We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel & staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Chesapeake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marriott Chesapeake
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Chesapeake
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed three nights over this past weekend. There is a lot to like here. The staff were all friendly and the place certainly was nice and clean. The rooms were nice and the beds and linens were outstanding. The pool was nice, but the pool area did tend to flood with excess water making it a bit difficult on supervisors who were not swimming. The only real flaw with the room in my opinion was the shower design--only has a fixed half panel of glass, so water does tend to get on the floor. The directory in the room does leave quite a bit to be desired in terms of restaurants around the area (ours only listed the one in the lobby) but calling the people at the front desk worked out great and they were happy to help. The only other gripe we had was that for the price you pay to stay, there is not even a complimentary breakfast. And what they do offer is quite overpriced--I believe it was $10 for a bowl of cereal and fruit. Overall it was a nice stay and I would certainly go back, but might be tempted by some lower rates close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brian k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles P, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Chesapeake, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay. We are pleased to that you were satisfied with your stay and will investigate the issues you have mentioned, as these comments will only help to serve future guests and the like. While we do not offer continental breakfast since we are a full-service property, we do offer rates that include breakfast. Those rates might better suit any future stays you have with us. Thank you again for your feedback.

Jennifer Hunt, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    98
    40
    7
    9
See reviews for
77
32
16
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Pros: professional, friendly, helpful staff. Lobby. Room generally: furnishing, luxury.
Cons: numerous minor problems. Did not have guest directory, when called and asked, they delivered only channel guide. Drain in shower clogged. Poor shower design results in inevitable water running onto adjacent floor. In-room bridge could barely accommodate a two-liter soda bottle. Revolving door to lobby difficult to open, etc. etc. You get the idea. More thought needs to be given to the total guest experience, from a common sense user perspective. But generally fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philandcarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles P, General Manager at Marriott Chesapeake, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I will make sure they are all address.

We strive to make sure all our guest have a great stay while visiting the Chesapeake area. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here over Easter weekend. All we needed was a place to sleep while visiting friends in Chesapeake. The room rate was excellent. Check in was friendly and efficient. The room was nicely appointed and clean. The beds were a little soft and housekeeping did not replace the coffee cups. The bathroom was superb. Large walk in shower, plenty of hot water. Will stay here on any visit to Chesapeake.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lacatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles P, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Chesapeake, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your recent stay. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property. The issues you mentioned will certainly be addressed, but we are glad that they did not deter from your stay. Thank you again for taking the time to comment.

Jennifer Hunt, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I booked this hotel through hotwire and got an excellent rate. This is a beautiful hotel, well appointed, clean, and upscale enough to entertain friends and family. Check in was easy. I was not extremely pleased with the attitude of one of the ladies who checked me in, I did glance at her name tag, but after a 12 hour drive I was too tired to remember it. She is an African American lady with a single braid. I asked her for a double room, as the option was not offered on the Hotwire site. She did not want to do so, even though the lady next to her directed her to do so. After some hesitation, we were provided our room keys for a double room. I was initially not pleased that we were placed near the elevators, but we did not hear a thing, our stay was peaceful and undisturbed. The room was extremely clean, spacious, and up to date. The bathroom was spotless, and towels were plentiful. We made use of the large exercise room, indoor pool, and bar. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GodivaTruffleTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles P, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Chesapeake, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are pleased to hear that your stay was excellent. We apologize if there was any confusion during your check-in process. Since most third-party booking agencies (including Hotwire) usually do not guarantee room types, those reservations default to what the hotel has available the day of check-in. Our hosts try to accomodate each guest's preference as much as they can, and we are glad they were able to do so for your stay. Thank you for your feedback.

Jennifer Hunt, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Mariya goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. Lobby is perfect for entertaining a business client, service from the bar area is spectacular Makes business travel worth it . The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Southern hospitality at its best! Wifi no problems, works like a charm Looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tommie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles P, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott Chesapeake, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are pleased that you have taken your time to give our hotel an excellent review for your second stay. Mariya is truly a brilliant host who ensures each guest receives the warmest of welcomes during his or her stay. Thank you for recognizing her in your review, and also for your continued patronage to our property.

Jennifer Hunt, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

A little messy on check-in when the room reserved was not provided. This was on a reservations mess up, not the hotel. Lots of points for the front desk staff for finding another room that matched my reservation even though the hotel was full.

Everything nicely maintained. A good (and lively) bar. There are numerous restaurants and outside bars and a Target within a couple of minutes of the FREE parking. Yea for that. The room rate was right around $110 (AAA) and with the executive floor access/upgrade it was very good value. Morning breakfast was ample, well stocked, and well kept.

It's about 20 minutes to downtown Norfolk and worked perfectly for an 8am meeting within three blocks of the hotel on Woodlake. Yea for that too.

I'd been staying around the airport -- this works a lot better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the property and the "canal"
See more room tips
Green Features: Need to move the smokers away from the front doors into the parking area.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Probably2Picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles P, General Manager at Marriott Chesapeake, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are delighted that your stay with the Norfolk Marriott Chesapeake was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was an wxcellent hotel. As I was going to be in the Chesapeake / Norfolk area for a weekend I needed something that was going to be convenient for my needs. The hotel was right off of the highway and was easy to get to but there were a few clusters of hotels around and the traffic light situation was a little taxing. But that was fine. The hotel upon check-in was very well-kept in the lobby. They advertised that they recently renovated and it showed. It was top-notch! The attendants at the front desk were a little slow (confused at times about using the system) but assured me that it would only be a few minutes longer and they did get it together. The room was very well maintained and clean. Actually, it was SUPER clean and smelled very fresh. There was high speed internet throughout the hotel and it was very reliable. Their pool / fitness area was also very maintained. It wasn't the biggest fitness area but they had enough equipment to serve my needs. There is a full bar in the lobby which was a nice touch because I didn't have a wine opener and they supplied me with one to keep. The drinks were a little pricey but the bartenders on duty were SUPER friendly and attentive. They also serve a breakfast there but that too can be pricey. I suggest eating at the restaurant down the hall in the hotel as it was a little less expensive and it was delicious. The waitress also made suggestions to bring our price down to a lower cost as some members of out party only wanted certain things for a meal. Overall, I loved my stay at this hotel. The staff at the front desk greeted me every time I walked through the lobby and that was nice. There are plenty of other hotels in the area with probably lower rates but at the rate I paid per night, I couldn't be happier. I would stay here each time I'm in town.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles P, General Manager at Marriott Chesapeake, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Norfolk Marriott Chesapeake was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Charles Perrell
General Manager
Marriott Chesapeake
mhrs.orfgr.gm@marriott.com
757-523-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chesapeake hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Chesapeake/Greenbrier
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chesapeake Greenbrier
0.9 mi away
aloft Chesapeake
aloft Chesapeake
#6 of 42 in Chesapeake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chesapeake-Battlefield Blvd.
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chesapeake/Greenbrier
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
Wingate by Wyndham Chesapeake
#10 of 42 in Chesapeake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Chesapeake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Chesapeake

Property: Marriott Chesapeake
Address: 725 Woodlake Drive, exit 289A off I-64 (Greenbrier Pkwy North), Chesapeake, VA 23320
Region: United States > Virginia > Chesapeake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chesapeake
#7 Business Hotel in Chesapeake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Chesapeake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newest Marriott offers all the latest innovations and amenities a full service Marriott has to offer including: flat screen 32" HDTVs, plug and play connectivity HDTV, indoor pool, Starbucks coffee, Lobby Bar, Lounge, Restaurant, free parking, complimentary valet parking, meeting space. Our Great Room Lobby has ample public seating for business associates or families to gather and a meet in an informal setting as well as meeting space for formal or catered events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Marriott Chesapeake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Norfolk Chesapeake Hotel Chesapeake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing