We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey But Very Good”
Review of Downtown Grille

Downtown Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Downtown Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 2nd
Description: The Downtown Grille, located on Charlottesville's historic downtown mall, serves only the finest in Midwestern corn-fed beef and fresh seafood. The restaurant has an extensive wine list which has been honored by The Wine Spectator with the Award of Excellence every year since opening in 1999. The Downtown Grille's lovely architecture and warm professional staff lend a superb ambiance to an already exquisite dining experience.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Pricey But Very Good”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a pretty expensive place, but worth it for a special occasion. I had the filet mignon which was perfectly done. The service is attentive and professional. My wife had fish which she enjoyed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Jaun, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    101
    45
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crazzzzs
Level Contributor
358 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfect for Graduation weekend AND Anytime!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

For 2014 graduation weekend, we had reservations for their fixed menu for Friday evening. They were very accommodating in letting us push our reservation back an hour, due to our daughter's friends grad parties. We have been here many times before and it is one of my favorite places for an excellent steak and martini! If you haven't been there yet, this is a must before you or your student leaves UVA! Located on the Downtown Mall.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crazzzzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your nice review, and congrats to your daughter!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Oh so tasty!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It is a nice serene set up with mouth watering dishes to choose from. The wait is not too long, but best to see about making a reservation so you don't miss out on a wonderful taste of the town. The pricing is for couples, business meetings, a bit on the high end financially and does not cater to children very well. Nice casual attire and excellent service of many delicious dishes. I would highly recommend it for a night out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Evelyn - we thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Mountains
Level Contributor
146 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“very elegant”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had a very elegant dinner at the Downtown Grille. The food and service was excellent. Good wine list.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you Steve - very happy you enjoyed everything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Appetizers, seafood, steak and more!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Yesterday we shared two excellent appetizers, Crab Cakes and Salmon. Both were excellent we could not decide which we liked best. I highly recommend you ask Paul (bartender) for a "Hurricane", it would shame those served on Bourbon St. Three weeks ago we were there for my son in law's birthday. Prime Rib, Lobster, etc. The house dressings are excellent. It was late about 10 p.m. when we arrived, but we were given the full service and never felt we were being rushed. It will be a tradition!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thenorthwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Grille, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you - so happy you enjoyed everything!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downtown Grille also viewed

 
Charlottesville, VA
 
Charlottesville, VA
 

Been to Downtown Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing