We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good food, easy to find, good service”
Review of Maya Restaurant

Maya Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Maya Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 552 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 7th St. NW
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
701 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Very Good food, easy to find, good service”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The place has a varied menu with lots of options and the daily specials are excellent. Service was good. They has a varied menu and lots of good options. Service was attentive, but not overbearing. This is a good place in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    95
    27
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
606 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Great Thanksgiving Out”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

IF you can't have Thanksgiving dinner at home, then this is a place to go. It's kinda plain on the outside and sorta plain, but chic on the inside. But... we knew we were gonna have a great experience when we were getting taken to our table... and our server said happily... 'you're with me!'... as we walked by.

Sara promptly upped the friendliness factor (which continued throughout the meal) as she took our drink orders... off of a very reasonably priced wine list. It was a $45 per price fixe dinner for the holiday... and daughter went for the pork belly with fried oysters, rib roast and hot apple pie. My wife... the pork belly with fried oysters, turkey and pumpkin pie. Me... the pimento cheese fritters, turkey and carrot cake. If you have never tried their pimento cheese fritters... try them as they are on their regular menu... just because everybody should have this pleasant experience... except if the pork belly and fried oysters are on the menu... one of the best appy's ever. I think daughter and wife would have been happy with three courses of just that appy.

OK - the turkey was moist with very serviceable gravy... not goopy nor overly salted. The mashed potatoes are right up there with the best restaurant style I've had. Daughter's rib roast was slightly overcooked, but very tender and flavorful.

The dessert's were good, but not knock out good.

I'd try this restaurant again on a regular evening... just to try some of their other menu offerings. For sure... it's on our Thanksgiving calendar for next year. Too bad Sara might not be there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Lunch”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We had a 4pm reservation and they had a difficult time with seating customers at the right tables. They seemed to be very confused. I ordered salmon and it was good. My wife ordered rib roast and it was over cooked and had horse radish which wasn't disclosed. She also had corn chowder which was beef soup and no corn??? They tried to make a go of Thanksgiving and it didn't work out that well....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bland facade...tasty food!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We walked by the restaurant and thought it looked very quiet, very glad we went inside! Greeted by friendly staff, sat down and once again got welcomed by a very sweet and skilled server. She helped us with the few questions we had with great knowledge of the food and from there we were in for a treat.
The restaurants slogan is come home to dinner and it really feels like your best friend who just happens to be a chef cooked for you. Amazing flavors, substantial servings and in my opinion very reasonable priced.
I got a giggle out of the reviews complaining about paying for bread.... did you by chance order the delicious biscuits from the menu with a price next to them???
Next time in Charlottesville I'll make sure to come back to Maya.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hndsmdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“OK but Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

For us, eating at Maya is a treat, not an everyday event, because of the prices. At least we had considered it a treat on previous visits to Charlottesville because the food and experience of eating there seemed quite worth the cost. This time, though, even on a weeknight, our server seemed too busy to pay attention to us, the food was just OK, and I resented needing to pay for bread with dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Saunterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maya Restaurant also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Maya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing