We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The First 48”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Chesapeake
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The First 48”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This place is nothing like the photos, Blood splattered headboards, crowbar jimmied door locks, that dont lock, crusty but Ironed sheets. each only allowed 1 towel 1 face cloth 1 hand towel for whole room no matter how many (ie 2 adults 2 children). Rude gentleman at front desk. One of the house keeping staff ( heavy set blonde) having sex in the pool.
We had 2 nights reserved needless to say We did NOT stay 2 nights, it was too horrible. And no, No refund was given.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGemii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    19
See reviews for
10
3
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had to make a quick trip to Virginia that was unplanned. We booked this hotel because they had rooms available. Needless to say, it was not a good choice and we were glad we would not be spending much time in it. We did arrive early and we were able to check in early only because we asked and they did accommodate us. However , this hotel smelled bad. The rooms were run down. It is a transient hotel, meaning that people stay there weekly. There were roaches. There was also lot of activity. Two strange girls knocked on our door and when I answered ,they said oh sorry wrong room. Looked like they were ready to party or something, Did not sleep well because a car alarm went off. We had to park in the back of the hotel because there were not enough places to park in the front. We did leave about 3 in the morning because none of us could sleep. Glad it was a short trip. Do not stay here. Run as fast as you can. WiFi is very faint if it even works. We could never get connected.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

As I write this I am still currently in the hotel. The smell in here is awful, we booked a non-smoking room because I can't stand the smell of cigarettes, but the room still has the lingering scent of must and cigarettes. The room is much smaller than expected, which is fine, but not when half of the floor is soaking wet. On one side of the bed the floor is soaked and has been since we arrived last night and I've already soaked through two pairs of socks. Not to mention the bed is the most uncomfortable piece of furniture I've ever slept on. I travel quite frequently and I've encountered some sketchy, unclean places before, but this takes the cake.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tdonelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We all got a terrible feeling as we pulled down a road in terrible disrepair, past a Hispanic restaurant that had gone out of business and was now a hub for gang "artwork" and vandalism. This is possibly the worst part of Norfolk/Chesapeake area. My first thought after parking and inspecting our vehicle for damage from potholes, was what I was going to do with our new truck at night where there were no streetlamps. Kids without parental supervision played in the road without respect for their own safety or others personal property (vehicles). When we checked in, we passed the bullet proof reception window through a cloud of cigarette smoke, to have an angry Indian man wait on us (who might I add could barely speak English) and show us our room. The room was terribly misrepresented, the online photos were probably taken when the Hotel was first built, before the previous guest had stayed in it. The man showed us three rooms, all terrible. He tried to lie to us and tell us that the beds were queens which were clearly doubles. All of the rooms had a similar sticky, polluted air and atmosphere to them. The front desk employee had no communication skills. We all experienced the same feeling of being unsafe. I felt as though I should have been walking around with an AR-15! The people who were there were smoking everywhere, all the time like chimneys, even though they weren't supposed to be smoking in certain areas. The breakfast in the morning was pretty much cold watery coffee and stale bread. It was quite obvious people lived there permanently and old broken down cars were parked in the parking lot. The people were sketchy and stare at you like you have two heads. Overall, DO NOT STAY HERE! It is unsafe and misrepresented.

Room Tip: Plan ahead, there are other actual accommodations within 5 miles of this motel. I highly suggest for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnakeMaster223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This place was absolutely disgusting and I will never stay here again. Our room reeked of urine, the light didnt work, the bathroom looked like someone tried to catch it on fire, the bed seemed to have some sort of plastic on it and was VERY uncomfortable. Not to mention the skeptical people hanging around outside this motel. NEVER EVER again. I wouldnt stay here if it was the last place on earth! DO NOT recommend! Very dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The room and main lobby were clean and quiet. I think i was 9:30 pm and housekeeping was polishing the brass. They seemed into there work, making sure everything looked nice for when we check out in the morning I'm sure.
The room was clean and quiet from hall hall noise and to the other sides of the walls.
Overall a 4 star, very good experiance.
p.s.. I hardly ever give a 5 star, excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenabutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (too many). The room was disgusting, there was a one inch ring around the room of dirt, dust, funk from where the vacuum cleaner obviously didn't reach. At first I thought it was just stain but when I ran my finger in it, it easily came up. Someone just doesn't care b/c there is no way you can miss it as it's a completely different color from the rest of the carpet.
The continental breakfast is a joke. A pot of coffee with powdered creamer and sugar. A few danish and a few muffins. The woman at the desk at breakfast said sorry there wasn't more but the area was undergoing renovations. I find that hard to believe as the entire place is a pit and the breakfast area is the least of their concerns.
The woman at the front desk at check in was great. The pool was clean and warm so that was one reason we stayed an extra night as we seriously considered checking out after the first night. (the other reason being it was a 10 minute drive to a family wedding) We asked the same woman we met at check out if we could stay an extra hour as we were heading to a wedding and she said yes. At 10:50am (ck out is at 11) an man started knocking on our door and window!! and shouting "check out". He knocked insistantly at the door and upon opening the door I told the man that the front desk had allowed us a late departure of one hour. He yelled "No, no, no, check out eleven" and proceeded to stomp towards the front desk. COMPLETELY unprofessional!
We are pretty laid back travelers, not much grosses us out but this place is probably the worst we've even stayed in. There is NO WAY I would ever stay here again nor would I ever recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abenicig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
9.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Chesapeake Conference Center
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#31 of 42 in Chesapeake
74 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chesapeake Suffolk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chesapeake - Churchland Blvd.
8.2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Chesapeake-Norfolk Greenbrier
2.8 mi away
Studios and Suites 4 Less Gum Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Chesapeake

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Chesapeake
Address: 4433 S Military Hwy, Chesapeake, VA 23321-1713
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Chesapeake 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you pass through the doors of Americas Best Value Inn of Chesapeake, you are sure to appreciate the friendly welcome of our staff. We are located in the southeastern region of Virginia near the popular Virginia Beach/Norfolk area. We are easily accessible to and from all major interstates: I-64, I-264, I-664, RT. 58 and RT. 460. Our hotel is in a cozy, quaint district in Chesapeake, VA where "We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow." To make you feel at home we offer Cable TV,and a Guest Laundromat. Whether you are visiting us for business, pleasure, or a special event, the Americas Best Value Inn of Chesapeake provides the service you expect and the value you appreciate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing