We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, well appointed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed her for a weekend while in town for a friend's wedding (the block of rooms was booked here). The location is nice, close to the interstate and lots of restaurants. Not convenient to the beach (about 25-30 minutes away), but that was fine. Stayed in a two queen room with a friend. very comfortable beds in a HUGE room. Large couch with pull-out bed, dry bar, and desk. Very big flat screen tv as well (maybe 54 inches?). You can even borrow a clothes steamer! Front desk was very nice and helpful. The free breakfast left a little something to be desired though. Nonetheless, a very great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

very nice hotel, just off a strip of restaurants, a gas station and by a mall. nice big rooms with sofa and large flat screen tv. nice clean bathroom. pool isn't that big though, great hot breakfast. nice staff

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennir70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We arrived late in the evening and all the non-feather pillows were gone. What annoyed me the most is that I had to convince the front desk person that a feather allergy is a serious thing. Housekeeping sent up replacement pillows without checking the labels (filled with down). We ended up sleeping without pillows. My wife couldn't breathe properly through the night so neither of us slept well. The mere presence of feather pillows leaves behind enough tiny feathers to do the damage and ruin your night. We had to make a trip to the pharmacy for meds in the morning.
I went onto my Hyatt Gold Passport profile to mark a preference for "feather-free room" but the option did not exist as it does on my Marriott Rewards profile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasonbulger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My family and I stopped here for 1 night on the way to the Outer Banks. It was only 80 miles away so a great place to stop. The room was large for our family of 4 with 2 queen beds, a sectional couch, little fridge, and a sink and counter outside of the bathroom.

The actual toilet and shower for the bathroom were small, but adequate. Nothing fancy in the room, and the beds were actually fairly uncomfortable and hard.

There are a lot of dining and shopping in the immediate area so it is convenient. I'd consider staying here again...especially since I got the room for free.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
709edenway, General Manager at Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Dumpty27,

Thank-you for taking time to write about your experiences while staying at our hotel. We have a lot of families that choose to stay with us as a stopping point on their trip to the Outer Banks. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you had a fantastic vacation. Hopefully, will see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here for 1 night July 27th, the hotel was nice and clean and the room was clean. However, the breakfast was terrible, it was crowded and food wasn't good they ran out of everything including silverware, there was no where to sit and some people had their dogs with them, really, I don't want a dog around me while I eat, no one from the hotel said anything so we just decided to go to the Cracker Barrel. The shower was the oddest thing I've ever seen it had a partial door and water got all over the floor not sure what the point of that was but it seemed to be that way on purpose. For a Hyatt I was expecting more, they also seemed to be short staffed they only had 1 person to check people in so it was a wait. Also about 3 am the people in the room next to us decided to blast their music, I called the front desk and they took care of it promptly. For almost $200 a night a can't recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank mandm3849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
709edenway, General Manager at Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Mandm3849,

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write about your experience on Trip Advisor. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. I apologize that breakfast was very crowded during your visit. On Saturdays and Sundays in the Summer we are filled with families traveling with often 4 or more people in each room. Our breakfast area was originally designed for business travelers and not for the number of guests we experience during the Summer months. We certainly try our absolute best to keep up but there are times when the number of guests overwhelm the capacity of our breakfast area. We do allow dogs however they should not be present in the breakfast area unless they are a service animal. I apologize if the dog was not a service animal and the staff did not correct the situation. Thank-you for the kind words about the cleanliness of the hotel. Our housekeeping staff tries very hard to make each stay as comfortable as possible. It is our hope that you will try us again in the future and that you enjoyed your trip away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here recently and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, even though the hotel was crowded this weekend. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here as a pit stop on a road trip recently and were happy with our stay. The hotel was nice, room was clean and the breakfast the next morning was good. The hotel was completely booked the night that we stayed so it was a little crowded at breakfast, but everything was continually stocked and we did not go hungry. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stones927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
0.6 mi away
aloft Chesapeake
aloft Chesapeake
#4 of 42 in Chesapeake
404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 42 in Chesapeake
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier
1.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Chesapeake
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier

Address: 709 Eden Way N, Chesapeake, VA 23320-2791
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
#2 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range: £72 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary design and a comfortable coffeehouse vibe. Stay in touch via free Wi-Fi from anywhere in the hotel. Signature Hyatt Grand Bed, a plush Cozy Corner oversized sofa sleeper. 42" high-definition flat-panel TV that can be integrated with your laptop or MP3 player. 24-hour Guest Kitchen. Complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. Located in Towne Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier Hotel Chesapeake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing