We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

When my family made our last trip to Chesapeake Virginia to visit my mother our usual hotel, which is on the water in Portsmouth, VA, was not available so we had to make a blind choice of where to stay. We did our usual research online and decided to go with a known chain that we have been happy with in the past. Chesapeake is a small city just outside of Portsmouth so we were ready for a little of a step down in what we usually experience but we were in for a pleasant surprise.

From the moment we arrived we were met with one pleasant experience after another. I have to say that in my travels I have not met a friendlier staff who's genuine desire seemed to be that we were taken care of from the start. The room was better than advertised, in addition to a quiet refrigerator, a 46" flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi, the TV was equipped with a panel on the wall that had input connections for a computer, a DVD player, and just about any kind of other device you would want to play through the TV. Most of the hotels that I stay at make it almost impossible to play a portable DVD player through their TV but this hotel is completely opposite, even my wife could have hooked up the DVD player to play the kid movies we bring on family trips.

Speaking of Kids, this isn't a resort hotel with lots of kid activities and we were not expecting any, we simply were looking for a nice place to stay while we visited my mom. I will say that the DVD attachment was great for the kids though.

I want to get back to just how great the staff was and I will give you an example. The hotel served breakfast until 10:00 am (my usual hotel's breakfast last until 9:00 am) and it was usually pretty good. One morning our family went down for breakfast and my wife and I got the last two biscuits on the tray (it was 9:45 am when we got there) and after I had just finished mine one of my two boys asked me if there were more biscuits, I checked and there were no more put on the tray. I asked one of the guys working the breakfast area if there were any more biscuits in the back and he said that there were none and I passed on that info to my boys. Not 3 minutes later the same guy came back with a plate full of muffins to see if they liked them, the muffins were not on the menu but he offered my boys a selection to choose from which went over even better than the biscuits.

Although we really like the hotel on the water, we liked the hospitality and the great value of the Hyatt Place, I feel we really got lucky and will be staying there from now on. We highly recommend the Hyatt Place to anyone looking for a clean, inviting environment to stay at. One more thing, the hotel is located near just about anything you would need from a grocery store to a pharmacy, and a large shopping center all within a half mile of the hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is only 4 stories high and I would recommend staying on the top floor, always less noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
709edenway, General Manager at Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear GBcrew,

Thank-you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit at our hotel. Of all the hotels you could have selected in Chesapeake or Portsmouth we are honored that you picked the Hyatt Place. We are glad that our breakfast person helped make your experience memorable. We hope to see you again during your next visit to see your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hyatt place are very consistent, this property is great!
Very easy location!
Lots of shopping, dining in area!
Nice hotel, great outdoor area! Comfortable rooms!
Same great hyatt service! Great nignts sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robcoppock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Hyatt Place in Greenbrier in located within walking distance to numerous restaurants and stores. It is a few blocks from I-64, about 25 minutes from Virginia Beach. The staff is focused on customer service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurlySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Service at the site was very good. Room was very clean and the air was cooling for our stay. Breakfast was average however we are tea drinkers and enjoyed being able to get a cup anytime during our stay.

The distance from Sandbridge Beach from the hotel was not far and certainly there are places to stock up on food and liquor.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedSoxsFanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel was very comfortable for our family of 5 at a very reasonable price. We opted to stay here because all of the beach front hotels in Virginia Beach were 2 1/2 times what we paid here. It was only about a 25 minute drive to the ocean, so it worked out well. The rooms were very clean and they have a superb breakfast in the morning - everyone will find something they like. Also, I like how the room as a separation between the beds and the "living" space where the couch, desk and counter w/fridge were. Lastly, the hotel is in a great location with just about every restaurant you could think of nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJC313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed her for a weekend while in town for a friend's wedding (the block of rooms was booked here). The location is nice, close to the interstate and lots of restaurants. Not convenient to the beach (about 25-30 minutes away), but that was fine. Stayed in a two queen room with a friend. very comfortable beds in a HUGE room. Large couch with pull-out bed, dry bar, and desk. Very big flat screen tv as well (maybe 54 inches?). You can even borrow a clothes steamer! Front desk was very nice and helpful. The free breakfast left a little something to be desired though. Nonetheless, a very great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

very nice hotel, just off a strip of restaurants, a gas station and by a mall. nice big rooms with sofa and large flat screen tv. nice clean bathroom. pool isn't that big though, great hot breakfast. nice staff

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennir70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.6 mi away
aloft Chesapeake
aloft Chesapeake
#7 of 42 in Chesapeake
411 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Chesapeake
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier

Address: 709 Eden Way N, Chesapeake, VA 23320-2791
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
#2 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range: £68 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary design and a comfortable coffeehouse vibe. Stay in touch via free Wi-Fi from anywhere in the hotel. Signature Hyatt Grand Bed, a plush Cozy Corner oversized sofa sleeper. 42" high-definition flat-panel TV that can be integrated with your laptop or MP3 player. 24-hour Guest Kitchen. Complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. Located in Towne Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier Hotel Chesapeake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing