We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience Ever!”
Review of Downtown Grille

Downtown Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Downtown Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 582 Restaurants in Charlottesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd
Description: The Downtown Grille, located on Charlottesville's historic downtown mall, serves only the finest in Midwestern corn-fed beef and fresh seafood. The restaurant has an extensive wine list which has been honored by The Wine Spectator with the Award of Excellence every year since opening in 1999. The Downtown Grille's lovely architecture and warm professional staff lend a superb ambiance to an already exquisite dining experience.
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Amazing food, drinks, dessert, and overall experience! Our server perfectly paired wine with our meal and suggested the best dessert we've ever had!

Thank Jdougherty0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you - very happy you enjoyed your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 333 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

The food was great, the wine is very good as well and reasonably priced. Calamari is not fresh, it is frozen, but everything else was great. Nice comfortable atmosphere. It felt romantic so if couples are looking for something quiet and cozy this is the place. It was nice.

My date picked it, great choice. My date is also from Turkey; new to the U.S and he was asking the waitress about the menu. She got impatient with him so I did not like that so much. I understand why he asked me to order. Not a big deal but still.

Thank A0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for the nice review, please accept our apology for our server!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We booked the Downtown Grille after scouring Tripadvisor for somewhere in walking distance of our hotel that served decent food in a nice atmosphere. The Downtown Grille fitted the description so we went with it. It was reasonably busy at 8pm on a Monday evening and service was friendly and efficient. I started with the Calamari, tasty but unremarkable. It was cooked in the standard way of lightly battered, fried and served with a dipping sauce. I don't think anything will beat the calamari I had at Cru Cafe in Charleston where the calamari formed part of a stunning Thai salad. My wife had a generous and tasty salad as a starter. For the entree my wife chose another starter in the form of the restaurant's speciality of 'Lump Crab Cakes', reportedly very good and I went for the 14oz Pork Chop that was served with a fruit compote and was delicious. Be warned that the sides are very generous and reasonably priced and each side will easily feed two people. Asparagus with hollandaise was huge such that we couldn't finish it and it was cooked to perfection. The french fries was also a very large portion and they were nice if a little greasy. With a middling bottle of wine the check was a little over $100 which wasn't cheap but acceptable.
All in all, it was a nice venue where we had a good evening with good, if unremarkable food. There are probably far better and different variations on the food restaurants in Charlottesville but I wouldn't dismiss Downtown Grille for a safe pair of hands!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you Bob, appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

While travelling, we stopped at the historic Downtown Mall in Charlottesville and discovered the Downtown Grille. Beautiful interior/atmosphere. We sat in the bar area at a table next to the window, watching the passersby. The bartender waited on us; service was very good. The braised beef short ribs over horseradish puree was excellent. My husband ordered two appetizers as his main course: fried calamari with red pepper aioli and the grilled portobello and vegetable napoleon with sundried tomato vinaigrette. Both were great. If we were ever back in the area, we definitely would stop back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malibufritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you - so happy you enjoyed everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

absolutely wonderful food. great outdoor veiws. would return if we're back in Charlottesville. great drink menu also.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Janice - very happy you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downtown Grille also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Downtown Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing