We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone Downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Surprised to find this hotel in such a way. Upon entering the room there was a urine smell. I couldn't determine where the smell was coming from, but after flushing tollet and airing room out, smell was gone. The commode had brown scratches (hope they weren't something else) inside and out. At breakfast the next morning I coulnd't find a USA Today newspaper anywhere. Not in front of my door, not in the breakfast room, nor at reception counter. I did find the papers tucked in a corner of the computer aclove - both days. As for the breakfast, after drinking 3/4 cup of coffee, I got a mouthful of coffee grounds. Not just a few, a mouth-FULL. The food was tasteless. As I said, the current level of quality surprised me. I've used this hotel many times in the past and enjoyed my stays.

Room Tip: Tip, lots of hotels close by, try them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    17
    12
    12
    14
See reviews for
28
14
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

this was a hard place to find, off the beaten path. but still near everything, food anand shopping. the room is large, coffee spots for makeup, the first thing I noticed when I arrive to my room, slept well in a large bed, when I came to breakfast, they were out of bowls, breakfast area was a mess, who sings have been turned off 15 minutes early, all the food was gone, so I had to go out and look for breakfast, that was supposed to be included, I got back from breakfast, and the beach, I was looking for the cord to my ipod, search the room found nothing, , so I approach to the lady that cleanEd my room, she had taken my cord, saying she thought it was someone elses, I was very upset, I travel a lot, something's always missing, but I like my room clean, she gave me my cord back, but I won't have her clean my room again, . I won't stay here again either.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Prophet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel numerous times when we are in the area to visit family. It has always been clean and comfortable.
Check-in is always quickly with the staff friendly and helpful.
We have stayed in King Suite and/or the 2 double bed room.. both are comfy. The rooms sorta has 2 areas - one has a couch and easy chair - desk...mini kitchen area - small sink, microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker (with coffee)...the other is the bedroom area.
The room with 2 double beds have 2 tvs.. one in the area with the couch and one in the area with the beds. The king room has one tv.
The beds are the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in - if I knew the mattress brand, I'd be interested in buying one.
The bathroom area has the sink in one area and the tub/shower, toilet behind a door.
24 hour coffee in the lobby and a lovely free breakfast in the breakfast area right off the lobby. Plenty of choices for a hot breakfast or a cold breakfast.
Indoor pool and large hot tub.
Good location for restuarants and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We traveled to Chesapeake VA for Memorial Day Weekend and booked this hotel three days before at an excellent rate using AAA. It was a bit hard to find because the only sign is on the mailbox and we drove right past.

We booked a King Suite and couldn't have been happier. The lobby was spotless and nicely decorated. The clerk at the front desk was able to accommodate us although we arrived a little early. Our room was 206, and we were very pleased. It was huge, very clean and looked brand new. I am a "checker" and could not find one speck of dust, dirt, hair or anything else. Looked like they had re-furbished the room "just for us". There was a small couch, comfortable chair, desk, counter with mini-fridge, microwave and sink, a dresser and a flat-screen which swiveled so you could watch from the bed or the couch.

In the lobby a beverage dispenser was available with juice, ice coffee and two other cold beverages, coffee and hot water for tea and it was a 24hour service. Breakfast was another story. While it looked more than adequate, the other guests appeared to think it was reserved for them and were observed taking plates and plates of food to their room, but then the hotel can't do much about that or their poor manners. If you can't deal with this there is a 7-11 just across the street.

I would request a room away from the road, which runs NEAR the low numbered rooms, but isn't horribly noisy. I'm a poor sleeper and it didn't really bother me.

All in all this was a nice stay and I would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grana103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

My family and I came to VA to see my nephew graduate from high school, the SpringHill Suites had the availability for the length of time we were in the area. I've stayed at newer SHS properties and they've all had the same appeal the interior is either a light blue or a beautiful light green. I love the SHS because they DO NOT allow pets.

The rooms are lovely, they have a sofabed and a comfy chair, there is also a desk/table to use for business with wired internet, There's a small wet bar area with a sink, minifridge with FREEZER (just big enough for ice cream) and a small microwave, don't let me for get the coffee pot! Its a four cup pot but its just enough and I love those cute little coffee packets with the filter and grounds, its premesured but just right.
The room has two flat screen tv's one for the Living room and a seperate one for the bed room. I really liked this because some of the newer SHS have a gigantic 42" flatscreen that's so high on the wall that you get a head and neckache watching it.

The bathroom is spacious and lovely I do appricate that the exhaust fan is on a seperate switch so those late night bathroom breaks don't wake the room, however the commode flushes at top speed, don't get me wrong I LOVED THAT! Never had to worry!!!!! The sink is seperate from the shower and makes it easier when more then one person is getting ready.

The amenities are great they have a nice little pool just big enough to swim laps in if your alone and there's a lovely hot tub. They also provide towels by the pool that are bathroom sized and very soft. The tiles on the floor can be slick if children have been swimming and splashing, they also have a work out room and a billards room.

The staff here is very friendly and willing to answer any question you have, the housekeeping staff is wonderful and they work hard everyday, they have the best Shampoo, Conditioner and LEMON BASIL SENTED LOTION!!!! Oh My God the lotion is spectacular.
The coffee downstairs can be strong, but they also have Hot Tea from lipton in a variety of flavors like Orange, Lemon, Spiced Chi and Chamomile, Earl Gray. They also have this wonderful fruit infused water somedays its lemon/lime others it might be orange/grapefruit. Somedays upon check-in (as I noticed when wandering through the lobby they serve cookies and lemonaid and I also noticed a bacon and potatoe soup).

They serve a lovely breakfast in the mornings M-F from 6-9:30a and Sat & Sun from 7-10a. They serve Sealtest milk chocolate, 2% and skinny, they have Yoplait Yogurt-strawberry, strawberry banana, mixed berry and raspberry, THEY ALSO HAVE BLUEBERRY ONE becareful it has aspartame as does the light and fit, so don't grab these if you have aspartame allergies. They also have Activia and provide gogurt in the tube (very tastey), every morning they have the best hot scrambled eggs, hot bacon or sausage, a new toaster for bagels and english muffins, they offer blueberry muffins, and make your own waffles in Vanillia, Strawberry and Blueberry, with plenty of toppings and whipped cream! They also have a juice center by the coffee that's only for breakfast it has Apple & Orange Juice, Lemonaid and and Iced Coffee that tastes like chocolate milk with a kick.

The Spring Hill Suites is convenitly located near 664 the Chesapeake Square Mall and a Walmart/Sams Club. There are also different restaurants and a Wells Fargo with in a 5 mile distance, you don't have to far to find what you need.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmyangel_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I was not thrilled with this SpringHill Suites. It wasn't downright terrible, but it wasn't nearly up to Marriott's usual high standards, either. This is the cheapest name-brand hotel in the Chesapeake area, and sometimes you get exactly what you pay for, you know?

We checked in at about 9pm, and the young woman at the desk wasn't unfriendly....but she was wary. I got this reluctant vibe from her that I can only describe as, "are you SURE you're at the right hotel?" We went to our room then immediately changed into bathing suits to try the pool - I had my young children with me - and I immediately regretted it. The pool had hair floating in it, as well as several drowned spiders. Tiles were broken, towels were stained. I did my best to grin and bear it for the kids, but yuck. I have a feeling that hotel management knows exactly how gross the pool is, too, because the reluctant front desk attendant kept coming over to the pool window and checking in on us.

If I hadn't tried the pool, I probably would have felt a little more generous toward the room. It was a good size, and the beds were comfortable. But it wasn't quite clean enough - there were a few disconcerting brown spots on the walls and hair in the bathroom. Also, the toilet flush was louder than a jet engine. Not a dealbreaker, but certainly annoying. If I'd tried to use it in the middle of the night, I'd have woken the kids up for sure.

I think this place has the bones of a decent hotel. The lobby was sparkling. We did not try the breakfast, but it was crowded and everyone eating seemed happy enough. But it does need some love. We checked out and went to a local Hampton Inn the next night, which was $20 more expensive but well worth the money.

Bottom line? If I was looking for a cheap but not horrible place to stay on my own or on a strict budget, I'd be okay with this property - but I wouldn't go in the pool. I wouldn't stay here with my children again, though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, NC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This was an okay stay but the property is soon going to need a makeover. We arrived aroung midnight and since this is a non smoking hotel there were about 10 people out front smoking. There wasnt much breeze that night by the front doors and just the time to get from the car inside our clothes smelled like an ash tray.
We ran into many "call girls" in the hallway on the way to our room.
Breakfast was good and there were the most people I have ever seen at a hotel breakfast. The employees at the breakfast bar said that once the food ran out than that would be it, we were there at 9am and at 9:10 am the eggs and bacon were gone. Breakfast ran from 6am-10am.

Room Tip: Booked through the hotel website and was cheeper than travelocity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trophy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
3.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd.
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chesapeake/Suffolk
10.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Chesapeake-Norfolk Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#30 of 42 in Chesapeake
72 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake Suffolk
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake Square Mall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road

Property: Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road
Address: 2424 Gum Rd, Chesapeake, VA 23321-1510 (Formerly SpringHill Suites)
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Chesapeake Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing