We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland facade...tasty food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maya Restaurant

Maya Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Maya Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 538 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 7th St. NW
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bland facade...tasty food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We walked by the restaurant and thought it looked very quiet, very glad we went inside! Greeted by friendly staff, sat down and once again got welcomed by a very sweet and skilled server. She helped us with the few questions we had with great knowledge of the food and from there we were in for a treat.
The restaurants slogan is come home to dinner and it really feels like your best friend who just happens to be a chef cooked for you. Amazing flavors, substantial servings and in my opinion very reasonable priced.
I got a giggle out of the reviews complaining about paying for bread.... did you by chance order the delicious biscuits from the menu with a price next to them???
Next time in Charlottesville I'll make sure to come back to Maya.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hndsmdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    86
    26
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“OK but Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

For us, eating at Maya is a treat, not an everyday event, because of the prices. At least we had considered it a treat on previous visits to Charlottesville because the food and experience of eating there seemed quite worth the cost. This time, though, even on a weeknight, our server seemed too busy to pay attention to us, the food was just OK, and I resented needing to pay for bread with dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Saunterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
255 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We really enjoyed this place. We sat outside on the patio. It was a Monday and the restaurant was busy. Seemed to be an after work crowd. My husband had the panko crusted fried chicken (an off menu special that day), mac n cheese and glazed carrots. I had the trout, greens and whipped potatoes. Everything was really good. The server was friendly and helpful. I will definitely return and recommend to friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JACfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
451 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“OK to try once”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Visiting Charlottesville and thought of new experience. Vegetables are grilled and were delicious. Easily could have had a few more. Party had chicken and beef items. Very small salad comes with the dinner.With down-sizing of portions everywhere, I think they went a bit too far. Chicken breast ($17) about the size of a good thigh. Steak was 3 inch diameter ($28). Both had good quality, juicy and tasty, but undersized for the price, and what you are served at You need to ask for bread, and they charge you $4. Service was fine. Outdoor seating on ok a nice night. Street is close and sometimes busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samtrip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We keep talking about this meal, it was that good! We really appreciated all the gluten free options too. Everything we had was so flavorful. We had the catfish and chicken breast. I highly recommend the Cheese Fritters as a starter!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelDuck0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maya Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Maya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing