We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Downtown Grille

Downtown Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Downtown Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd
Description: The Downtown Grille, located on Charlottesville's historic downtown mall, serves only the finest in Midwestern corn-fed beef and fresh seafood. The restaurant has an extensive wine list which has been honored by The Wine Spectator with the Award of Excellence every year since opening in 1999. The Downtown Grille's lovely architecture and warm professional staff lend a superb ambiance to an already exquisite dining experience.
White Mountains
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“very elegant”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a very elegant dinner at the Downtown Grille. The food and service was excellent. Good wine list.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you Steve - very happy you enjoyed everything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    100
    42
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Appetizers, seafood, steak and more!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Yesterday we shared two excellent appetizers, Crab Cakes and Salmon. Both were excellent we could not decide which we liked best. I highly recommend you ask Paul (bartender) for a "Hurricane", it would shame those served on Bourbon St. Three weeks ago we were there for my son in law's birthday. Prime Rib, Lobster, etc. The house dressings are excellent. It was late about 10 p.m. when we arrived, but we were given the full service and never felt we were being rushed. It will be a tradition!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thenorthwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you - so happy you enjoyed everything!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This place was recommended to us by a local so we were looking forward to some great steaks. What a waste of money. For starters, we ordered the french onion soup (so watery not even the plastic-like cheese topping could keep its from spilling all over the plate on the way over) and the iceberg lettuce (which looked like whoever made it must have just gotten up from bed after a night of heavy drinking, or perhaps was rehearsing for April fools?). For entrees we ordered the filet and the NY strip - we both ordered them medium, mine was medium rare and my boyfriend's was medium-well, and they were both heavily scorched (don't they clean the grill at all?). How can a place call itself a "grill" if the cooks don't even know how to get the degree of cooking right? Also, the sides are not included in the ~$40 price so it's presented to you with a few phlegmatic parsley leaves (jee, thanks). A shot of espresso, by the way, is $4(!!) and tastes like sewer. If it was a family diner then all would be forgiven, but for a formal-dining facility with prices to match? that's just inexcusable. Verdict: avoid!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SupernovaSurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Männedorf
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“M E A T :-)”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The place for meat in Charlottesville. Great selection, mouth watering daily specials. Desert was nothing special. Amazing waiter.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aightgenosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you and we appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best local restaurant in town to have dinner”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Husband and I decided to visit the Downtown Grille one evening to checkout the renovations etc...they certainly didn't disappoint! The crab cakes and lobster roll were delicious! It is very hard to find good lobster rolls any where in town these day's but I definitely know where I'll be coming back to from now on! I am a bit disappointed that they were out of the coconut brownie, so I ordered the chocolate torte instead. Also being that the restaurant wasn't at full capacity the waitstaff should have been a bit more quick to remove the dirty dishes from our table. I actually watched them eyeball and walk past the dirty dishes a few times before collecting them. Really no excuse for this when a restaurant is not that busy but other than that we will be back for future dining.

Helpful?
Thank Jessicalicious3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you Jessica! Note to us about the service-appreciate the input. We love your user name:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downtown Grille also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Downtown Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing