We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Silver Thatch Inn
Nearby Hotels
Doubletree by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The English Inn of Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Charlottesville North(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oakhurst Inn(Charlottesville)
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Clifton(Charlottesville)
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boar's Head Resort(Charlottesville)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
200 South Street Inn(Charlottesville)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
164
18
1
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
18
1
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjefferson roomsmall pubhomemade sausagecomplimentary glass of winewonderful anniversarypastry chefthe main housefantastic bed and breakfastsurrounding neighborhoodcozy settingfirst morninghistoric charlottesvillerooms are lovelybreakfast is servedeach morningsized bedenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Three friends and I stayed in the Harrison and Taylor rooms this past weekend at the Silver Thatch Inn. What a wonderful time! The rooms were adorable (though the Harrison room is snug but so nice). Bathroom amenities, robes, a fireplace, cookies on the pillow and waters to take during the day. Terri and Jim were gracious hosts and very accommodating--they printed out directions before we even asked, sat with us over wine to chat, and even remembered my penchant for diet pepsi in the mornings with breakfast. AND WHAT BREAKFASTS!!! Dear god I am still thinking about the pumpkin pancakes. YUM! I would absolutely stay here again--looking forward to a cozy weekend with my hubby sometime soon.

Conveniently located by Monticello, Ash Lawn, Charlottesville and LOTS of wineries:)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danspeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

I love when girlfriends stay with us during their visit to Charlottesville. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, and your comments and suggestions were very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Okay, one of the best things about this inn is the friendliness of Terry and Jim. I really enjoyed talking with them in that fantastic cubby hole bar that they have. Thank you for the complimentary beer. Our John Tyler room was so pretty. Bathroom was cute with a shower stall, no tub, which was fine for us. The cookies, scones and Eggs Benedict breakfast were alll so tasty. Wish we could have stayed longer but this was a great location for sight seeing.

Room Tip: They are alll pretty!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank US_traveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We're so happy you enjoyed your experience with us! Breakfast is our favorite meal of the day and also when we get to say good morning to everyone! Best is when lots of guests are in the Pub enjoying a refreshing beverage and chatting! Lots of fun, just before we send you off to one of Charlottesville's great restaurants for dinner and a night out! See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We enjoyed a relaxing weekend at the Silver Thatch in mid-August located on neatly manicured grounds close to Charlottesville. Innkeepers Jim and Terri keep the place tidy. Rooms were clean, well appointed and included daily maid service. Full American breakfasts were homemade and excellent. This is a great location for local sight-seeing and visiting historical sites throughout the region. Bar serves wine and beer although we did not use it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Monroe room and had no trouble with an adjacent room. Noise was minimal.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libertycall8107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for your kind words, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Feedback from our guests is welcome, and we ask that you let us know your thoughts on how we can do a better job of taking care of you. Send us an email and address it directly to Terri under the subject 'Our Stay.' Remember, YOU are the reason we're here. Thank you! Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

A delight!

Atmosphere and hospitality were a joy. Rooms darling, common area well-curated. Top-notch treatment. Tasty and thoughtful meals.

Highly recommend, particularly for travelers that love b&bs. History-rich.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeisgood160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I had a spinal fusion at Martha Jefferson Hospital in February of 2012. It was the third back surgery in less than 14 months. Since I was driving myself to a check-up with my doctor, I looked into staying overnight in Charlottesville to rest my back before returning home. I did a lot of research and found the Silver Thatch Inn. What a blessing it turned out to be! I stayed in the George Washington Room and it was beautiful and the bed was wonderful for my back. Jim was out of town, so I missed the opportunity to meet him; however, I met Terri and she is a wonderful hostess and really went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast is served in a beautiful, sunny room and the food was scrumptious. I also got to meet Spike, Terri's sweet-as-could-be dog. In fact, the first night was so wonderful and relaxing, I stayed a second night! The inn is right off of 29 and close to many attractions. I can't wait for my next back check-up and my next visit to the Silver Thatch Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPetrovits, Owner at The Silver Thatch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words! And don't hesitate to let us know what you'd like to see on your next visit. Send an email directed to 'Terri' with your comments. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews