We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissatisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Chesapeake Greenbrier
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Reviewed 25 October 2010

One reason we chose this hotel was for the Bistro. I was not open for dinner and again not open for breakfast. We did not know the area and had to go out for meals. The desk clerk said the person just didn't show up and they were trying to find someone to work.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javadanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2010

Recent renovations make the entire hotel appear much nicer than it is. Granted, the King bed was a very nice sleep. However, the water faucet knob was 90 degrees off, the water pressure was horrible. No on demand movies and the only wifi was in the lobby. The bathroom did not have an exhaust. The last straw was discovering that the Whirlpool Spa was a complete fake. Sure, the water was warm (not quite hot enough) but the "jets" did not jet water out, instead just blew air, creating lots of bubbles, but nothing close to relaxing. Get close to them and you trap the bubble of air rushing up behind your back and then the water just gets splashier. Service was decent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikenbike83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardGM_10, General Manager at Courtyard Chesapeake Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed our brand new mattresses and completely renovated new state of the art lobby. We have recently added aerators to our faucet that restrict the water flow. This is part of our continuing efforts toward our “green” business goals. I assure you that the Jacuzzi does in fact jet water and we have adjusted the jets to correct the excessive splashing. Thank you again for your time and business and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

This hotel is currently undergoing renovations. The pool is closed and I noticed during my stay that the elevator had not been inspected in two years. I mentioned it to the desk clerk as I was leaving for dinner and she said something about a back up in the Inspectors office. As I was leaving the next day, I noticed an elevator service truck pulling into the parking lot.

No frills, typical Courtyard by Marriott. There was a little microwave and refrigerator, so that was nice.

I would certainly stay here again, despite the construction. I was only there for the evening, so I never heard a thing.

Coffee packet says four cups, don't believe it. 2 max. They do have a paid breakfast service available, but I didn't try it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Inside_Skinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardGM_10, General Manager at Courtyard Chesapeake Greenbrier, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2010

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard Chesapeake Greenbrier. I would like to proudly announce that our renovations are now complete as of March 8th 2010. I apologize for any disturbance during our remodeling time and can’t wait for you to experience the new look and feel that we have to offer. We now offer a delicious new menu for breakfast and dinner, as well as a lounge and an array of Starbucks drinks for your enjoyment.

Our elevator does get inspected regularly and is up to code. You have my apologies for the proper paperwork not being displayed during your stay. It was immediately rectified. Thank you again for your patronage and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Easy to find, nice staff, very clean, big room, great amenities. We rested there and then went out to see friends in the evenings. It was great to have the sofa, flat screen TV, and high speed internet.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Located in a large shopping area and very close to the main highway. Easy to get to but slightly away from the traffic noise.

Lots of hotel choices in the area, they have to keep up in order to keep their business. Business center is located in restaurant area - might be a little noisy at breakfast time but worked fine for me.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Booked a suite. Had a confirmation. they said upon arrival no suite available. Elevators doors broken. Had to walk stairs with luggage. Rude Staff. elevators doors opened and closed and dinged all night long. They said it had to reset itself. It never did all night. When we complained they said there was nothing they could do.Horrible experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Having pre-booked a shuttle from the airport for my sister and her 3 children and allocated us adjacent rooms, we were already very happy with the service provided by April at this hotel - even though we were 'only' Priceline customers.
Upon arrival, we were happy with the hotel's convenient location and the standard 2 queen rooms were clean and well prepared. One room had a fridge and microwave - a useful extra, even though we didn't use it. The mattresses felt very comfortable and almost as though they were topped with 'memory foam' toppers.
The children enjoyed playing in the small garden and using the hot chocolate-making facilities in the morning and we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.
Should we find ourselves needing an overnight stay in Chesapeake again, we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
0.4 mi away
aloft Chesapeake
aloft Chesapeake
#6 of 42 in Chesapeake
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Chesapeake
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chesapeake Greenbrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chesapeake Greenbrier

Address: 1562 Crossways Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23320-2841
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
#6 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range: £80 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chesapeake Greenbrier 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If visiting the area for leisure, enjoy easy access to golf courses, Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia Beach, Norfolk and many area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Chesapeake Greenbrier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Marriott
Chesapeake Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing