We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Inn at Monticello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn at Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This beautiful property is located across the street from the enjoyable walk up the mountain to Monticello and near to quaint shops and restaurants. The house is cozy and serene, and the innkeepers are welcoming. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts with other guests seated around the large dining table and appreciated the dietary accommodations made by the chefs. We hope to return yearly!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDFRBatt3-Retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We decided to stay at the Inn at Monticello after checking out their website and reading TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed! From the moment we walked into the inn we felt at home because of the warm welcome we received from Bob (the owner). He showed us to our room,the green room, which was large and so nicely furnished. This room does have a working wood fireplace which can be used when conditions warrant it and with the knowledge of the owners. There is no television in the room, but we didn't miss it . The bed was very comfortable and even though our room faced the front of the house it was very quiet and we had no problem getting a good night's sleep. The bathroom, though not large, did have a wonderful large walk in tiled bathroom. Both the bedroom and the bathroom were very clean.
The breakfasts were delicious, and accommodations were made for my husband who does not eat eggs. At the time reservations are made you can let Bob and Carolyn know of any dietary restrictions and they will make sure you are satisfied with alternatives. It was also nice to return from a day of sightseeing to sit on the porch enjoying the scenery and conversing with other guests while enjoying a glass of wine and cheese at around six o'clock.
I feel very confident in recommending the Inn at Monticello . I know you will love the food, the accommodations , and the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maggie799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our first B&B. Our great experience started with a call to the owner about which room would be right for my wife and me. He was extremely helpful and responsive. Our room was wonderful, the gourmet breakfast each morning was excellent, and the owners were very friendly and helpful. It is centrally located to everything and we actually did a very scenic 2-mile walk to Monticello from the Inn (FYI - it is an uphill walk). I didn't know what it would be like sharing a house with others, but we really enjoyed it. I would highly recommend the Inn at Monticello. The offered us a glass of wine, soda, or water each night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recommend highly The Inn at Monticello, starting with the location, which is quiet but close to everything. We used nearby Interstate 64 to travel west and east in minutes to major sites and family gatherings, and Va. Route 20 north and south, to get in and out of the downtown area of Charlottesville and visit local wineries with ease. We stayed in the separate cottage and enjoyed the great shower and the canopied bed. All very comfortable and all very clean. Despite the heat and humidity outside, the A.C. and fans in the cottage kept the room temperature just right. We also appreciated the in-room refrigerator and the coffee machine with easy-to-prepare and good tasting coffee packets. The fresh cream left for us each day was a treat, and we took advantage of the snacks left for us also. "Jenny" of the staff greeted us warmly when we arrived, and she prepared truly excellent breakfasts both days we were there. High quality food, carefully prepared, and served with quiet style. There were a total of 5 couples at breakfast each morning in the dining room, sharing experiences from the previous day, and plans for the current day.
Checking out was an effortless breeze. Jenny's gracious charm will be a lasting memory. The owners have created and maintain beautiful grounds and flower beds, which we enjoyed exploring on foot. This is the place to which we plan to return when we are in Charlottesville.
Thank you for making our stay so very pleasant!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAngst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

What a fabulous place we found in the Inn at Monticello! We were in town for 5 days to see Monticello and the University of VA. I enjoy staying at B&Bs to avoid the "institutional" feel of Hotels, and I love good breakfasts :) The Inn at Monticello did not disappoint! The breakfasts were both filling and delicious. In addition to fresh fruit and a hot breakfast each day, we were also treated to a yummy baked good each day- make sure to save room.

We stayed upstairs in the blue room ( the only room with a king size bed) My hubby and I cannot sleep together in a queen size bed so we were glad to find this option at a B&B which is often hard to find. The bathroom for this room is just outside the room itself thru a separate door. This was not a problem and they provide robes in case you encounter someone in the hall for the brief few seconds it takes to enter the bathroom. The bathroom was huge!

Everything there was top notch and we enjoyed meeting other travelers in the sitting room downstairs. Bob and Carolyn and Jenny were all so nice and helped us with anything we needed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuddenSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn. The room was excellent as was the food., and it is very conveniently located. We did make the mistake of taking the wine tour available through the Inn. This was a mistake. It cost $100 per person and was absolutely NOT worth it. The lady who drove us about was very pleasant, and the prepared lunch was good (I would value it at $15 per person at best), but it was nothing more than someone driving us to the nearby wineries. There was no "tour" or education about the area and the wineries, simply an escort to and fro. We could have (and should have) driven ourselves. The wineries that we visited were all within 5 miles or so. Paying $50 would have been a stretch. The Inn is very nice and you will like it, but do NOT take the available wine tour.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easytraveler1776, Owner at Inn at Monticello, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

We are pleased the guest enjoyed their stay at the Inn and gave us 4 stars. We work hard to do an excellent job to help every guest feel welcome and well taken care of.

We are however dismayed that the guest thought the wine tour was overpriced.
This guest made a spur of the moment request to join that day's tour, after hearing from satisfied guests who toured the day before . They never inquired about the price until after the tour was over.

We KNOW the tour is fairly priced, actually below several in the area. We also know for sure that guests appreciate the value of having someone guide them safely as they taste between 20 and 30 wines in an afternoon of vineyard hopping.

It's peace of mind when you don't worry about seeing flashing blue lights in your own rear view mirror as you save a few dollars driving yourself - with your bag lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A great place to stay to visit the Presidential homes in the area. Their B&B is set up to help you meet the others staying at their place. Good food and a very short drive to Jefferson's place. A lot of nice restaurants within 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tgrangran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.1 mi away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,839 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#6 of 35 in Charlottesville
273 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clifton Inn
Clifton Inn
#23 of 35 in Charlottesville
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#3 of 35 in Charlottesville
771 reviews
8.4 mi away
Foxfield Inn
Foxfield Inn
#2 of 16 in Charlottesville
714 reviews
4.1 mi away
Albemarle Estate at Trump Winery
Albemarle Estate at Trump Winery
#7 of 16 in Charlottesville
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Monticello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Monticello

Address: 1188 Scottsville Rd, Hwy. 20 S., Charlottesville, VA 22902-7102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: £234 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Monticello in Charlottesville VA is an upscale historic bed and breakfast inn located 2 miles from Thomas Jefferson's Monticello, and just a few minutes from other historic sites, wineries, the University of Virginia, and the Historic Downtown Mall's shops, theaters and fine and casual restaurants. The Inn sits on 5 landscaped acres with mature trees and a creek running through the property. Inside, guests are treated to fine antiques, lovely linens, gourmet breakfasts, and Virginia wine in the afternoon. Recently the Inn was noted in AAA Magazine's article on Monticello and was also the subject of a feature article in Charlottesville Woman Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Monticello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Monticello Hotel Charlottesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing