Breakfast was superb and great care taken with every dish and offering.

We would stay again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank CurtC972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Inn at Monticello is a fantastic place to stay for a weekend getaway!!!
It is comfortable, clean, cozy, friendly and conveniently located.
Jenny will welcome you to the Inn and show you around.
She also prepares a wonderful breakfast to start the day!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

It's all in the welcome. We got in after dark and were greeted by Jenny at the door. She offered us a glass of wine, showed us around, and offered us some "biscuits" or pecan cookies she made for the evening. Breakfast each day was delightful and plentiful.
We stayed in the Jefferson room, because Monticello, right. The bed was comfortable and the room was a perfect atmosphere. The heated floor in the bathroom is a nice modern touch. Best part: the super soft bathrobes.
We opted for the wine tour that is run through the B&B. It was a great deal and a fun activity.
Everything you'd want from a Bed & Breakfast

Room Tip: Can't go wrong, but you are next to Monticello
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here one night in a brief escape from DC. The house and amenities are great. Beds are comfortable and bathrooms newly renovated (at least in the two rooms we saw). Jenny cooked a fantastic breakfast and accommodated my gluten allergy. She even left gluten-free cookies for me when we came in from dinner. It was very considerate. Breakfast was delicious and welcoming. All the guests convened around the table while Jenny served great pancakes, fruit, rolls, sausage and homemade maple or blueberry syrup. When we left the hostess stated she wished we had stayed longer so we could get to know each other better. I had the same feeling.

Some other folks staying at the Inn used their wine tour service and highly recommended it. Overall a great experience, I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Charlottesville and wanting a quiet, peaceful escape.

Room Tip: Private bathrooms, but some are outside of the room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatiePW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I decided to meet friends in Charlottesville for the weekend and chose The Inn at Monticello. What a pleasant and wonderful find this was. We were greeted immediately by Jenny, one of staff at the Inn, who was delightful and showed us our rooms and all the amenities. We chose the green room with the fireplace and it was cozy and delightful. We were able to sit with our friends in the common area downstairs in front of a roaring fire and talk as the evening would end with fresh treats presented by the Inn. Breakfast was wonderful, full course, gourmet delights and we never left hungry. The Innkeepers, Carolyn and Bob, were full of information and a pleasure to meet. Location was excellent as we were literally down the road from Monticello and Ash Lawn Highland. My husband and I will certainly visit this property again when in Charlottesville!

Room Tip: We loved the room with the fireplace, I believe there are two, however, in the summer this would not...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcella F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,772 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville
Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesvill...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
942 reviews
2.0 mi away
200 South Street Inn
200 South Street Inn
#11 of 35 in Charlottesville
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monticello
Comfort Inn Monticello
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
530 reviews
3.8 mi away
The English Inn of Charlottesville
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello
#22 of 35 in Charlottesville
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Monticello

Address: 1188 Scottsville Rd., Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902-7102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £212 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Monticello in Charlottesville VA is an upscale historic bed and breakfast inn located 2 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, and just a few minutes from other historic sites, wineries, the University of Virginia, and the Historic Downtown Mall's shops, theaters and fine and casual restaurants. The Inn sits on 5 landscaped acres with mature trees and a creek running through the property. Inside, guests are treated to fine antiques, lovely linens, gourmet breakfasts, and Virginia wine in the afternoon. Recently the Inn was noted in AAA Magazine's article on Monticello and was also the subject of a feature article in Charlottesville Woman Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Monticello Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing