We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast but Thin Towels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Pro: Great location, free parking, friendly staff, large free breakfast.

Con: Towels were very thin and scratchy. Also, even though I'd asked in my online reservation not to get a room near a road, I was put next to I-64. Also, the TV has no menu channel, so you have to flip through all the channels to see what's on.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room next to the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WashDCMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

I must admit my stay was comfortable, the staff that I did encounter were very friendly. Then when I returned home and was checking my account I notice the hotel took an extra $ 50.00 out of my account. I immediately called to inquire about this and they informed me it was for incidental charges (which they never mentioned when I was there) and would be released back to my account in 3-5 days. Checked again was not credited back to my account, bank have no record of it being released to my account. I called the hotel again and the young lady indicated that after I checked out her draw was $ 50.00 short and figured I owed it. WTH!!! I'm at this very moment awaiting a phone call from the manager so she can make this right. I guess if they're draw is short the randomly select someone to take the funds from their account. BTW, before I checked out she told me by bill was settled.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Wonderful people on staff, could not be better. facility could be better, too busy, slow elevator. small pool. staff are the best i've experienced in many years of traveling. lots of good places to eat in the area,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 575traveler575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The place is an excellent place to stay and just roam around the city. The staff are extremely friendly, courteous, and welcoming. When we checked in, the lobby staff was very helpful with excellent customer service. The place has a military friendly price. The rooms are clean and cozy. The beds are wonderful and comfortable! The air conditioning is not the quietest machine, but honestly, it didn't bother our sleep when we stayed in the room. The bathroom is a typical bathroom, nothing special, but it was clean. I would definitely come back to this place whenever I'm around to visit the city.

By the way, the location is in close proximity to numerous restaurants and it is across a Regal Movie Theatre.

Room Tip: If you're in the military, be sure to request the military rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Very good hotel! I came to town one day early before a business trip to stay here one night to complete qualifications for the latest Marriott promotion. I really had no expectations and it was definitely a pleasant surprise. Located near a shopping mall, movie theater and lots of restaurants. Property is in great condition and has definitely been renovated. I found the rooms to be large with a flat-screen television, mini-fridge, microwave, computer desk with chair, sitting chair w/ottoman, and coffee-maker.

Bathroom was also large with lots of towels.

Decent size lounge with complimentary coffee. Business Center has two computers and a printer. However, the gym is small with two treadmills, one elliptical and dumb bells.

The staff was friendly and answered all my questions along with giving great recommendations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilbertgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Although this is a fairly good place for a budget hotel, I'm rather shocked at people giving it a "perfect score" by giving it an excellent rating. That means people are giving this place as good a review as the nicest place they've ever stayed! This is no five-star hotel. I will try to be a little more realistic.

I would probably give it a little higher ranking had I not stayed in a better Fairfield Inn the next night, and an even nicer place the night after that.

The pros: It has a good location, easy in and out, and free parking. The staff were all friendly and accomodating. Check-in was quick and easy. It has a nice exercise room. The room was clean and neat.

The cons: It was noisy! It has the old style air conditioners that are not controlled by a thermostat but by controls on the AC unit. Whenever the AC runs, it is very loud. Without the fan noise, the road noise is loud, since this hotel is right off the highway. Also, the breakfast area is too small. We came at "prime time" and there wasn't enough seating. We had to eat our breakfast out in the lobby area. The breakfast is pretty typical for this type of hotel, OK but not great. The pool is very small and was crowded most of the time. As for the room, the sink is located outside of the main bathroom, and there isn't much room for anything around it; the sink area is very small. We couldn't get all of our toiletries on the counter.

Overall it wasn't a bad experience, and for the price it's a good option in the area. If possible I would give it a 3.5, but I can't stretch it to a 4. Trip advisor needs more rating levels!

Room Tip: If possible, get a room on the side away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missionman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Bottom line, I'd stay here again.

Customer service = very friendly.
Cleanliness = rooms very clean except our fridge had some melting Popsicles from the previous person.
Beds = top of the line.
Price = reasonable.
Water = not very soft but typical for most hotels.
Privacy = I didn't hear anyone in the halls.
Breakfast = typical spread with waffles, hb eggs, toast, Danishes, yogurt, fruit, etc.
Location = easy to find.
Amenities = we didn't look into this much. Small outdoor pool. Small business center. Dunno about work out facilities.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. You'll probably be very pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wagslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 42 in Chesapeake
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chesapeake Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
0.6 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Chesapeake
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake

Address: 1560 Crossways Blvd, Chesapeake, VA 23320-2841
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
#12 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range: £65 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn and Suites Chesapeake Greenbrier, VA is a family friendly hotel in the heart of the Tidewater area. Easy access to I-64 and only a short drive to the Virginia Beach Oceanfront and Farm Bureau Live ampitheater. If you in Chesapeake, VA for business you will be staying at one of the best corporate Chesapeake hotels. We offer complimentary breakfast, airport shuttle and wireless internet at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake Greenbrier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake
Fairfield Chesapeake
Chesapeake Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing