We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gastronomic Experience on the Downtown Mall”
Review of Downtown Grille

Downtown Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Downtown Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd
Description: The Downtown Grille, located on Charlottesville's historic downtown mall, serves only the finest in Midwestern corn-fed beef and fresh seafood. The restaurant has an extensive wine list which has been honored by The Wine Spectator with the Award of Excellence every year since opening in 1999. The Downtown Grille's lovely architecture and warm professional staff lend a superb ambiance to an already exquisite dining experience.
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We dined at the Downtown Grille recently while entertaining a guest from out of town. The Open Table reservation was honored quickly and efficiently. The Wait person quickly advised all the specialties of the restaurant and that night's specials. The Wait person was attentive but not overbearing throughout the dinner. He was well-versed in advising items to our guest who had dietary restrictions. From appetizer through dessert service was impeccable; food served at the proper temperature and timely; wine properly chilled and everyone was pleased with their selections. An overall gastronomic experience in Charlottesville.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Alan - we appreciate your review and are very happy you enjoyed your experience!
https://www.facebook.com/DowntownGrille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 333 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We visit this restaurant every time we come to Charlottesville, and we are never disappointed. The food is excellent, the ambience is rich and sumptuous, the service is generally good, the staff is professional, and the managers are on site and really seem to care about the customers. It's pricy, but worth it. Would have given five stars on this trip, but our waiter took way too long to take our dinner order after serving drinks. I mean, like a half an hour, which is just too long...otherwise, flawless. We will be back.

Thank Lucinda00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you Lucinda - we appreciate your review and apologize for our waiter taking so long to take your dinner order. Very happy you enjoyed everything and we look forward to having you back!
https://www.facebook.com/DowntownGrille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were visiting relatives in Charlottesville, VA and noted the Downtown Grille’s high rating on Trip Advisor and made reservations for dinner. It was the right thing to do as the experience was outstanding. The ambience is delightful, the service is very good, and the food is exceptional. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and will no doubt go again when we are in town. We shared the Cornmeal dusted Oysters appetizer and they were very good, then a Caesar- Mixed Greens salad with Sundried Cherries, Almonds etc. that was excellent. Our guests had the Onion Soup which was excellent. My date and I shared an 8 Oz Filet Mignon and a side of Creamed Spinach. One guest ordered the Asiago Cheese Crusted Chicken Breast with Mustard Sauce and French Fries and the other ordered the DTG Burger with Fries. The Filet was exceptional. It was moist and very tasty. Probably one of the best I have ever tasted. The Chicken Breast was rated very highly as was the DTG Burger which purportedly was cooked to perfection. We shared the Key Lime Pie for dessert. All the ordered dishes were excellent. I can’t say enough about this excellent restaurant. If you are in town you have to give it a try. You will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Speck411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Oh, what a great review! Thanks for taking the time to write this-we appreciate it!
https://www.facebook.com/DowntownGrille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Went looking for steak & seafood and settled on the Downtown Grille. We had a wonderful meal with outstanding service. We would go back again if ever in Charlottesville again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you Cami, be sure visit us again!
www.facebook.com/DowntownGrille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I took clients to this steak restaurant in downtown Charlottesville. The steaks were outstanding, the sides were more than enough to share and the wine list was priced fairly. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you Andrew, appreciate the nice review!
www.facebook.com/DowntownGrille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downtown Grille also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Downtown Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing